According to the grieving husband, a hospital refused to attend to her because he was unable to pay the requested ₦500,000 for treatment.
The hospital reacted to being accused of being responsible for the womans death....
In a statement, the hospital clarified that when the woman was brought in, she was already in critical condition. Medical personnel quickly assessed her and determined that she required an urgent blood transfusion and surgical intervention. The husband also disclosed that she had suffered two convulsions at home before being brought to the facility. Given the severity of her condition, the hospital advised the family to take her to Epe General Hospital, a better equipped facility for such emergencies.
The hospital firmly denied demanding payment from the husband. They explained that the woman was not a registered patient at their facility and that they lacked the necessary resources to handle her case. "Had we attempted to administer even a single drip, she might not have survived because she had already lost a critical amount of blood," they stated.
They further emphasized that acquiring blood for transfusion is a complex process that cannot be done on demand. "We made the recommendation in her best interest, as she needed immediate care beyond what we could provide. The family was at our facility for no more than three minutes before leaving."
The hospital firmly denied demanding payment from the husband. They explained that the woman was not a registered patient at their facility and that they lacked the necessary resources to handle her case. "Had we attempted to administer even a single drip, she might not have survived because she had already lost a critical amount of blood," they stated.
They further emphasized that acquiring blood for transfusion is a complex process that cannot be done on demand. "We made the recommendation in her best interest, as she needed immediate care beyond what we could provide. The family was at our facility for no more than three minutes before leaving."
Sad! May her soul and that of her baby rest in peace
ReplyDeleteSad! May her soul and that of her baby rest in peace
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace. 🙏🏿
ReplyDeleteEwooooo, I saw the vid on FB and I thought it was a skit and I scrolled up😭😭 I, m sorry dear. May you rip.
ReplyDeleteI'm sorry to say this... If you don't have minimum 500k as bank balance please don't take in. Except if you are sure of saving up during pregnancy. That is at least 30k to 50k per month. All the ill health this woman suffered during her pregnancy could have been dealt with if she had money.
ReplyDeleteJust died like poultry chicken
Poverty is a big monster. May her soul rest in perfect peace Amen
DeleteI’m sorry to say this too but I believe we women know we are the ones at risk of death in pregnancy not our husbands so any female who wants to get pregnant must ensure she has emergency funds kept somewhere and not depend on her husband. Do family planning and only get pregnant when you have saved enough to take care of you and your baby. If the man provides, let it be a bonus pls.
DeleteSecondly, I see no reason why a couple who already have 2 kids and isn’t rich will get pregnant with a third child.
Now her kids will be raised by another woman 😭😭😭.
Most rich people don’t have many kids sef!
Not saying rich pregnant women don’t die but dying because of lack of money is extremely painful because everyone has a choice.
You're quite right 👍 Some women wait until almost time for labour to prepare for the baby. Imagine! As a woman pls save enough to ensure you can fund hospital bill up to C&S, incase oga is not around.
DeleteAdunni
That bv that is applying for giveaway for fertility drugs should come and read this comment.
DeleteDem go hear? They keep saying "God will provide". How! You fail to plan and keep believing your god will provide? God gave us trees and some will still ask Him to provide firewood!
DeleteBroke men have no business getting married
DeleteThis is sad and painful.
ReplyDeleteThis is so painful... May her soul rest in peace
ReplyDeleteSo sad😭
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace
May her soul rest in peace
ReplyDeletePoverty is really a monster 💀
ReplyDeleteMinor surgery in hospitals now, you should keep 300 to 400k. Everything is now very expensive.
ReplyDeleteEmergencies now, you will also know how much to deposit, depending on your case.
May her soul rest in peace.
Chai poverty is just too bad. Rest in peace lady.
ReplyDeletePoverty is a monster yen yen yen
ReplyDeleteIf you are poor, don't get pregnant, simple!
Some will get pregnant without #50k as savings. They won't even buy any baby thing or register for antenatal.
See the case of this woman, they allowed her condition to get out of hand before taking her to a good hospital. Maybe she registered in one mushroom delivery home /health center and no money to transfer her to a good hospital immediately problems started.
Poor people will sit at home and gbensh from morning till night, no plan for a baby that may result from the gbenshing.
I'm just pissed that this is happening every time even with the social media now.
Chai! 😭😭😭😭💔💔 This is heartbreaking
ReplyDeleteDuring pregnancy,it's advisable to visit Federal government hospitals or hospitals owned by states government.They have cleaner facilities and more experience doctors, mid-wives and nurses.
ReplyDeleteDuring antenatal visit,all vitals are checked and opportunities to discuss with doctors and nurses are available.You even spend lesser in government hospitals than in a private hospital.
Mothers, taking risks, inorder to bring forth a new life on earth.may God bless all mothers
Very sad..Rest in peace beautiful.May your soul find rest with Christ.
This is the most insightful comment of the day.
DeleteGovernment facilities are better staffed and run. Anyone with limited funds should know this and be registered in the public hospital where such emergencies can be managed before things get critical.
Don't show up at a private facility with no ED demanding a miracle when they have running costs and limited resources and in a case where they have no history of the patient, you are putting them at risk to blame and slander them later. . Most don't even have an ordinary ECG or CTG machine. They have no blood bank or blood testing kits because of the costs of running them . They are glorified GP offices and maternities (which have their usefulness).
Those US people who sell you an utopian dream forget to mention that that even with insurance, people go bankrupt in the USA from medical bills and many insurance claims are denied. Many in the UK travel to poorer nations to pay out of pocket for procedures that can be done in the UK due to the years they will have to wait in pain to get it done for less or free in UK.
Healthcare is costly everywhere so let Nigerians embrace the national insurance scheme and be linked to general and university hospitals for such critical moments. May God comfort her family and grant her eternal rest.
May her soul rest in peace
ReplyDeleteOh no 🤗
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace 🙏
The husband needs to be questioned nothing more than that ,9months of pregnancy,no antenatal ,no registration even in a govt hospital and now crying that hospital didn't help you .Is 9month event not enough to prepare
ReplyDeleteDestructive kang
DeleteThere should be charities & goverment agencies funding to care for those who walk into hospitals. The hospital can apply for & collect reimbursement from the fund & be able to provide emergency care. The practice of turning patients away is very unprofessional. Nigerian hospitals should stop this. How do you turn the sick away when you are a hospital? Provide the level of care you are accredited for. The owners & providers in this hospital will join when they talk about shortage of professionals? The ones in Nigeria are mercantile & see themselves as cash & carry when it is a social service, a calling not just a business.
ReplyDeleteWe have all read about women who go into labor in planes and odd places. They usually page doctors, nurses, pharmacists etc in a designated order by health authorities. Those ones don’t complain that they don’t have the pre natal history but just swing into action to save the mother & child as much as they can. The excuse that they were not providing pre natal care is unprofessional, they just need to swing in action & do their best. Good Samaritan laws prevent you from being prosecuted when in certain circumstances. Nigerian hospitals should stop wasting lives. The young tech executive who recently died is another example of “hospital owners’ recklessness”. A hospital is for care, it’s not a spa.
One thing about the west is that they will make sure they try their best so you get better and send you a huge bill later. If you fail to pay, they report you to the credit bureau but at least they would have saved your life.
Thank you! I didn't see your comment before I posted mine, that hospital is completely full of shit. I get that they may not have the resources to take on her case, but they also did absolutely nothing for her, not even give her some oxygen to ease the pressure on her breathing and help to keep the baby alive. They did not arrange an ambulance, they did not call the hospital they were forwarding her to so they could prepare for her arrival. They did absolutely jack shyt and so many ppl here talking about money. The issue has surpassed even being a money issue, what about their humanity. Trust me, even if the man did not have one kobo a GoFundMe could have raised all the funds plus some to pay the hospital bills afterwards. These ppl did not lift one finger to help a person in a critical state in a healthcare facility, even considering the husband may be in shock himself or dealing with acute stress. These lazy, soulless hospital workers know who they can fool. Mttssccchhhhwww
DeleteYou are right about the calling but I think the Nigerian reality is different. What number would they have called to contact the teaching or general hospital and who will have picked the phone.
DeleteDo the manufacturers of drugs, medical equipment, reagents, electricity suppliers and other resources needed to run a hospital also have a calling because that doesn't reflect in the bill these hospitals have to pay to stay afloat. What power has a hospital to demand payment from a poor couple managing the arrival of the babies born on credit - it is on this same social media that they will be pilloried. By the time the private hospital is run aground for lack of capital, it is the patients who have borrowed and sacrificed to pay all these years and the staff who kept faith instead of japaing that will lose out. Where will credit hunters find people who moved to Mowe from Ogbomoso who are ready to move to Damaturu is the noise is too much from the debt?
No government hospital will ask for 500k at the ED.
Pregnant women should be able to access free healthcare in a government hospital
ReplyDeleteWe should have clear signing at hospital to indicate what type of hospital it is
A
Clinic should not be named as a hospital
It wastes time in an emergency
God rest her soul.
ReplyDeleteThis is painful 😢 💔
May her soul rest in peace but why didn't she register for antenatal though? Pregnancy is not something you joke with,it's a whole human you are carrying
ReplyDeleteOn the backdrop of sounding insensitive , couples should not bring a child to the world if they do not have a reasonable amount of savings.
ReplyDeleteComplications arise during pregnancy, private hospitals are not running a charity organisation.
Once a woman is 3 months pregnant, she should visit the hospital every fortnight.
Oh dear...losing both mother & baby is saddening.
ReplyDeleteSorry Baba baby 🤗 May her gentle soul & that of the baby rest in peace 👏
Adunni
Oh goodness,May her soul RIP.
ReplyDeleteChildbirth ehh, Na God dey save person.
So Painful
ReplyDeleteMay God Rest Her Soul🙏
So painful
ReplyDeleteGod rest her soul 🙏
But couldn’t they have sent her in an ambulance? Even give her some oxygen on the way, if only that. The healthcare system is totally fckd up that it is left to the husband to transport his wife who is in critical care to the other facility with nothing to aid her and traffic to deal with. There has to be a better way!
ReplyDeleteThey didn’t even call the other hospital to alert them of the case that is coming in and prep them. The system is shit. The woman may have still died but her ppl’s heart would be at peace knowing that everything possible was done to save her and the baby. It feels like nothing was really done.
Ambulance? By private hospital? You’re obviously not in Nigeria. How many ambulances do government hospitals have not to talk of private? Or is it with the constant gridlock on Nigerian roads that they will stay waiting for ambulance to arrive?
Delete18.11, leave them to be talking like toddlers. How do you begin to compare health services here and abroad? Like, how?!
DeleteAnd you do not think you deserve better? You accept that is how it is and go on about your lives unbothered. What about when these matters visit you or your loved ones, is it at that time that you will care?
DeleteStop accepting below standard or thinking that it is only ppl living in other lands who can have certain things. Demand accountability, or create the solution. Everyday ppl on the blog asking what business they can start, create the solutions. One man went into public toilet business at bus parks and became wealthy from it. Start thinking bigger than provision shops. Let someone start a private ambulance business, oxygen supply business, medical supplies busniess, solar stove, solar water heater. And still demand more from the government. How I hate how ppl just accept shyt thinking that is all they deserve, and that is just how things is.
This is so sad to read.
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace.
So sad
ReplyDeleteMay their souls rest in peace
I don't even know who to blame here cos thr story is not clear, thr husband is claiming the hospital refused to save his wife while the hospital are saying it wasn't so. Later yhr real truth will come out from close relatives and friends to be sure who is telling the truth.
ReplyDeleteIf you have two children and you are not rich please rest from birthing more babies. No one is sharing money to anyone having more than two children. If you take good care of your two children, tomorrow they could end up rich and birth so many grandchildren for you.
May her soul rest in peace.
The story surrounding the woman's death is so painful to read. May her soul rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteThe issue here isn't even about the money but proper Antenatal. She obviously wasn't registered in a government hospital or a private hospital for that matter. She apparently had Eclampsia and with is being described, was already critical. Either way, truth is, she probably wouldn't have survived but that's beside the point.
ReplyDeleteProper antenatal care is imperative. It is life saving, cost effective and extremely necessary.
If only she had, this back and forth wouldn't have been necessary.
Best comment
DeleteHow do you know she wasn’t registered
DeleteCould have been she was hit in an emergency she went to this one
They said she was not registered With THEM
May her soul rest in peace amen
ReplyDeleteWomen you owe no broke man ,commitment phobic man anything, not relationship, marriage or children
ReplyDeleteMay God help.us in this country
ReplyDeleteAnd the man sounded so entitled when he complained about the hospital
ReplyDeleteThats someones business not a a charity organization
Yes, he needed help and would have approached it that way not calling out the hospital
Again, the man seemed moore concerned with making video of his wife than running around for help