The National Orientation Agency (NOA), through its community orientation and mobilisation officers (COMO), said certain tertiary institutions are suspected of colluding with banks to unfairly disadvantage student beneficiaries of the loan programme.
Lanre Issa-Onilu, Director General of the NOA, disclosed the findings following a meeting with Akintunde Sawyerr, Managing Director of the National Student Loan Fund (NELFund).
In a recent statement issued Issa-Onilu said early evidence points to university officials withholding key information related to loan disbursements, prompting NELFund to intervene.
The NOA alleged that some institutions, in partnership with specific banks, have intentionally delayed payments to approved student applicants for personal or institutional gain. It added that several universities are not acknowledging the disbursements made by NELFund to students.
Sawyerr confirmed these issues at the meeting, citing cases where institutions received student loan funds directly but failed to notify recipients or record the payments accurately.
The cable
The corruption in this country is from the highest echelon and everyone wants a bite of the national cake
ReplyDeleteIt’s pathetic how so many fall in line and dance to the same beat. For some students the loan program represents the only way that they could have achieved their dream of higher learning and still those that have achieved their education cannot let them be. What a group of parasitic, soulless entities.
DeleteIf you believe that this 419 government gave money to banks or Universities to share to Students, you will believe anything
DeleteWhy shouldn’t we believe it, there are students who have confirmed receiving the loans. I cannot setup my brain to believe every single program the govt puts in place is a lie. I don’t want to see lies everywhere and not trust anybody. But do what works for you.
DeleteI kmew it..I said it then. If this program is not well monitored and evaluated, some individuals will seriously collapse the effort.
ReplyDeleteIt's a pity though
I cannot stand them. And these are loans not even grant and they still fckn with it.
DeleteThe spirit of greed and theft are demonic bondages. Is there no darn place these ppl will not attempt to sink their hooks into? Even a student loan program meant to empower students of lesser means is also a target. I am so upset, that some universities and banks have colluded shows how deep the roots of corruption and fraud goes.
Corruption has eaten deep in to Nigeria system. Of what benefits is it for them to delay or approved students loan.
ReplyDeleteCorruption is a normal thing in Naija,I informed my son about the loan and he said I should forget about it.He was in 300 level when things became better coupled with the increameƱt iItschool fees,God showed up and showed His faithfulness. It remains his rent and I know God will do it.God is good all the time.He makes a way where there is no way.
ReplyDeleteChiloving