Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Govt Launces Probe Into The Death Of A Heavily Pregnant Woman

Monday, April 07, 2025

Lagos State Govt Launces Probe Into The Death Of A Heavily Pregnant Woman

The Lagos State Government has launched a comprehensive investigation into the death of a pregnant woman, Mrs. Folajimi, who allegedly lost her life after being denied medical care at a private hospital in Lakowe, Ibeju-Lekki, reportedly because she couldn't provide an upfront deposit.

The incident, believed to involve both a private hospital and a traditional birth attendant has sparked public outrage and renewed scrutiny over the accessibility of emergency healthcare services in the state.

Preliminary reports suggest that despite being in critical condition, the expectant mother was denied urgent medical care, a delay that may have proved fatal.

In a statement released recently, Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Prof Akin Abayomi, expressed profound sorrow over the incident, offering condolences to the grieving family on behalf of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and the state’s healthcare community.

“No woman should lose her life in the process of giving life,” Abayomi said.

“This case will be thoroughly investigated, and we are committed to ensuring justice for the deceased and her loved ones.”

To this end, a joint investigative panel has been constituted, comprising officials from the Ministry of Health and the Health Facilities Monitoring and Accreditation Agency (HEFAMAA).

The panel will examine the registration status of the implicated facilities and individuals, their adherence to regulatory guidelines, and any breaches of emergency care protocols.

Daily post

34 comments:

1. When we advise women to always make sure they have their own money, it will be like we dont know what they are saying.

Meanwhile, her sister abi best friend gave a detailed breakdown of how wicked and brutal the horseband is. Even beating the woman shege in her pregnant state just because the kitchen was untidy. So many terrible details.
    Apparently the women did not attend even one ante natal.

Instead of giving birth like a rat, plan your child's/childrens lives so that they dont repeat the same wretched cycle of poverty that you are undergoing.
    You and your partner should only agree to give birth to the number of children that each person can SINGLEHANDEDLY HANDLE IF GOD FORBID SOMETHING SHOULD HAPPEN TO THE OTHER PARTNER.

What quality of life do you want to give to children when you cannot take care of yourself?

1. If this is true, this is very bad oh...Haaa this is heartbreaking....However what you mentioned is very valid...May her soul rest in peace (Amen)

2. Why do ppl know full well a man is wicked and they do nothing about it. They don’t report it, they don’t go to collect her and bring her back home. These family members need to just go fck off, seriously. Which man could be beating and of my womenfolk, especially in pregnancy and I keep quiet and sit easy. He could be a freaking Goliat, it is better I die for my kin defending them than to be online talking when they are dead. These useless family members sit around seeing their loved ones turned into a punching bag and keep their mouth shut. They are complicit in the abuse.

3. I’ve not read that post nor do I know the sister but from the beginning this guy looked off to me
      I told someone either he did jazz with her or he will make money from it whichever way the woman is out of his eyes and house while he paints the good man picture
      Very off
      Very off

4. Anon 16:45 I felt same too. There was something odd about the guy.

2. Lagos Mainland Girl7 April 2025 at 12:51

Very sad 😔

3. All Because Of Deposit She Lost Her Life ,Lord Have Mercy ..🙏
    May Her Soul Keep Resting Well..

1. Nothing to be investigated. They didn't register in any hospital but rush to one during complications

5. If as a man you don't have money you don't have any business impregnating any woman, its so unfortunate that the woman died and useless man is alive, like I was a telling someone that how can a full grown man in his late forties don't have a car and a reliable job and you want to get married does it make sense, what do you want to feed your family with.

6. Traditional birth attendant?
    Is the man not a content creator?
    Why couldn't he afford a normal government hospital? Ok, maybe that was how the other children were delivered but when things started going awry, why didn't he rush her to a normal hospital on time? She had to convulse twice at home.That money that he was reserving for naming ceremony could have been used to save this woman's life.

I hope some women learn from this, it is your life that would be at risk with each pregnancy. This man has moved on quickly, within days sef, he has now declared himself a single dad. Use your Brain while opening those legs for that man.

1. But wouldn't a traditional birth attendant just be a midwife. Some folks still prefer to use midwives and do at home births. Where I live they have midwives and doulas who deal with the birthing process in a home setting or a birthing centre. The midwives actually have to be nurses with a specialization and the doulas have less formal training. They even have some out there folks who will help moms birth with dolphins, I don't know if anyone has had their baby with dolphins though. There are all kinds of things ppl are willing to do until complication arises and they have to quickly find a hospital.

In some traditional cultures they still prefer to use their traditional folks versus accessing the medical system, I don't know if these ppl were traditionalists or what.

2. If you are going to use nonconventional methods to give birth, have a plan in case things go south. There's nothing stopping you from being registered in a hospital and getting proper care. Not every country has solid emergency services and protests don't raise the dead.

Those people birthing next to dolphins or in tuns have solid health insurance if not, they will be using the money for the kid's college to pay off what you owe should things go south.

7. Whatever the outcome of the investigation is, the woman is dead and will never come back to life.
    RIP to the dead,

8. This man is using his wife death to cash out on Instagram o
    He's just posting his account details there

1. You see why women should prioritize their health and life?
      That marriage that you want to save, that man that you want to keep by doing stupid things will go when you die.

2. His handle is captainblaze . My spirit ministered to me that something was off with that guy. I was right

9. These investigations rarely if ever lead to any change in policy or procedures. However, for the sake of the family it is the right thing to do.

10. How will the burial happen if they are ppl without financial means? If there are other children left behind, they now do not have a mother. Let those who want to give do so and he cash out. Burying a person is not cheap

1. Captain blaze welcome. You didn't cash out to save your wife now she's dead you want to cash out . Thunder

11. All opinions are duly observed until proper investigations are done.

12. I am a father (and a biological male) and I can tell you that man, the husband, should be probed. I had no work or money when my wife was pregnant with my first son. I know what I went through to make sure my wife was dully registered and happy for the period she was pregnant. That man sacrificed that woman for his vain glory and monetary gain. HE MADE SURE SHE SUFFERED BEFORE DEATH. He neglected her at her most vulnerable moments because he wanted to be like David who gave his account number out and got money of this birthday. Who makes content when a woman is in labour, especially the husband ? Haba !
    My people will say "ti two alapata ba lewo , se enu adie loye ki ati gbo"(Translation: If the price of meat is reduced , should it be the chicken or cow that will announce?). I saw that vid and I was pained in my heart for that woman death. That man is irresponsible and he should not be allowed to go free for that negligence. Yes the hospital had its flaws but that man is wicked and irresponsible.
    LASTLY, for the girls that like 'bad guys' , learn to look out for a man that is kind and loving over the one with wealth and untraceable reputation. A kind man will make you happy when there is noting but a 'bad guy' will show you pepper when you are vulnerable . Empathy is vital for a healthy friendship and relationship. May Almighty God guide and direct us.
    PS: My wife brought blessing with the birth of my son, I am a multi-millionaire now in Euro. My wife stood by me too, during my most trying period. LOVE IS A BEAUTIFUL THING .

13. The husband is not a responsible man at all ,no ante natal even public health office until emergency happens for a whole 9month .Even the man dressing show the type of person he is tout ,Pregnancy is not a natural disaster, negligence causes it

14. Though not attending ante-natal or taking care of yourself during pregnancy could leads to fatality. But people forget that even in advance country people also do loose their lives during child birth.

15. The woman didn’t value her life at all,didn’t she have family,friends and even church members she could have gone to for help in preparation for delivery.A whole nine months and not one visit to a hospital? Now domestic violence don enter the issue. She gambled with her life. Everyone should learn to be selfish when it comes to some situations. Me first biko

16. Is the government that wants to prove ready to refund hospitals the cost for providing emergency services to people who die or claim after surviving that they are unable to refund? If the middle class starts to die off, who will be left to employ the poor or buy data to watch people making content about their dying wives who they were allegedly beating up with pregnancy? If the hospital has taken the guy to debt collectors as a fresh widower, will the government investigate and will the internet support the honest work the hospital did? So many use the services of private hospitals without paying, denying staff of pay and other patients of care and the government doesn't investigate.

If private hospitals close down, is it not the very poor that will be displaced from government hospitals by the middle class?

If government wants to take up the costs, the private hospitals are there to make money. There's no humanitarian oxygen,
    vaccutainer, drug, salary or CT machine. There is no humanitarian waiver for medical supplies. There is no humanitarian subsidy for private care providers. There is no humanitarian electricity or petrol so what exactly is being probed? Is another clinician going to lose a license for admin decisions?

Countries like Malaysia and Singapore inherited similar healthcare systems to us till they realised they didn't have dozens of colonies to rob in order to finance it and recalibrated. We need to talk to ourselves and design systems that reflect our reality the same way those who look down on us have thriving private care systems that free up space for the poor in the public system.

At family level, no one should be getting aroused in the absence of health insurance. Basic kindness dictates there should be no abuse that makes health worse. Pregnant women should be registered with a proper antenatal service and have vitals monitored regularly. From month 6 latest ,you should know if your pregnancy is risky and start to plan venue for delivery. Have an emergency fund for pregnancy and delivery, forget the nonsense of naming ceremony and matching Ankara, million braids and party till you are comfortable. Know your first aid and should things worse, head to the hospital your pocket can access.

17. It would be really sad if she wasnt registered for antenatal. Hope others would learn from this. May her soul rest in peace.

18. God rest her soul in peace. The man looks queer, something is queer about him.