Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Shopping And Paying For Nylon Bags

Monday, March 24, 2025

Shopping And Paying For Nylon Bags

A video of a man ranting went viral some days back ..He was ranting because he went shopping and whilst paying, he was asked to pay for Nylon bags that used to be free.......He made a video and was very angry and i am wondering why....

If you listened to him and agreed with him, the also listen to me(agreement or disagreement is your choice)
We have also started paying for Nylong bags in most shopping malls in Germany.
I think plastic became very expensive so that less people will use it.

If you go shopping and pay for bags, keep them and reuse when gong shopping again instead of throwing away or littering the enviroment with it.
I have lots of shopping bags folded neatly somewhere and only pay for a new one if i forget to take mine...
BTW , it is not everything that should be ranted about, ask questions and inform yourself before doing video and shining eyes shouting like someone that stepped on hot coal
Wetin you think?

20 comments:

1. I have neatly folded nylons too that I take along whenever I go shopping πŸ›️ Boku supermarket sells their nylon bags , i believe a lot of people that shops there already know..if not, na carton you go take pack your goods

1. Yes, Bokku collects money for nylon. I didnt pay the 50 naira. But they should inform people before buying or paying.

2. I saw the video, and i don't think it was neccessary for him to make that video. A lot of people said there's a big sign at the entrance of the supermarket saying you'll be buying your own nylons. Is it that he didn't read the sign??

1. Ok o.
      I thought know one is inform.
      Maybe he want to trend

2. Many people don't take cognisant of simple instructions. Thereby embarrassing themselves. πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

3. Lagos Mainland Girl24 March 2025 at 11:45

I usually keep them for reuse later
    The one that is paining me is when they are owing you 50 naira, 40 naira, 100 naira etc
    Unfortunately, I don't remember to ask when next am going

4. Buying packing nylon is the practice in Canada according to my friend. She told me that she goes along with it or she pick discarded nylon at the mall for her groceries if she went with her car.

Bokku sells nylon,I go with my sack.

5. Before The issue of Nylon stop
    Any Supermarket you Enter has Notice all Their Customers that they dnt give Nylon again..
    Edichart, Joeddy Supermarket dnt give any more and is written boldly on The Entrance Door..
    If You Forget Your Nylon Just Beg Them To Give You Carton..
    But Market Square Maryland Still give Nylon o... Oga got bread their last week...

6. I think it's a way to recycle plastic and cut pollution.

7. It's a way to curb pollution, nylons are non biodegradable materials and they are one of the major causes of water and land pollution. They litter everywhere.

So making people pay for Nylon will help curb the excess pollution, knowing that you are going to pay for nylons after your shopping you keep it safe for the next shopping

8. It's a way to reduce litering the environment and I think it's working to some extent. Most of these retail shops give prior notice to their customers,, those ones going to the social media are just there to trend.

9. You go with your shopping bag to buy your groceries here in Canada.

10. Plastic doesn't degrade on time and is causing lots of pollution to the environment, reasons why governments around the world are trying to reduce its usage. Now we have paper straw, paper bag, and re usable bags. People should be reading news and keep up of what is happening around the world.

11. It's bokku that started it and if you go there regularly there is no point in buying nylon Everytime.

12. His shining eyes were from druggss..colos and loud.
    He was raving mad, e don crase finish

13. Hahahahaha πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ "shouting like someone that stepped on hot coals"

In this part of the world, customers often have a peculiar expectation: they believe they are entitled to an unlimited number of nylon bags, as long as they're making a purchase. Interestingly, even when goods are already packaged in nylon, customers will request additional bags. Some even bring their own sacks or plastic bags, only to ask for multiple nylons to package their purchases. It's baffling to consider what becomes of all these nylon bags once they are taken home. It's even more astonishing when you visit some of their homes and see bags filled with used nylons, scattered all over their kitchens. Despite having a stash of nylons at home, they will still forget to take one along on their next trip to markets/malls. The sheer accumulation of nylons is not only an eyesore but also a testament to the excessive use of single-use plastics. I really hope this new development will help them break free from this habit of excessive nylon usage.

14. Going to the markets,I go with enough bagco sack.
    Now supermarkets/malls I don't carry bags,they bill I pay.
    That guy has issues or wants to trend.

15. The video was unnecessary. No be everything them dey video share.

16. It's in line with the Sustainability goal and Lagos is championing that Nigeria. I love what Bokku is doing. It shows they care about the environment. As for me, I have been going with my shopping bag since 2024.

17. We pay for shopping bags in the UK too. Was it a culture to me? Hell yes! But I love it because of the brilliant reason.