Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu's State Of Emergency In Rivers State

Wednesday, March 19, 2025

President Tinubu's State Of Emergency In Rivers State

The declaration of a State of Emergency in Rivers State by President Bola Tinubu is currently on the lips on every Nigerian....
Some say he did well and others say he should not have and was ill advised...I have read the arguments on both sides ,I dont know much about this kind of politics and all i can say is that Rivers state needs Jesus at this time.....
What is your take on the situation?

19 comments:

1. They stopped Jonathan from declaring state of emergency in 3 Northern states, stating that it was unconstitutional for him to suspend a governor. If only supreme Court will be stable in their judgment of 2018

DOZZYBEST

1. Who are 'they' that stopped Jonathan? You had better stop misinforming the public.

2. No one calls Jonathan a dunce more than those who supported him. Who has the power to stop a president from declaring a state of emergency asides from the legislature where his party had a clear majority? Drop the professional victimhood.

2. Section 305 of the Constitution allows the President to declare a state of emergency only in very strict conditions.
    These conditions include when the country is at war or there is a breakdown of public order and safety.
    None of these have happened in Rivers State. There is no war. No lives have been lost to warrant a state of emergency. All that is going on is a quarrel between a Governor and his former Godfather.
    Beyond that, the Constitution does not allow a President to remove a Governor. The Law is very clear. A Governor can only be removed by death, resignation or impeachment.

Just barely few months ago, the Supreme Court decided that a Governor cannot remove Local Government chairmen because they were elected. This same FG hailed the decision of the Court.
    It's surprising that they are now the ones suspending democratically elected government and putting a Military administrator....In 2025!!!

People have been saying that Obasanjo did it. However, this was about 20 years ago. Our democracy was new and we were still recovering from the military era. All the states Obasanjo declared an SOE were having serious security issues and none of them were for even a period of 6 months!!!
    This very act of the President has taken us waaaay back. Today, it's Rivers State. The next day might be another state if their Governor dares to challenge the President.

1. A group of militants verbally encouraged by the governor have started to set off bombs, putting lives and property in danger, jeopardizing the security in a testy region and the governor/ chief security officer that has been befriending them beforehand refused to react to the security breach or seek the support of the FG to nip it in the bud and you are complaining: what other choice does the federal government have when a state governor is a terrorist sympathizer who has been declared a despot by the court due to his past actions and drama? What's the difference between what he did at the house of assembly and what the militants are doing?

When the president drew up a gentleman's agreement that protected Fubara and bought him time to perform like the GAC did for Fashola, y'all said his role was unconstitutional and Fubara should fly into fire. President encouraged PANDEF to talk to Fubara yet the same people kept deceiving him when it was clear he had no cards to play after the supreme court ruling. A wise man would have asked for a one on one with the president to get the parliamentarians summoned and assuage them after he was told to approach him for help but he got on the next flight to continue his WhatsApp drama. Now both he and the legislature who are fully grown adults and with their mental capacity unquestioned have been told to sit at home and you are still blaming Wike who didn't allow kidnappers or other criminals to cost him his job in Abuja where he is a foreigner.

Wisdom is the principal thing. Nobody will ask the godfather to explain anything. It is those saddled with responsibility by the law that will be questioned or sanctioned. This is what Sanwo Olu and Shetrima and the former governor of Enugu saw that made them turn aso villa to a second home or put that number on redial: they refused to let the mob that cannot secure ordinary LGA contract job to cost them their positions.

2. Anon 18:44, Bro, you're getting it all wrong.
      First of all, the Governor never encouraged any militant activities. He has always been suing for peace. I don't know where you guys are getting this from.
      Secondly, pipeline vandalism happens every single month across the Niger Delta. Militants keep on blowing oil facilities in Delta, Rivers, Abia and Bayelsa. It is the duty of the NSCDC and the Nigerian Navy to protect our oil installations. When did the Governor suddenly have control over these FG agencies? What is so different about this particular vandalism that warrants a State of emergency in less than 24 hours?

Thirdly, you said that Sim refused to abide by the terms of the agreement. That is not correct. He came back and recalled the commissioners who voluntarily resigned by themselves. He withdrew the suit filed in court, but Wike's faction did not. He called the 27 lawmakers for a meeting, but they didn't honour it.
      This is a Governor, not their errand boy

Lastly, talking about PANDEF. They never deceived the Governor in any manner. Wike started an unnecessary attack against Ijaw people calling them 'minority of the minorities'.

A Governor who came to present the budget and they locked him out? A Governor who was threatened with impeachment just a few days ago?

Haba nau.

3. In Nigeria, the powers and processes regarding the impeachment of governors and the declaration of a state of emergency are outlined in the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria.

1. Impeachment of a Governor;
    Under Section 188 of the Constitution, a governor can be impeached by the state House of Assembly, not directly by the president. The process involves several steps, including a two-thirds majority vote in the House and specific grounds for impeachment. The president does not have the authority to unilaterally impeach a governor.

2. State of Emergency: The president has the power to declare a state of emergency under Section 305 of the Constitution. However, this can only be done under specific circumstances such as threats to the security of the state or occurrences of a natural disaster. A declaration of a state of emergency can also affect the governance of a state, but this does not equate to the impeachment of the governor.

While the president can declare a state of emergency, he cannot directly impeach a governor or dissolve the state assembly. The constitutional framework provides clear processes for both impeachment and emergency powers.

The little I understand of the constitution, but our politicians can do abrakatabra to confuse the citizens just for what they will gain.

1. I am also not a law professional ( unlike those who have been selling false hope at tv stations) but I think the wording of the president's directive is interesting: the governor and legislature were suspended and not impeached or removed. The section of the constitution does not explicitly direct to or deny the right to have an administrator. Taking security measures is dicey as their appointments and employment are federal while the governor is CSO. It's dicey but the explosions need to stop for everyone's safety but the governor has proven he doesn't think so.

4. Country wey I don wash my hands commot for their yeye politics

5. Na so we see am for rivers state ohh, wike wants to be in charge of rivers state affairs,na president is working in favor of wike.
    Simp too don't know. How to use the power of a Governor, his too slow for my liking.
    I just tirer abeg😔

WE MOVE!!

1. After all Nigeria has invested in your education, should your analysis not be a bit different from that of those reading newspapers under the canopy by the roadside?

What power has Wike who does not hold any office in Rivers State have over the parliamentarians or the governor? What influence does a human have other the other that cannot shift or be tested? This is the pussyfooting that led to people sitting at home on Mondays, unable to move about, pouring into other states without means to manage on, to avoid choking under the stranglehold of those they called saviours.

People should learn from history.

6. How can 2 people be fighting and you punish only one person?ls very obvious the president is supporting the other person.

1. It's obvious you are unreading and this unreasonable. Are the 30 lawmakers who have also been suspended able to meet to make a clear case of impeachment?

7. Wike should also be suspended for 6 months because he his the architect behind all these problem.
    My joy is that power is transient, all the power drunk politicians will leave offices maximum 8 years .

8. I wonder why some people carry this matter for head like gala, afterall the President is not your President, whatever proclamation he makes should not bother you.
    Don't cry more than the bereaved.

1. 😅🤣. In fact, the country is not even their country so what's the issue?

2. I like this, he is not their president yet they won't rest.