The Federal Capital Territory, FCT, Police Command has confirmed a devastating motor vehicle accident that occurred on Wednesday before Nyanya Bridge.
A statement issued on Wednesday night by the Police Public Relations Officer of the Command, SP Josephine Adeh said 14 vehicles were burnt.
Although eyewitnesses said more than 10 persons died, the police said six victims were pulled out of the wreckage of burnt vehicles and were confirmed dead in the hospital.
The PPRO explained that a distress call was received on Wednesday evening by Karu Division regarding a horrifying scene.
According to her, a “Dangote trailer, heavily loaded with cement and approaching Nyanya Bridge from AYA, had lost control and crashed into stationary vehicles trapped in traffic.
“The impact engulfed fourteen vehicles in a raging inferno. Panic and chaos followed as bystanders and motorists scrambled for safety.
“Emergency responders rushed to the scene, battling thick smoke and intense heat to rescue those trapped.”
“Six victims were pulled from the wreckage and rushed to the hospital, but tragically, they were confirmed dead by medical personnel on duty. Their remains have been deposited at Karu General Hospital Morgue.
“Police operatives, in collaboration with fire service personnel, other security agencies, and courageous individuals at the scene, contained the inferno, and normal traffic flow has been restored”, the statement added.
Meanwhile, our correspondent gathered that the National Hospital and Asokoro Hospital are currently filled with victims of the unfortunate incident.
from dailypost
Why are they twisting the facts? It wasn't a cement truck, it was a CNG truck explosion. If you are familiar with that route and the traffic situation there you will know the number of casualty is groslsy under reported.
ReplyDeleteI passed there less than 20mins when the incident occurred.
DeleteMany persons lost their lives and several vehicles got burnt
The impact engulfed 14 vehicles in a raging inferno. Multiply atleast 4 people in each of those vehicles by 14 and see the casualty figure.
ReplyDeleteOh my God! 😭😭
DeleteThese people are wicked 😒, gambling with people's lives and safety.
DeleteCan you imagine!
You are right
DeleteGoodness me. This is too much..
DeleteWhy was there an explosion? Eye witnesses said it was CNG. Na wa. The fire was tough, heavy explosions, traffic was terrible. It was a lot.
ReplyDeleteDangote again? As we heard the news, I was just saying hope it's not dangote, and then this.
We will be going home and heavy duty vehicles will be dragging road with us. We will be shouting at them to park. Small cars will be running left and right to avoid being in front of them. They gave law that they should move by 10pm but because those trucks are owned by big men, they disobey and authorities are watching with folded arms.
By 7pm, you won't find any vehicle official.on the road to control the heavy duty vehicles but see how they all pumped out yesterday because a serious accident occurred. It is well.
Not again 😞😞😞😭
ReplyDeleteGod Abeg oh
ReplyDeleteCouldn't watch it online
What a painful way to die 😭😭😭 God please protect us as we go out every day,you alone know the beginning and the end, shield us from every dangers!in JESUS Mighty name Amen
ReplyDeleteAmen
DeleteAmen
DeleteJesus Christ of Nazareth 😭😭😭
ReplyDeleteOhhh God
Why always Dangote trailers is it a thing with their engines or the drivers. People that have lost their lives because of Dangote trailers are too numerous to mention.
ReplyDeleteIt's really becoming too much.
DeleteWhat a great lost.. may the souls and all the souls of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace Amen..
ReplyDeleteHeavy duty vehicle again?
ReplyDeleteWhy can't they do something about these heavy duty vehicles that are always dragging the road with smaller vehicles. Why can they have their own dedicated lanes and then punishment for any of them that disobeys?
It is so sad to read this
RIP to the dead
At that time my boss was preparing to close. I was happy, saying I will go to Nyanya market, but my boss brought task for us to do again. We were angry, not knowing God was saving us from a bad situation.
ReplyDeleteThank God for your life.
DeleteThe sight was terrible
May their souls rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteThis is terrible! May God comfort the family of the deceased, heal the injured and save Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteThe Nasarawa state government should see this road as a serious security and safety risk. It should be manned 24/7 by security agencies on their request with these huge trailers allowed to move only past midnight and commercial passenger vehicles having a dedicated lane. This can be achieved by using technology and human effort. Nothing stops the state from instituting an agency like LASTMA for this specific area. If the huge trailers know their company will automatically be charged 10million by a mobile court and the passenger vehicles 500,000 per offence which is automatically logged and time stamped so no one can "help" to delete the record or give discount, they will sit up. If the driver knows he'll lose huge points from his licence, their union will sit up. Even private vehicles need to be fined for speeding when the road is free.
ReplyDeleteMay the souls list rest in peace and may God comfort their families.
Your suggestion is good, but Nasarawa State has nothing to do with the location where the indent happened. It is FCT
DeleteHave Mercy, Oh Lord
ReplyDeleteThis Dangote company is a bloodsucking demon..
ReplyDeleteSerious one
DeleteMy neighbor came back by 12am this morning. She had a narrow escape because their vehicle according to her was nearly approaching the scene. She said it was explosion upon explosion.
ReplyDeletePeople were roasted by fire like animals. Hold up like never seen before.
So sad.😢😢.
Rest in peace to the dead.
God help your children in this country.
RIP to the dead, May God keep protecting us, if you have someone around there, kindly call to confirm if they are safe.
ReplyDeleteGod have mercy, when will all these accidents stop
ReplyDeleteSad news, May their souls rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteI hate sudden and devastating deaths. May the deceased and the injured find peace.
ReplyDeleteOMG! This is sad!
DeleteOh Lord of mercy,have mercy on us all!!
ReplyDeleteThis news is saddening because it's avoidable. Rest in peace to the deceased and comforts to their families...