Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Minister Biance Ojukwu Says That The 1st Batch Of Deportees Will Arrive From The US Today

Monday, February 17, 2025

Nigeria's Minister Biance Ojukwu Says That The 1st Batch Of Deportees Will Arrive From The US Today

Nigerias Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Bianca Odumegwu-Ojukwu has announced that the first batch of deportees from the US will arrive Nigeria today Monday, February 17, 2025..

She posted..

'US DEPORTATIONS BEGIN.....ln a meeting with US Ambassador to Nigeria, Richard Mills Jr., I highlighted our Government's concern , as well as the emotional and financial toll deportations recently announced by the new Trump Administration are having on Nigerians in the US and their families back home.
As at now, there are about 201 Nigerians currently detained in US immigration centres, and about 85 cleared for deportation. The figure is expected to rise sharply.

We requested that the forced removals of our citizens from US soil must be in compliance with internationally prescribed guidelines and established protocols in this regard and a more humane process should be followed.
Nigerians in the US send vital remittances to families in Nigeria, supporting their survival and funding their education.

I underscored the fact that these deportations, particularly for individuals with no history of violent crime, should not be traumatic or abrupt and that these individuals should be given ample time to handle their assets rather than just be bundled into planes and repatriated.

We also expressed concern about the potential suspension of the US’s Drop Box Visa System, which has allowed Nigerians to renew visas without in-person interviews, and we urged the US to clarify its stance and ease the growing anxiety over visa procedures.
The future of Nigerian students in the US was also high on our discussion agenda, as some 14,000 students are supported by families in Nigeria who fear that US policy changes may affect their children’s education.

We voiced worries over the ongoing review of USAID programmes, critical to humanitarian efforts in Nigeria, and called for clarity, stressing that any reduction in aid would disproportionately affect vulnerable communities in Nigeria and across Africa.
In response, Ambassador Mills assured that the Drop Box Visa System had not been totally suspended, explaining that the US was undergoing a policy review
Regarding the suspension of USAID, he noted that many NGOs are feeling the pains, but the situation is also being reviewed.”
On the deportation issue, Mills stated that the repatriations would be done with dignity and respect for human rights.
The first batch of deportees will arrive today.''

14 comments:

1. Nawaoo I just pity the deportees like 201 and 85 cleared to come back today chai ya diba
    It's well oo

2. Na wa !
    Trump did not come to play at all .
    Atleast let the process have a humane face .

3. My Bianca, glowing and enjoying her work. Tinubu should fix the country to avoid all these insults from Trump

4. I feel bad for everyone involved especially for those ones who didn’t commit any crime. It must be very traumatic for all involved, these people are bread winners of their families and families are going to be hit had especially those that are not prepared for his kind of emergency.
    Congratulations to all of the illegals that campaigned for Trump.

1. But then they should migrate legally...all sentiments aside!

5. She kinda seems excited about this😡👽

6. Trump is not master of the universe! His gragra has an expiry date. However, it is honorable to japa legitimately.

1. 14.32, you see that your last line, everyone hoping to japa should take it seriously.

7. lol in other words just talk and no action items

8. Nigeria needs to wake up and stop depending on handouts, una no dey shame to be begging for aid aka USAID??? The sheer shamelessness of it all, tufia!
    Look at how the South African president is giving Trump and Elon Musk gbas gbos fire for fire, he can do that because he knows he will be fine without their so called aid, when exactly are we going to get to that level ehn???

9. Usaid that was sponsoring bokoharam? That you now want them to resume funding to Nigeria! It has been dissolved! Let Nigerians not ask their governments to start the deporting the fulani terrorist in their midst! Trump has opened the can of worms! Nigerians should be looking like mumu! I cancelled my permit, when I was leaving the US! I wonder, why anyone will go and live in any country 🤔 illegally!!!

1. @Anon 16:59..nail on the head...you have said it all. Nigerians wake up and build instead of spending your damn time on Tuface and Annie, Yul and May...and all them people you lot follow on SM....

10. I can’t believe the ignorant folks that think it’s true that USAID was funding Boko Haram! Trump just said that to make his tearing down of American institutions seem like a just cause to the Christian right wing MAGA cult. USAID funds a lot including scholarships, food aid, agric etc. There is so much ignorance on Trump in Nigeria it’s unbelievable for a country that claims it is educated.

11. @10:05! Is your father and your mother that is ignorant! The reason the fulani henchmen of the globalist will continue to butcher Nigerians!
    Except you are their paid chill going around the Internet, trying to confuse Nigerians! For your information international arrests are coming soon!
    The man is still busy with the corrupt evil dems!!!