Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Lawmakers Propose 31 New State For Nigeria...

Friday, February 07, 2025

Nigeria's Lawmakers Propose 31 New State For Nigeria...

What a Joke!!!!!
The House of Representatives Committee on the Review of the 1999 Constitution has proposed the creation of 31 new states in Nigeria.
If approved, this would increase the number of states in Nigeria from 36 to 67. The proposed states will be spread across the six geopolitical zones..

According to the proposal, the new states are Okun, Okura, and Confluence States from Kogi; Benue Ala and Apa States from Benue; FCT State; Amana State from Adamawa; Katagum from Bauchi and Savannah States from Borno and Muri State from Taraba.

Others are New Kaduna and Gujarat from Kaduna State; Tiga and Ari from Kano; and Kainji from Kebbi State; Etiti and Orashi as the 6th state in the South East; Adada from Enugu; and Orlu and Aba from the South East.

Also included are Ogoja from Cross River State, Warri from Delta, Ori and Obolo from Rivers, Torumbe from Ondo, Ibadan from Oyo, Lagoon from Lagos, Ogun, Ijebu from Ogun State, and Oke Ogun/Ijesha from Oyo/Ogun/Osun States.

13 comments:

1. BITCHandSLUT.com7 February 2025 at 07:44

The ones in existence they have no managed well, they want to add more.

What are these people even think up there?

1. I tire oo,who go even help them to read this one
      This is not our major problem now bikonu

2. The jokes write themselves in this country.. The functioning states with the exception of few not up to 10 are nothing to write home about and here we're talking about addition.

Mediocrity at its peak.

This isn't the solution to the many corruption and political rascality in the country. All what Nigeria need is total restructuring. Take back the government to the 1963 constitution. That was the constitution of the people and not one flawed military constitution we're currently operating.

Power should be decentralized and the central government made less attractive by giving the state more powers. This will curb insecurity and strengthen the judiciary just like we can see in America a President losing a case in a state court which can never happen in Nigeria cos the judges are under the FG payroll

3. Lagos Mainland Girl7 February 2025 at 08:36

Whatever they do or say, the Land must favour me

4. The ones we have never do abi?? ๐Ÿ™„

5. With all the issues and problems on ground, do we really need this? Is it that they don't have better things discussing during their sittings? Oh! That means we will have more governors, legislators, senators, ministers, chairmen, etc.. So that tax payers money will be used to fund most of them extravagant lifestyles because sincerely this democracy seem to be very expensive and we the masses are the ones feeling the bite seriously. The states we already have , have many have a good source of generating revenue, how many industries, or people are gainfully employed by these states. Please , let's place our priorities right.

6. To what end? The ones that are there no proper infrastructure and development, they want to add more๐Ÿ˜ž.

7. Out of the 36 states in Nigeria...how many they function well

Misplaced priority

8. Kaduna? Yes, please. Let the North and south go their separate ways.

9. I support Ogoja State. Long overdue

10. Just maybe they are setting the tone for complete restructure.i belive everyone has the power to be something great.

11. A sub-region within the state could work too. 67 states sound large, but what do I know. Maybe having smaller self governing regions would create better oversight and quicker reaction times to resolving issues. On the negative side, it could create divisions and weaken national unity in a tribal nation