WEDDING CALLED OFF
Hello Stella,
Trust work is good.
I am writing this chronicle on behalf of my younger sister.
We are four kids, I am the first, the Ada of the family, with an only sister who would be 28 years old by May. I literally carry every of my siblings matter on my head like gala. Lol
I am writing this chronicle on behalf of my younger sister.
We are four kids, I am the first, the Ada of the family, with an only sister who would be 28 years old by May. I literally carry every of my siblings matter on my head like gala. Lol
Let me give a brief description of my sister. She is beautiful, intelligent, an extrovert, likes to party, travels a lot and in fact very adventurous. She is witty, has a long of circle of friends who adores her, exact opposite of me. Funny enough, she likes book too, she ended up with 2.1 in mass communication at University of Lagos, further did her masters and came out with distinction. Babe has a great job and we are super proud of her.
Now back to my chronicles, her relationship life is what we don't understand, my sister is so high standard, which is fair enough, but the challenge here is before she starts a relationship, the relationship has ended.The reason isn't clear to us. when asked, you hear things like, he can't hold a conversation, he is very domineering, he is archaic.
Finally, my sister started dating, as in serious relationship we were all excited, she would call and we will talk about it, my sister seemed happy and we were all happy with the new development in her life.
We are Edos and the man let's call him Mr A is from the west, he is based in Canada , they were former colleagues before he relocated. Their love blossomed, and the guy demanded for an introduction, which was late 2023, he said he wanted them to get married 2025. His reasons were he wanted to finalize his papers over there, before they get married. Stella, we were so excited.
Finally! aunty don gree say she go marry this one. Fast-forward to the introduction day, she picked him up from the airport and took him straight to our house. My Dad as usual, asked for his intentions and he said he wants to marry my sister, and he accepted the wine. She also visited his parents too, and they all accepted her.
Mr A is from a pentecostal background, while we are Catholics. He also an only Son .His father is a pastor, and his mom is all those educated women who is deep rooted into their culture and values. My sister and his mom both studied the same course, she is a journalist, hence the excitement from her. She received her wholeheartedly and gave her wrappers as a sign of her acceptance. I have never seen him, because I am married and I stay in the east, I was briefed every step of the way. I even asked for his number, but I later changed my mind and didn't reach him as advised by my hubby.
The relationship continued normally and her birthday last year May, they went on vacation to Doha. She lied about the trip to my Dad and said it was a business trip, my papa wouldn't agree to such arrangement. I was so excited and thought he was gonna propose on her birthday May . She came in, a week before her birthday. Asked her how it was going, and she said they went for a dinner date, that he got a call from his best friend that his mother just passed on, died of cancer, and that ruined their dinner date. That her man was in tears all through. Hmmm! I sensed something fishy but I was like let me not doubt it. The vacation ended and my sister came back to Nigeria. He went back to his base.
Now Stella, February before the vacation, my sister told me she started noticing how cold he was towards her, when they have issues, she must always be the one to reach out first, always busy. She said his Mom usually calls to pray for her and gist with her. One certain Sunday, she called and asked which church she attended and my sister said, she just returned from mass and she said something really funny which didn't sit well with her, but shoved it.
My sister had earlier told me that she had the discussion with him and that she will convert after marriage.
Fast forward to September last year, I called my mom and we discussing about me and when I would visit Lagos, because my parents stay in Lagos. I told them that since my sister was getting married next year (2025) I would be In Lagos. jokingly tho, that was how my mom was like which marriage and that there was no marriage, In fact they have broken up, that I should call my sister and ask her about it.
I called my sister, she then opened up to me, that shey I know before the Doha trip that he was already acting funny, that it was a big issue in their house his mom said he didn't want her because she is not from the west and that she is Catholic. He said he kept pushing the relationship to see if he would be able to convince them. Hence, he didn't want to tell her and continued stringing her along. My sister said she didn't have the slightest idea until about August before the break up ,when he told her he was going to send some money to her, and that he wants her to use the money to buy gifts for both their parents. He suggested my sister buys hamper, blender for his mum and go deliver it herself.
My sister said she bought different collections of fruit in a basket and blender as instructed and called his mom, she wanted to do a surprise visit, but his mom kept postponing and due to the fact that she bought perishable items, she just decided to go on her own accord. She even called his sister too, who kept giving excuses that the mom was busy and all.
She booked uber straight to their house and met the mom at home, gave the hamper to his mom and immediately the woman saw she started yelling, saying 'I really don't know what you want from me' like don't you get the memo. My sister said she was so embarrassed, this guy didn't even tell her, that the mom doesn't want him to marry her. Prior to that she was still checking up on her via calls.
My sister already got the memo, called him to hear his opinion, only to get the shock of her life, that they have been a back and forth over the relationship in their house and his mum insisted that he can't marry her, all this started February even before the trip.
My sister then asked what he wanted, he then said that, he would fight for them to get married, but she should have it at the back of her mind, that the marriage isn't going to be rosy at first, and maybe when the kids start coming his mom's attitude towards her will change. They initially had an agreement to conceive after a year of the marriage. My sister broke up and said she can't put up with that, he is the only son and she will not be the reason why they will not be in good terms. He still chats her up once in a while to know her stand.
Stella please what do you think about this, do you think she should continue and let's see the outcome.
She is family oriented, she is saying she would be heartbroken, not having this mother in law - daughter relationship.
I would also send her the link let her read. Please update me, when you post.
Thank you for your time, you are doing a great job here.
I hope I didn't bore y'all with my long story.
Thank you.
Hmmmmm...Thank you for the compliment on my work.
Please the mother should go and sit down..her dare her try to order her sons life cos he is the only son? Please marry let her marry that man if he wants her..When they are tired, they will settle with you...Tell your sister not to let that woman win....Let her go on ahead....
It’s best , she ends it since e done dey turn like this, peace over any yeye love
ReplyDeletePoster, I stay in the UK, na online church we dey attend when we have time. The church thing is not very pronounced abroad. Don't get me wrong, there's catholic, protestant, etc, but you can be very busy with life and not carry church for head.
DeleteThat his mama doesn't even know that your sister is the best for her son. If he enter akata baby here, he won't even remember that she exists.
It's a tricky situation. I for say let your sister continue with the relationship, they'll be fine, but i for like mama to experience abroad daughter inlaw, so she can learn.
Gosh!!! I feel so bad for ur sister but she’s a good one that knows what she wants. Inlaw battle isn’t something anyone should have to face in marriage especially if ur partner is not strong enough to be with you all the way.
ReplyDeleteThen if God forbid anything happens to the man, she will be in for it even worse so yea, I applaud her stance and hope her God ordained man will locate her.
The guy is already acting funny so obviously he’s a push around. Babe your sister deserves better. Marrying into a family that the mother does not want you is never a flex, not to talk of this one that cannot take a stand.
ReplyDeleteFan Emmanuel
I think your sister made the right decision. She should let go unless the guy is hardheaded enough to stand by her and also, they won't be living in the Country so that give a bit of consolation.
DeleteBut, if the guy isn't someone that can stand up to his parents then she should please not go ahead.
Thank God the the mother is showing her true colours now and not waiting for after the marriage to start creating chaos.
Dear Poster, Thanks for this detailed chronicle....Abeg the disrespect and insult is damn freaking much...Tell your sister to abort mission, please, she will survive and God will send her own man to her abeg....Your sister is a whole spec and more going by your description......
ReplyDeleteA man that cannot stand up for his woman, a dilly-dallying man is not one to commit too jare, is it when he marries her that he will defend her? Abeg, if the man's family doesn't like your sister, let her carry her dignity, respect with her head held high and walk out.....When respect is not served on the table, just stand up and waka....
I wish your sister and your family all the best....
All the best
Thank you.
DeleteWell said, this magnitude of disrespect on top marriage is the height of it, she should please abort mission abeg, she's a spec and should hold her head up high. .When the right person comes, it won't come with stress and disrespect from his family, she should just patiently wait on God for the right partner.
DeleteTell your sister to avoid the guy and his family. It might look like the mother won, but in the near future, your sister will see that it is indeed her that won the victory for a peaceful future in marriage.
ReplyDeleteWhen a man's family shows you who they are and how they feel about you, believe them. Don't try to win ANYONE over. That they rejected you isn't because you are a bad person or immoral person; its their choice to accept or reject someone. MOVE ON!!
Sometimes God uses situations and people to steer us in the right path, the path that he has ordained for our destiny: not the path that we use our coconut head to desire and squeeze into.
I have been married for over 2 decades and I know what I am saying.
Again, single ladies, AVOID marrying into families that reject you. You will not have peace in ur marriage. They will frustrate you.
I hope you know that in the west its the man's mother that comes for omugwo?? And ur sister will be expected to cater to her already antagonist MIL whilst dealing with post partum?
Love is NEVER enough in marriage so don't be fooled. You people too shouldn't push or force her to marry this guy.
BV Sylvia
Well Said!! Apt and straight to the point, BV Sylvia....Thanks for sharing some great truths
DeleteThanks for this..
DeleteDon't ever as a single lady marry into a family that shows u they don't want you.. don't even dare..
Better to be single than marry into a family that dies not love you...it is an unending war...
DeletePoster let your sister read Bv Sylvia's comment over and over again..she has said it all..she should abort mission if she wants peace for herself in that marriage, don't ever make the mistake of thinking having kids will automatically solve all issues..I have a relative that her hubby's family are showing shege now because of this tribe issue, it was on before they got married, its even worse now after having kids and they are not even in the same country with the inlaws..personally I won't go ahead with this kind of marriage abeg,I'll just respect myself and leave their son for them..nobody can treat me like trash because I want to get married, better to marry into a family that respect you.
DeletePoster pls let your sister back off.
ReplyDeleteThey will so frustrate her life ehn!
Such marriages end up packing up most times, only a few survive the storm.
However, one thing that can help them is if she relocates to join him over there immediately after the marriage, far from his family.
Poster your sister is the one to get married,if she can't cope with such family let her maintain her stand.
ReplyDeleteChoice there is to know what she wants and state it initially.
Despite that she is not going to live with the mother in law,I don't think it will be easy for her when they didn't accept her in the family. Unless She is going to dance to their tunes,she should go ahead with the marriage.
Her husband assuring her to fight for her. She knows the man better, not the one that will later turn his back against her at any little challenges.
What is the man's input about what his mother is saying? has your sister seen his action that he truly want to be with her? if the man will protect, love her, stand up for her and back her up anytime. She should go ahead and marry him but if he will not do all that i have mentioned, she should just lock up and move on.
ReplyDeleteThe man isn't ready to fight for her. Let her forget about the relationship, someone better will come along.
ReplyDeleteMaybe your sister said something casually that made him realized she wasn't wife material and he told his mum. One has to be careful during courtship. You could say something, even in jest, and the other party would assume that that's who you are because from the abundance of your heart, the mouth speaks. His mum wasn't always hostile, so she must have heard something about you.
ReplyDeleteAny man who bows to pressure from his parents not to marry a lady even if the lady is a good person, is either a coward or he believes that the lady is bad. No right-thinking man will walk away from a good woman. Ask your sister to think about the period when he first started acting funny. What transpired during that period? That is where the truth to everything lies.
Hi poster
ReplyDeleteTell your sister that she should let the man go, that man and his family isn't for her. Lesson I learnt first hand. I am still in the marriage because I need to accomplish some things for myself before I kiss them good bye. I literally thought the man was different, but after Marriage, I saw hell, can't go into details now cos it's not something I wish my enemy, but yeah I am still here, planning patiently.
So tell your sister to avoid them
Dear poster, sorry about your sister's experience, but I believe that God did save her from the man and his family.
ReplyDeletePlease bvs, on another note, I have a question, if a man suddenly starts saving up massively for himself without considering you and the kids, what does it mean. I have kids for my husband, we experienced TTC for a long time which took most of his money and mine, but God came through, have kids now, immediately we started having kids, he started saving for himself, always talking about his future.
I don't want to question him but my mind is telling me some things. He has no financial plans for the kids .
Please what could it mean?
Start saving for yourself and ur kids too. Abi?
DeleteIf a man is not saying us, we, ours and only saying me, mine, I, then to me that means he is thinking about himself and a future by himself. Now, you know his use of language and how he speaks, so I don't know his true meaning, I am thinking in general terms.
DeleteHow did you get the kids?
DeleteAre they not from his sperm?
If they are from another man, it might be the reason.
Think well
You may need to conduct a DNA test on them secretly.
Trust no one, you never can tell what he did
Women wahala na follow come, or do I say factory fitted. They only follow what suit their agenda. Let your sister stay off the guy. Mother in law wahala can be out of bound.
ReplyDeleteLol..
ReplyDeleteAs that iwo babe do us iya-iwo..
This edo mama go help us do them back iya-edo 😁
Your sister should move on,why is church some people problem? Na God you dey worship or church? What is meant to be no demons can stop it.let her move on.
ReplyDeleteThe faiths and their practices are so far apart that I fear she would not like it eventually, no matter the love for the man. There are many faiths close to Catholicism but Pentecostal is not one of them.
ReplyDeleteI do not like that the young man did not have the guts to tell her up front what was going on. The mother had no reason to speak to your sister in the manner that she did. Your sister did absolutely nothing to her and to speak to someone like that is horrible. She being a mother and a supposed Christian should have done better. The protection and trust she needs as a woman is not there from the man. Yes, I understand that he is cornered, but he must have known how deeply entrenched his parents' faith was and their various biases against people who are not like them. He did not do well in how he treated your sister, the distance may have been part of that, he may also just not be a protective or considerate person.
Your sister did right to place a value on herself and walk away. In my humble opinion, despite her past issues with getting settled, this is not the situation I would hope for anyone that I loved. She turning into fighter and warrior in the name of marriage is not it. It will affect her health, employment and ultimately, self-worth. If the man was stronger and of his own mind, then I would tell her to go ahead, but he is weaker and easily carried along, he placed her in situations he should not have and left her in open fire for her to take missiles. His mom is a nasty person so she should leave that family alone. Even if she was Pentecostal, that mother would be a problem eventually. God has seen her and will redeem her in his time of mercy. She still have youth on her side, all is not lost. There are over a billion Catholics on the planet, she will find her perfect pick. Let her stay in faith and steadfastness.
Your is 28 not 88 pls don't stress about her age face your own marriage
ReplyDeleteLet her continue since the man has not rejected her but she should be careful not to get pregnant without marriage pls the mother inlaw will soon give up,that is how devil do use them to put hindrance into their children progress ;turning themselves into God .All will be well in Jesus name ,don't give up
ReplyDeleteThe guy does not seem like he can fight for their love which will drain her in the marriage. She should let it go, her own man will come without stress by God's grace.
ReplyDeleteYour sister made the right decision. There is no point marrying into that family where her faith or culture is used to judge her even after saying she would convert after marriage. No need entering where you ain't welcomed or valued. Moreso the man can't stand for her,what's the point of marrying such ? infact as the only son , the pressure will be too much for her to bear considering the fact that she isn't welcomed by the family.. May God give her a man that will make her happy.
ReplyDeleteHmm Poster, as painful as it my be given that he didn't disclose the situation of things to her from the onset, I want to tell you as a lady who has had this same experience (except that in my case it was the Father who didn't want me on ethnic grounds) that your sister has made the right decision.
ReplyDeleteYou all will see the good in her decision eventually. A Pastor's wife turning down her son's choice of a wife on ethnic and denominational grounds is a height of godlessness. I fear such a person.
Tell your sister to run for her life, inlaw wahala is always something anyone should pray for, now that she knows their stand, she shouldn't marry their son.
ReplyDeleteMost men from the south west are mummy’s boys with their mums thinking they did you a favour by allowing their son to marry you.
ReplyDeleteI had the same experience with my fiancé’s mum then always praying for me over the upcoming wedding, unknown to me, she refused to collect the wedding invites up till 2wks to the wedding when I became aware. My fiancé was always moody, sad and didn’t display the behaviour of someone excited about getting married.
He kept pleading with her, she refused. I only got to know about all these when I told him I wasn’t going ahead with the wedding because he was looking like someone who was sad about getting married.
My colleagues/ friends advised we go beg her but I said nope…where I come, a man and his family would come and BEG for a woman’s hand in marriage while prostrating/kneeling and not the other way round.
What did she say was my offence?
One, I never came around to wash clothes, cook and clean the house for them (as if I was their maid).
Secondly, the way I dressed was too expensive and I would drain their son, meanwhile I was a manager with one of the multinationals and bought my stuff myself.
Thirdly, I didn’t look like someone she could control
Fourthly, I made her son to vacate the apartment they gave him in his father’s house and took him far away to rent an apartment making it difficult to breeze in anytime she liked. I would never marry a man who still lived in his father’s house even if it’s a separate house there.
In fact, so many yeye reasons that are too numerous to mention.
This was a woman who enjoyed her marriage to her husband till the man breathed his last and God so good her sons took after their Dad in kindness and pampering their wives.
Did I marry him? Of course, yes…he insisted it was me or no one else. We’ve been married for 31yrs.
The wedding sef, the groom’s family did not have a co-ordinated dress style/ type because she simply refused to mention it to other members of the family till a week to the wedding so everyone wore what they had.
Unfortunately, till she passed, we were not really close because I didn’t like or trust her, neither did she.
I never had a relationship with her and couldn’t really be bothered with her but I ensured her son took care of her immensely so she had the best of anything she could afford.
Did I wish or plan to have this kind of relationship with my future MIL? Not at all but well….
Poster, my advice is even if you marry someone whose people like you from the start, you might fall out with them later. Will you leave your marriage because of that?
Your decision depends on you and the guy, honestly. What is he saying and what do you think he’s not saying?
Are you capable of fighting for yourself and standing your ground when the need arises?
Do you think the guy loves you enough and understands what leaving and cleaving means?
Ask yourself sincere questions and be honest with yourself. I would never lose what I want because of someone who has lived her life and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Wow! Interesting.
DeleteThank you
DeleteRegarding your sister’s situation, I believe she should move on with her life. From the look of things, the gentleman has already bowed to pressure. It is quite baffling how some mothers insist on deciding who their children should marry. While parental consent is important, it should not be the sole deciding factor in a relationship.
ReplyDeleteI can only imagine the embarrassment your sister must have felt after being yelled at by his mother. Unless there are details she has not shared, one has to wonder what led to the breakup.
Wishing her strength during this time.
Poster, don’t I love your sister? That's a woman who understands what she wants and has an idea of how it should come, with profound critical thought - no pressure, no desperation. Your sister dodged a bullet wrapped in cultural guilt, that was tied with a bow of religious denominational manipulation (discriminatory or prejudicial). And you’re asking if she should go back for round two? Absolutely not.
ReplyDeleteLet’s get real. Marriage is a different kind of commitment, with a lifetime impact. This man knew from February that his family didn’t want her. He strung her along for months, took her on a vacation, encouraged and led her to buy gifts for the very woman plotting against her, and only when she forced the issue did the truth come out. If he had an ounce of integrity, he would have ended things the moment he realised he wasn’t strong enough to stand up to his mother. Instead, he played the “let’s see if things magically change” game, at her expense. That's emotional rape.
And now, he’s still texting? For what? To yet keep her emotionally invested while he waits for mummy’s approval? No, thank you. His whole “marriage won’t be rosy at first” speech is just a softer way of saying, you will suffer in the hands of my family, but maybe one day you’ll be tolerated. Is that the life you wish for your sister? Or one you want to encourage her to undertake? That's a long, long walk, darling. A marriage where she has to earn basic respect over time, from the people that matter in the life of her husband? That's like years of peasant servitude to make up for.
Your sister is an accomplished, intelligent, beautiful woman - so you attested to. She is not a charity case that needs to prove her worth to an irresolute man’s family. A strong man would have set boundaries with his mother from the start, or from the moment he decided to make her his wife. But no, this one wants her to enter a war zone, like Israel and Palestine, hoping that babies will be peace offerings - godly innocent children. Spoiler alert: they won’t be.
Your sister’s intuition was spot on. She saw the signs, she chose herself, that's self-love. And she walked. That’s strength, not weakness. She will heal, she will move on, and when the right man comes, she won’t have to beg for acceptance or regularly look over her shoulders. She will be celebrated. You will celebrate her.
Tell her to block his number, heal properly, and trust that she deserves more than being someone’s eventual priority. That's the vitiation of self for the sake of marriage - unbecoming of self-care.
The man is on the side of his family, obvious from his cold behaviour towards your sister.
ReplyDeletePls let her let him go. Let her open her heart to another relationship.
Marrying an only son whose mother is like that is not advisable let alone one whose family do not accept her. His sister too is with them, she lied to her that her mum was busy. No one is for behind her and the man is weak.
Pls let her leave him alone and move on.
I think your sister made the best decision by breaking up with the man. Let her stick to that, block the man everywhere and move on with her life. Your sister is still young and can find a good man and good family to marry into. Please tell your sister to apply for Canada PR cos she’s qualified for it so it won’t be Canada that is the catch for her here. The guy and his family are not worth it. Your sister should move on with her life cos this happened for her good. The guy is not her husband. A broken relationship is better than a broken marriage and every disappointment is a blessing. I go where I am wanted not where am not wanted please. The guy’s loss, your sister’s gain. The guy is also not man enough for your sister. Good riddance to bad rubbish!
ReplyDeleteYou want to marry into a family that doesn't love you? This shouldn't be a debate na. I think most times we prefer to learn with our own experience instead of learn from the experience of other's. The bad news is many don't survive it.
ReplyDeleteAkporoghene.
The earlier you people should know not all families accept inter tribal marriage.