According to TellZim News, the Munyai, had brought an initial bride price payment of just US$30 (approximately R600) on behalf of the groom’s family. The bride’s family, reportedly enraged by what they perceived as a disrespectful offer, attacked the messenger, resulting in his death.
A relative who witnessed the incident stated: “They were expecting a reasonable amount, not US$30. When they heard this, tempers flared. They accused the Munyai of disrespecting their daughter and took matters into their own hands.”
The disagreement quickly turned violent, with the Munyai being fatally beaten by the bride’s family members.
Authorities have arrested one suspect in connection with the k!lling, while other alleged perpetrators remain at large. The police have launched an investigation to track down the remaining suspects.
A relative who witnessed the incident stated: “They were expecting a reasonable amount, not US$30. When they heard this, tempers flared. They accused the Munyai of disrespecting their daughter and took matters into their own hands.”
The disagreement quickly turned violent, with the Munyai being fatally beaten by the bride’s family members.
Authorities have arrested one suspect in connection with the k!lling, while other alleged perpetrators remain at large. The police have launched an investigation to track down the remaining suspects.
This is subtle happening in some marriages whose bride price is heavy amount.
ReplyDeleteYou hear words like, "I own you", "Leave my house, I know how much I paid" bla bla bla.
The Yorubas seems to be the only tribe that I know, who are open about giving their daughter's hand in marriage without a price, we don't sell our children, they are pricelessly invaluable,
"just go ahead and care for her, love her like yourself", the bride's father will reiterate.
RIP to the dead.
My dear it is not only Yoruba, Someone close to me got married last year December. I was involved from day one of the wedding plans. She and her father contributed money and bought everything she needs in years to come in her husband's house, Kitchen utensils. upholstery, television, just name everything that you see in a house, we bought it, the guy rented an empty space around here and we used q big truck to shift her load to her husband house. The food stuff we bought will last them for years.
DeleteI wished I was a Hausa man that day. Just get married and have most of your immediate basic needs met by your Wifes family.
Abeg go and sit down with this deceit of Yoruba not giving bride price, you think it's just the money we're talking about, many tribe don't even collect up to 1000 naira, na the list be the wahala,. Don't Yoruba give long list too..
DeleteAbegi π
Hmmmm, imagine this kind story eeh the husband for follow him go nah so that they for kill both together π
ReplyDeleteAwwww, so sad
ReplyDeleteThey should make sure the other perpetrators are arrested, wicked people.
ReplyDeleteWhy did they even beat him sef. Why not just send him away. Now they have beome murderers
ReplyDeleteJust Messerger nah dey come kpaii
ReplyDeleteMake person know the kind Message him go dey go ooo..
This is Sad ...
Rip
They are wicked,why not reject the money peacefully without violence.
ReplyDeleteGreedy family
ReplyDeleteMarriage wey never start
ReplyDeleteWhat a wicked family π
ReplyDeleteSee wickedness!
ReplyDeleteOya nau, make them come marry.
Useless family
ReplyDeleteNne na wa o. Wicked people. Why not send him back instead of killing him.
ReplyDeleteGreedy lots, they have seen bride price as poverty alleviation program. Baride price should be abolished all over Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteAnd these evil people should be seriously dealt with.
ReplyDeleteThat Killer Family is full of Wickedness
ReplyDeleteGosh
May the Soul of the Dead haunt them forever