On that day a Bomb exploded in a military barracks in Ikeja causing series of more explosions causing unrest and lots of people lots their lives.
The explosion was heard and felt 30 miles away and the tremors collapsed homes and broke windows as many as 10 miles away.
The Red Cross claims that at least 1,000 bodies were recovered and a number of people were reported missing and never found. In addition to the dead, at least 5,000 people were injured in the disaster and over 12,000 left homeless, with entire districts of the city gutted.
About 20,000 people had fled the city on the night of the explosion,and the survivors gradually returned over the course of the next week.
According to reports from the military, the explosion was caused by a bomb that detonated itself. This caused other explosive stored with it to explode too
The Red Cross claims that at least 1,000 bodies were recovered and a number of people were reported missing and never found. In addition to the dead, at least 5,000 people were injured in the disaster and over 12,000 left homeless, with entire districts of the city gutted.
About 20,000 people had fled the city on the night of the explosion,and the survivors gradually returned over the course of the next week.
According to reports from the military, the explosion was caused by a bomb that detonated itself. This caused other explosive stored with it to explode too
Obasanjo who was President at the time addressed the people bare footed at Ikeja Cantonment after the bomb blast
from Nigeriastories on X
it's well.
ReplyDeleteI was in boarding school then precisely JSS 2...My siblings said as far as Surulere, our doors were vibrating violently and they were all scared....I read the scary story in papers about how people jumped into the Oke Afa Canal.....What a tragedy.....Sunny Nneji sang a song of the terrible tragedy.....May their souls rest in perfect peace (Amen)
DeleteIn 2002 you were in JSS2.
DeleteNo be me & you write SSCE in shagamu in 2005.
Aunty you can lieeeee
phoenix is 39,40
DeleteEyaah. May their souls continue to rest in perfect peace, Amen.
ReplyDeleteWere you born by then?
DeleteA very sad day indeed.
ReplyDeleteGod have mercy and comfort thise who lost their love ones.
DOZZYBEST.
That year!
ReplyDeleteMany of my school mates from Ikeja cantonment narrated all that happened. We even had a write-up by a JSS3 boy about his experience with photos in cartoon form. The book was kept in our schools library .
Sad day indeed! May the souls of the departed continue to rest in peace π️
ReplyDeleteCan't forget dat incident..My primary school was very close to cantonment at Isaac John Street...
ReplyDeleteMay d soul of d departed continue to rest in peace
Ah! That Sunday afternoon was a day of sorrow for many families. The way our house at Jakande Estate Isolo trembled that day with the sound of the blast cannot easily be forgotten.
ReplyDeleteMay the soul of the victims continue to rest in peace.
May their souls continue to rest in peace
ReplyDeleteI vividly remember this day, the sound was heard all over Lagos. The panic was unimaginable. I remember us frantically searching for my younger brother, and by God's grace, we found him.
ReplyDeleteWhen the blast began, a woman living near us said it must have been a bomb. She shared how the last time she heard such a sound was during the Biafra war. Initially, we thought it was a joke, but soon the news began to spread that Ikeja was on fire.
My dad was on his knees, praying what we all feared might be his last prayer. At that moment, we believed it could be a coup or that Nigeria had been invaded. It took an emergency speech from the then Governor (now President Tinubu) on the radio to urge Lagosians to remain calm as he sought clarity on the situation.
Sadly, fear drove many to their deaths, even in areas far from the blast site. The Oke-Afa Isolo victims stand as a haunting reminder of that day. Indeed, it was a profoundly tragic day in our history
That Sunday was a black, horrific one
ReplyDeleteCan't forget in a hurry.
It was a black Sunday…I can’t ever forget the experience we had even while at home.. everywhere was shaking, things were falling and breaking in the house! At some point I thought our building was going to collapse, Kai❗️may God continue to rest their souls π
DeleteThe fear of Ikeji that year no be here ooooo,
ReplyDeleteThen was still leaving with my parents at Ikeji Balogun Bustop
See the way Our House was Shaking..
May The Souls of The Departed Rest well ππ
No be lie o, everywhere around Ikeja sef
DeleteOh!,l can't forget that day,
ReplyDeleteSo sad ,we lost my cousin in that blast.
May their souls rest in peace
Chai God oo plenty bad thing don happen for this life eeh hmmmm deep breath π³
ReplyDeleteMay their soul continue to rest in perfect peace Amen!
It was a tragic and unforgettable day. The widespread panic and stampede were largely fueled by misinformation. Timely intervention and clear communication from the government could have greatly mitigated the devastating deaths. Unfortunately, speculation and rumors ran rampant until official clarification came later in the day.
ReplyDeleteThe loss of life was a stark reminder of the importance of effective crisis communication and management. May the souls of the departed rest in perfect peace. Amen
A terrible day indeed! We that were far from Ikeja side felt the earth shaking. May God rest the souls of people we lost that year.
ReplyDeleteChai,I recalled this tragic incident, I was in Kd.Then people fled in panic and some mistakenly ran into the canal and drowned thinking it was grass. The news spread like wild fire through every media outlet.And suddenly everyone was talking about 'canal' it was as if 'canal' had become a new buzzword lol.Ironically, I don't even know the meaning of canal back then.haha .
ReplyDeleteMay their souls continue to rest in peace. ππΏ
ReplyDeleteAmen
DeleteHmmmmm.... What a black Sunday it was. We were living behind Ikeja, sholuyi gbagada. We shared wall with Ikeja. Our windows were shaking and pulling out. My mom asked us to run out and keep running while my dad who believed in the news remained inside, tuned his television to NTA for the news, to know what was wrong before running. We all left my father inside... Then later joined him out of fear of not knowing where to go. My mom died that April and dad 3 years later.
ReplyDeleteMay their soul Rest in Peace.
Hmmmmm.... What a black Sunday it was. We were living behind Ikeja, sholuyi gbagada. We shared wall with Ikeja. Our windows were shaking and pulling out. My mom asked us to run out and keep running while my dad who believed in the news remained inside, tuned his television to NTA for the news, to know what was wrong before running. We all left my father inside... Then later joined him out of fear of not knowing where to go. My mom died that April and dad 3 years later.
ReplyDeleteMay their soul Rest in Peace.