Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Teen Who Was Sentenced To Death For Stealing A Chicken Has Been Released After 14 Years In Jail

Thursday, January 02, 2025

Teen Who Was Sentenced To Death For Stealing A Chicken Has Been Released After 14 Years In Jail

Segun Olowookere, an only child was arrested at the age of 17 in 2010 for allegedly stealing a fowl and subsequently sentenced to death, has been released from prison after spending 14 years in detention.
His release was made possible by clemency granted by the Governor of Osun State, Ademola Adeleke after his case garnered widespread attention.

Actress Abiola Adebayo shared the news in a video posted on Instagram on Monday.
In the video, she is seen with Segun and his parents as they celebrated his release from Kiri Kiri Correctional Centre in Lagos State.
She went on to share positive words about Segun, describing him as "a good guy" and noting that many inmates at the correctional centre had expressed sadness at his departure. "The testimonies, even at the correctional centre, have been amazing. In fact, some of them were crying that he was leaving," Adebayo added.

The actress also expressed her gratitude to Governor Adeleke for intervening in the case and granting clemency to Segun.
Segun also thanked Nigerians, saying, "Thank you, everybody. Thank you so much. I really appreciate it."
The video also revealed his parents rejoicing that they are finally having a joyful festive season.
Segun's parents had recently, in an interview on the Talk to B show, described the chain of events that led to Segun's conviction, their only child, and the subsequent years of hardship.
Segun's mother, Folashade, during the interview, lamented how the incident had shattered their family and how they had not experienced a joyful festive season since their son’s arrest

from Punch

The sentence was to much please, they should arrest the Judge that sentenced him.....How can someone be sentenced to death for stealing a fawul? And then spend 17 years in jail? For what? Arrest the Judge please!!!.....shame!!!

45 comments:

1. I’m happy his parents survived it. Stealing chicken? God punish everybody that had a hand in it.

Fan Emmanuel

2. This gave me so much joy to watch. So many people in jail that shouldn’t even be there at all 😭

3. Na waooo Becos Of Fawul
    Nigeria is Something Else
    That Efulefu Jezebel Judge should be Sack and Sentence to death also..
    Wellcome Home Segun 🫂🫂
    May God Almighty Restore you in Many Ways...🙏🙏

1. I dey tell you my Chikalicious, good morning my twinny,hope your night was great this one I am under your comment this morning hehehe 😜 who type sef
      Chi if they catch that guy that stole pastor fawul eeh na 34 years imprisonment oo 🤣🤣🤣🤣

2. The person that stole pastor Fawul should better no show face oo.. make he no be say Nah Life Imprisonment as Naija be so.. Some Efulefu Judge are not Smiling o..
      Glorylicious what's wrong in Being Under My Comment?

4. Mammi Stella not only that he was a minor not even up to 18 😳 nawaooo, this our country sef or I will said that the family was unfortunate one, for stealing fawul? what of those that commit abirminable act and it will be swept under the carpet hmm ,deep sigh 😙

1. He should be used by parents in their neighbourhood as a proverb to illustrate the pains of walking on the narrow lines between of criminal behaviour and good behaviour. He was a "teen" terror in the neighbourhood.

That was how the moral guiding parenting proverbs of years going came about - "remember how Olowookere nearly ..." And an errant child strengthens his behaviour.

He should not be celebrated nor should the Judge be condemned.

2. Are my eyes decieving me? You don't sell Ankara anymore?

3. You no sell Ankara again,?

4. Na wa for una oooo! Is it wrong to diversify in career choice or life pursuit?!

6. 17years is a minor. He was supposed to be sent to correction facility. The sentence is too harsh. He stole chicken. That judge did not try o.

7. Nigeria Judiciary is a Joke...
    Chicken.
    May God Help us all.

8. Thank God for his release.
    The sentence was extremely as of wickedness, just for fowl.
    It's well

9. What a bittersweet story. This teenager who should have been sentenced to 100 hours of community service ended up losing 14 years of his life over a chicken that someone ate in 2010. There is real injustice in this world.

I am thankful his parents lived to see his return and he is free again. May God give him tenfold in blessings for all that he lost😢

10. Thank you Jesus for this!
    Congratulations to him and his family.
    God bless the Governor.

11. Injustice of the highest order.

I was so happy to see his parents faces lit with joy and happiness when he was released.

May your delayed greatness brings you blessings henceforth. God bless Actress Biola for using her platform for humanity.

12. Thank God for making the family to survive the ordeal. 🙏🏿

13. The judge should be ashamed of his/her self.

1. The judge should be sentenced for 20 years. Wicked people.

14. Thank God for his release. Amen 🙏 🙏 🙏 🙏

All of them needs to be punished honestly..

Shame to the wicked judge Thank God for his release. Amen 🙏 🙏 🙏 🙏

All of them needs to be punished honestly..

Shame to the wicked judge

15. Thank God for him 🙏

The judge should cover his or her face in shame, useless judge

16. Thank God 🙏
    I am so happy for him and his family.

17. Whoever sentenced him is very heartless! Is the chicken more than his life?

18. Thank You Jesus
    This one sweet me o
    I am so happy for him

19. Whoever did this to this boy is so heartless and wicked haaaa
    I am happy he is freeand his parents witness his freedom 🤸🤸🤸

20. Part One
    Stella, I trust you are getting much better.
    It does not matter if you post this or vex over it. However, as the Isokos say, the truth is befitting of being said or told. (Pardon I cannot write in Isoko)

Summary of my long comments in Part Two below:
    The evidence shows that the young man got what he deserved then. It is usual for criminals to be penitent under the weight of the gravity of their actions. If he is truly reformed, the sentence has served its purpose, and his release is justified. I have participated in the release of a penitent "Awaiting Trial Man" like this. He had stayed years in the prison because no evidence though the police knew him as one involved in terrorizing his neighbourhood as this young man was accused of and tried for. That man confessed to me after his release that he was involved, but had changed to being a Christian in prison. Leading a social media lynch mob against the Judge is baseless. Do you know the star witness in this case was a family member of the pardoned/released man? Until a person is a victim of a heartless criminal(s), he or she does not understand the rationale for some sentences on convicts after a full trial.

21. Part Two:
    First let me quote you: "The sentence was too much please, they should arrest the Judge that sentenced him.....How can someone be sentenced to death for stealing a fawul? And then spend 17 years in jail? For what? Arrest the Judge please!!!.....shame!!!"

And as mostly the case, you set the tune for the comments that followed. The reasons why are obvious - currying of favour, longtime friendship, etc.

But you guys seem focused only on some aspects of the case: “he is an only child”, “he was a teen”, and the vaunted "harshness" of the sentence in Nigeria context where politicians, government officials, bank officials/owners have been convicted for stealing billions of Nair, but got only prison sentences. It is good to judge the matter as you and some people have done or are doing

But Flip it and hear this:
    On 31/12/24, a young man going to church for cross-over service died in Jos, Nigeria. He was killed in the dark of night by two young persons (who could claim being teens if they had been caught) in the process of stealing his phone. If he had successfully resisted the thieves and they were caught in the act on the spot or so soon after, they may have been burnt to death by a lynch mob or they would have been sentenced to death after a trial like Olowookere was sentenced to death.

Then social media would have raised a herd following campaign on why the “young persons” should not be sentenced to death for stealing a "common phone". And the campaign would be more strident if it is found that the telephone sought to be stolen is a kpalasa torch light phone.

The Social media campaigners will forget that the law is very clear that any person caught or found involved in robbery involving arms – guns, knives, cutlass, etc. is liable to be sentenced to death. Those who go to steal with arms know the law that is why they generally use maximum force to succeed and to escape. But the non-victims who campaign from the comfort of their homes do not know the effect of a successful robbery until it happens to them.

But today, who is crying in the social media about the young man killed over his phone? Ordinary phone! Nobody knows if he is an only son. Nobody cares in Social Media if he is the bread provider for his family (parents, or wife, or child[ren]). Only his family carries the burden over the senseless killing of the young man.

Hear a story:
    A Lawyer was talking about justice for accused persons, bla, bla. He was confronted with the question whether he would have talked about fair hearing in court if the Robbers who raided his home when his wife was pregnant with his first child had been caught on the spot. He looked into the eyes of his questioner. He knew he was trapped. And he said he would have supported jungle justice. Why? His wife could not stay in that house anymore after that incident because she became very very hypertensive and fearful at every night sound. That baby in the womb then, has graduated from a US University. His hobby photographs were even chosen as excellent enough for the School calendar when he was in school.

A question:
    Is rape justified because the woman raped is a CSW (after all she hawks Sx already, right?). The Law is that rape of a CSW is not justified. And raping a CSW guarantees a man the due sentence Some women will even say he should be hanged by his balls, right?

22. How can dey jail someone for stealing a chicken? We have armed robbers, people who use human beings for rituals, people who steal public funds, people who refuse to pay pensioners which leads to early death of many of the pensioners , people who rig election etc, all of them do these things and get away with it but someone who stole chicken is sentenced? Ah! What a world. And the people who took him to court didn't consider to pardon him all these years? I am sure their own lives has been miserable for what they have done to this boy but they will be running from one miracle center to another looking for solution all to no avail?

23. Lagos Mainland Girl2 January 2025 at 11:29

Glad his parents are still alive to see him.

Wasted years

All the old men ,adults in government stealing government money and enriching themselves what have they done to them?

24. I am happy his parents are alive to witness his release.
    Small world, never knew the boy is from my place. Thank you once more my governor for your intervention.

25. This boy needs to be compensated for this harsh judgment. He has wasted a whole 14years in jail over a chicken of 3,500, I can remember vividly chicken was sold 3500 as at that time, the judge should either compensate him with huge amount of money or he/she spend 15yrs in jail.

26. What a wicked judge. They should fish out the judge and derobe him or her

27. Our Judicial system ? Hmmmmm
    Thank God for his life

28. Unfortunately, the law is an ass. If he stole the chicken with a weapon eg knife, cutlass etc, then it’s no longer stealing but armed robbery. That’s what I read happened. Being in possession of a weapon is what distinguishes stealing from armed robbery even if he didn’t use the weapon.

29. What a harsh and extreme judgement.
    The judge is wicked and should also be sentenced for this.
    They just wasted this young man"s 14yrs. Thank God his parents are alive to witness his release.

30. That's misused of power by the Judge

31. I think his parents should just be grateful to God for preserving his life. Who knows what would have become of him if, he hadn't been sent to jail...

32. Lord have mercy! Chicken faa?! Kai....*sigh*

33. I'm yet to why a Judge will sentence a petty thief to death. There are various punishments for crimes, I wish he can be compensated. FG should do more. There may be innocent people in prisons because they can't afford legal fees. God bless Governor Adeleke, I pray the young man undergoes rehabilitation, so he can still be useful to the society.

34. I have heard stories of wealthy people killing people or molesting children but because they have money the cases are closed.
    In as much as stealing is a crime, there are milder punitive measures that would have been taken.
    May God help us.
    I really thank God he is out, the governor did well.

35. I still can't believe this 😮 Thank God for him, what a insane part of the world we live in....Big Shame on the judge & others who presided over the case!