Former governor Oshiomole asked “You spent N1.1billion on meals and refreshments. Are you being freely fed by the government? What this means is that you are spending the money you generate from poor students, many of them orphans.
“You also spent N850 million on security, cleaning and fumigation in 2024. What did you fumigate? Is it mosquitoes that took all this money?”The National Assembly Joint Committee on Finance on Monday queried the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) over “excessive spendings” on meals, refreshments, mosquito killings and others in 2024.
The committee also threatened to cut off the federal government’s allocation to the board in the 2025 budget.This was after JAMB Registrar, Prof Ishaq Oloyede, presented the board’s 2025 budget proposal to the Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Representatives.
Oloyede said JAMB had remitted N4 billion to the Consolidated Revenue Fund in 2024 but received a grant of N6 billion from the federal government.
But Senator Adams Oshiomhole (APC, Edo North) queried JAMB over its spendings and asked the registrar to justify N850 million spent on security, cleaning and fumigation last year.
He said, “You spent N1.1billion on meals and refreshments. Are you being freely fed by the government? What this means is that you are spending the money you generate from poor students, many of them orphans.
“You also spent N850 million on security, cleaning and fumigation in 2024. What did you fumigate? Is it mosquitoes that took all this money?”
Oshiomhole further criticised JAMB for spending N600 million on local travels.
Similarly, Chairman of the House Committee on Finance, Abiodun Faleke, wondered why JAMB, a revenue-generating and self-sustaining agency, should rely on federal allocations.
The lawmaker said, “You remitted N4bn and got N6 billion from the federal government. Why not keep the N4 billion and we stop the government from funding JAMB?
From Dailytrust
But Senator Adams Oshiomhole (APC, Edo North) queried JAMB over its spendings and asked the registrar to justify N850 million spent on security, cleaning and fumigation last year.
He said, “You spent N1.1billion on meals and refreshments. Are you being freely fed by the government? What this means is that you are spending the money you generate from poor students, many of them orphans.
“You also spent N850 million on security, cleaning and fumigation in 2024. What did you fumigate? Is it mosquitoes that took all this money?”
Oshiomhole further criticised JAMB for spending N600 million on local travels.
Similarly, Chairman of the House Committee on Finance, Abiodun Faleke, wondered why JAMB, a revenue-generating and self-sustaining agency, should rely on federal allocations.
The lawmaker said, “You remitted N4bn and got N6 billion from the federal government. Why not keep the N4 billion and we stop the government from funding JAMB?
From Dailytrust
This is horrible!!!...See how they are looting.....
See the money these thieves stole. Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteCooperate thieves!!!
ReplyDeleteThey need to fumigate na, abi u want another python to steal their money again?
ReplyDeleteWicked organisation. Still don't know their essence πππ
ReplyDeleteHmm Nigeria
ReplyDeleteAs in N1.85 billion on otapiapia or whatπ? I don't understand
ReplyDeletewicked people everywhere
ReplyDeletestealing money from the country on daily basis
Liars
ReplyDeleteSadly, they are spending money generated from people's sweat.
ReplyDeleteAfter now, the news would be swept under the carpet. Nothing will happen.
Anon 11:45, you remover too π€£π€£ It's not up to 7 yrs we lost ₦36m to snake in Jamb office. Naija, I hail thee π
ReplyDeleteLet's break it down so we can better appreciate how much lower the figure is when you do.
ReplyDelete850,000,000 divided by 36states = 22,972,972.97
22,972,972.97 divided by 12months = 1,914,414.41
This means that the monthly allocation for each state, including the F.C.T., is one million, nine hundred and fourteen thousand, four hundred and fourteen naira forty-one kobo for cleaning, fumigating, and security.
As you can see, it's not much especially when it’s a cleaning agency that handles the cleaning, fumigation has to be a licensed company, yes, some companies obtain licenses for this kind of job and they are issued in the Ministry of Environment or Ministry of Health. If your state doesn’t do it then the commissioners don’t know what they are doing. plus they have to be registered in the federal ministries too.
So, you see…sometimes you broaden your horizon
PS.
I'm not their spokesman but I know that the amount is plausible.
For the feeding and flights, they have to break it down themselves. I do the one way i sabi because na my field be that
Kai! This is too much!
ReplyDeleteNa wa oo
ReplyDeleteIt's well