The spokesperson for the command, Omolola Odutola, on Saturday, revealed that Waris was arrested on January 2, 2024, in the Odeda Area of the state, along with his accomplice, Ajayi Yusuf.
The suspects had allegedly invaded a farm in the area to steal the goat, after the farm owner, simply known as Mark, had taken the cattle for grazing on December 25.
Odutola stated that after discovering one of the goats was missing upon his return, a search was conducted in the community.
During the search, the police said some villagers confirmed seeing the two suspects with the missing goat on a motorcycle, heading toward Olodo town
The command noted that while acting on the tip-off, detectives were immediately dispatched, leading to the arrest of the suspects in the early hours of January 2, 2025.
Odutola stated, “During interrogation, the suspects confessed to the crime, explaining how they stole, transported, and later slaughtered the he-goat on December 27, 2024.
They disclosed that the goat was used to prepare food for the naming ceremony of Akintoye Warris’s daughter, which held at Olodo.
“The suspects are currently in custody and undergoing further investigation at the Divisional Crime Branch.”
She assured the concerned residents that the suspects would be prosecuted in court once the investigation is concluded and added that any further developments in the case would be communicated in due course.
from punch
Must he kill goat for his daughter's naming ceremony..that is why it's good to be contented with what you have ..he should face his punishment in peace..
ReplyDeleteSee desperation just to please people ๐ฅบ. What happened to naming your baby in your apartment without inviting anyone ๐คท๐ฟ♀️
ReplyDeleteGreed is a terrible thing
ReplyDeleteHe wants what he can't afford so he steal,what happened to hard work?Smh
Hmmm, 200k for one goat. This was the cost of 1 cow just a few years back.
ReplyDeleteI pray things get better.
Maybe he even stole the daughter sef
ReplyDelete๐๐๐ as stealing dey him body.
DeleteAahhhh ๐คฃ๐คฃ๐คฃ iya Boys
ReplyDeleteNa waooo who's he trying to impress by Stealing..
Good he was Caught..
See the embarrassment he has brought upon his family. Must you kill goat for your daughter's naming ceremony. What happened to celebrating according to your pocket.
ReplyDeleteReminds me of that BV that was always in the comment section lamenting his daughter's birthday is approaching and he doesn't have money to make the necessary arrangements.
That was Bv Straight guy. It was his son's birthday
DeleteHe should be sentenced to life imprisonment.
ReplyDeleteHmmm,Mr man pray they didn't come for you beacause this one na life imprisonment oo, you will not even leave to see that your daughter and her name again, you no remember fawul own and fear eeh๐ณ๐ณ
ReplyDeleteMust he slaughter a goat ah ah!
ReplyDeleteTor they should sentence him life in prison with hard labour.
Maybe na im wife mount pressure for im head
ReplyDeleteWe have been shouting since that the economy is harsh, do family planning if you are married and not doing well financially, use protection if you are single and cannot cater for a child. See how he disgraced his lineage because of naming ceremony. If he hadn't been caught, he would have stolen money to buy diapers and pay school fees in future too.
ReplyDeleteIt is so wrong. Farmers lose so much from looters, they forget that the farmer has a family to feed and bills to pay just like them. These are the ppl if anyone touches a penny for them or take anything of theirs the entire world will know. As someone whose ancestors were small farmers, I totally detest these actions. Leave farmers alone. If we should check, this man likely has access to land that he could use to go into farming too. All it takes is one hen and a rooster to get a coop of chickens together and regular eggs. A vegetable patch to have tomatoes in no time, okra doesn’t even need special attention, pumpkins the same, just throw the seeds and they will grow. Folks act like farming for household support is some hard labour process. You can farm in paint pans on your verandah and have veggies and herbs just like that. Most of the mango trees grew from ppl just throwing the seeds. Anybody who has access to land and lamenting about cost of food needs someone to throw a jackfruit in their face. Mtsscchhwww
DeleteNa by force to do naming ceremony, can't you share cabin biscuits and pure water early in the morning by 7am? I pray the child self should not be stealing, because Yoruba believe that any child they steal something for his or her naming ceremony will be stealing when they grow up.
ReplyDeleteSee embarrassment
ReplyDeleteNa the child I pity
So who is going to bail him now that they have all eaten the goat? No man should ever do beyond his capacity and no woman should encourage a man to do more than he is capable. A humble naming ceremony is better than offering stolen food to innocent ppl for consumption and in the name of your innocent child. This sets up a terrible energy for the child to come into. Folks need to think before they act. Now this energy of criminality is surrounding what was to be a sacred event.
ReplyDeleteLet us learn contentment no matter how painful. If he had just been content he would be free at home with his loved ones. His child would have her father with her, his wife would have her husband at home. Now he is in a jail cell and his actions will set the family back financially. Not to mention the damage to his reputation and the household.