Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Colombian President Petro Reacts After Trump Announced Sanctions After Deportation Flights Were Denied Entry

Monday, January 27, 2025

Colombian President Petro Reacts After Trump Announced Sanctions After Deportation Flights Were Denied Entry

Columbian President Petro has reacted after US President Donald Trump said on Sunday that he would impose sweeping retaliatory measures against Colombia, including tariffs and visa sanctions, after it denied entry to two U.S. military deportation flights.

Petro responded by saying that Trump's actions "do not scare me," adding that Colombia is “not anyone’s colony.” He directed Colombia's foreign trade minister to raise tariffs on imports from the U.S. by 25% and to direct exports to "the whole world other than the U.S."

He added that U.S. goods whose price would rise in the national economy must be replaced by nationally produced goods, something which the government would purportedly help accomplish.

According to the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, the total estimated value of goods and services trade between the United States and Colombia in 2022 was $53.5 billion, with the value of exports slightly exceeding the value of imports.

According to the Bureau of Industry and Security, the top U.S. imports from Colombia in recent years were oils and minerals, lime and cement, totaling over 40% of imports, and agricultural goods, which added up to over 26% of imports.

from NBC.com

6 comments:

1. Wahala continues ... Chimooo 🧐

2. I think the situation has been resolved

Petro has offered his presidential plane to facilitate the repatriation of deportees from the US

1. Better ooo if it's has been Resolved ooo..

1. That’s the main reason I don’t like him. He lacks emotional intelligence.