Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CBN Fines 9 Banks N150m Each For Not Putting Cash In Their ATMs

Wednesday, January 15, 2025

CBN Fines 9 Banks N150m Each For Not Putting Cash In Their ATMs

E don happen!!
The Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, has issued fines to at least nine Deposit Money Banks for failing to ensure cash availability via automated teller machines, ATMs, during the festive season.
The fines total N1.35bn, with each of the banks fined N150m.

The banks were found culpable after spot checks revealed non-compliance with the Central Bank’s cash distribution guidelines.

A statement released by CBN acting Director of Corporate Communications, Mrs Hakama Sidi Ali, on Tuesday, read: “In a clear message of zero tolerance for cash flow disruptions, the Central Bank of Nigeria has sanctioned Deposit Money Banks for failing to make naira notes available through automated teller machines during the yuletide season.

“Each bank was fined N150m for non-compliance, in line with the CBN’s cash distribution guidelines, following spot checks on their branches. The enforcement action follows repeated warnings from the CBN to financial institutions to guarantee seamless cash availability, particularly during periods of high demand.

“The affected banks include Fidelity Bank Plc, First Bank Plc, Keystone Bank Plc, Union Bank Plc, Globus Bank Plc, Providus Bank Plc, Zenith Bank Plc, United Bank for Africa Plc, and Sterling Bank Plc.”

The fine will be debited directly from the banks’ accounts with CBN.
from dailypost

27 comments:

1. Abeg mk Una no debit our money join ooπŸ™„πŸ™„

1. LMAO 🀣🀣
      Ya Money is Safe 🀸🀸

2. Good. Some of these POS operators are thieves.

1. POS operators can withdraw as they want but other customers can only withdraw 20k per day. Nonsense.

3. nice one, they are busy selling cash to POS people.

4. Oh , the orange bank escaped the list. Congrats πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

1. Am So Happy for Orange bankπŸ’ƒ

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ plus access

3. Orange bank dey try Sha for my area.
      You are allowed to withdraw 5k to 20k a day

5. That's what banks are doing now
    They hoard cash and sell it POS operators

Pearl

6. Good, they should continue checking them. All the banks in my side don’t load money in their machine.

7. I hope they won't be paying with our money.

8. Very good.

They want us to be buying our own money from their POS businesses/operators πŸ™„

9. Oh,So Orange bank didn't make the lists

10. The 🐘 bank is on the list,Yay!

11. I’m not surprised access bank didn’t make the list. I was always able to withdraw maximum of 40k from the ikorodu branch. I was really impressed because I honestly wasn’t expecting to be able to. Never used POS once

12. The issue with the Nigerian system is the system itself. There are around three banks near me, however their ATMs do not always have cash available. The previous time I went to an ATM, I could only withdraw a maximum of N1,000 because I was using another bank's ATM.

13. Very Wicked Institution’s

Thank God UBA is on the Chopping Board.

FCMB should be added to the List