Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Says He Left Nigria With His Friend To Sell Jollof Rice In The UK::

Tuesday, December 10, 2024

Nigerian Man Says He Left Nigria With His Friend To Sell Jollof Rice In The UK::

Azeez Olayide, a Nigerian food vendor, has told the story of how he and his business partner left their jobs to start selling jollof rice in the United Kingdom.

He said the business name, ‘2 Nigerian Boys’ began in February 2019 at London Financial District, Spitalfield market.
According to the businessman, the adventure started when he and his friend wanted to satisfy their appetite with ‘smoky’ jollof rice but did not get it.
“The story was just about two Nigerian friends who loved Nigerian foods so much,” Olayide said. “One of them just said, ‘Let’s go to the city and bring jollof rice.’”

The two men were dumbfounded on the first day they started the business as they sold all that they had in 30 minutes, giving them the confidence that the business would thrive.
“Both of us were amazed and looked at each other in the face and said, ‘We need to quit our jobs and start selling Nigerian foods.’”
He stressed that the success of the business was based on its acceptance by the customers who loved the food.
“Ninety per cent of our customers are non-Africans, while the remaining 10 per cent are Nigerians. They love the beef when they eat it,” Olayide said.
“It is a lunchtime business. We open business between 12pm and 2pm. It gets crazy here with lunchtime.”

Another peculiarity of the business is that the food is cooked on-site to announce itself to passers-by and people.
Meanwhile, he disclosed that a branch of the business has been opened in Briston after feedback from customers in London.

Olayide, however, declined to reveal his business partner, whom he called ‘a magician’ and was the brain behind the cooking of the jollof rice.
“You can’t see the person performing the magic. The second Nigerian boy is a magician who makes the Nigerian Boys come together for a business,” he added

Olayide disclosed this during a recent interview on the programme My Tasty Naija.
From Facebook

36 comments:

1. God bless them. May they not betray each other.

It's not easy to see an honest person to do business with because of how greedy people can be.

2. Brother any way na way ooo.

DOZZYBEST.

3. Nigeria Jolloff Rice in UK Wowwww
    This is really Niceeeeeee 👍👍

4. Food business can never go out of fashion. Way to go 👍

5. Wao, oyibo people love Nigerian jollof nice one.

6. Nothing like sweet and tasty 😋 jollof rice 🍚..

7. Sometimes, it is good to think outside the box.

8. Nigeria jollof to the world, I love Nigerians and our creativity.

9. Nigeria jollof rice any day any time

10. Talk about direction. this is very important before you start any business.

11. It's not always a business suit that will lead to your success.

12. Nigeria jollof rice is bae any day anytime. I can never get enough of it.

13. Testing the market before venturing into something is key.

Kudos to them.

14. God bless your hustle. Nigerian foods are delicious,spicy and tasty 🙌😋

15. Loveettt! I wish them more groundbreaking success.
    Jollof rice as a meal should be high up there with other continental cuisines.

16. London were be like Nigeria. In Canada it can never happen

1. They didn’t just open a shop and start selling. They must have attended some kind of food prep and hygiene training and also they would be regulated. It is a process that they weren’t prepared to share.

All people see is the success stories and they forget that there is always a laborious road to prosperity.

17. You cant beat the food business, especially Nigerian food in the West!

18. Nigerian food is very tasty.it is going viral now.especially fufu and egusi soup

19. That smoky Nigerian jollof, good one guys 👍👍

20. Nice one,may God help and establish you more you that's all my prayer for you 😘