Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Memorylane Grinding Stone..

Monday, December 02, 2024

Memorylane Grinding Stone..

My mum used to have this and I hated it so much cos afterwards all my hands would be peppery.....

44 comments:

1. This legendary grinding stone.. any things that they use this stone to grind always comes out very delicious and natural.. but the stress nobe here sha..

1. So I heard. I have not used it before.

2. Just thank your God. When you finish using it, your hands will be peppering you for hours or even days😞.

Then, Christmas stew, we would use it to grind all the tomatoes and pepper. Infact, my mum still uses it.

3. I've been trying to make my grandma's beef stew for years now but the taste no be the same. We were using grinding stone for the peppers and the black shining clay pot on firewood. How the taste wan take be the same? God, I missed that stew. Looked for the pot but couldn't find it, maybe I'll get it one day.

2. My grandma used to have it also
    I was a pro in using this grinding stone

1. To cut pieces of pepper for eggs gan, I use fork and knife cos of my hands( e go dey pepper me). My hand didn't get used to it at all(though my grandma used it more)

3. I hated it too..cos I started grinding anything and everything when my guardian got it.

4. It’s like I was a bad daughter sha cos u can’t send me to use this thing to grind pepper or tomatoes and I will agree. Even mortal and pestle was with serious drama!

5. Just prepare sauce with the pepper and tomatoes from here and you are hooked for life

6. I hated this stone and still do. Very stressful to use. My hands will just keeping peppering me for hours after grinding pepper on it.
    Heard when you make pepper sauce/stew from such pepper mixture, it's usually tastier. Dunno how true that is.

1. No be lie o! The taste is outta this world 😁

7. Grounding Stone that's has been saving lives since immemorial.

8. I still use this despite the fact that I have blender. If I want to make this yummy Palmoil stew garnished with locust beans and dry fish that goes well with rice and beans cooked together😋

9. We use to have it while growing up but I never had it in my own kitchen.
    My neighbor downstairs has it. One day I poured egusi inside blender to grind and NEPA took light. As we no get generator and I didn't want to use #300 to grind two cups of egusi in mama Titilayo's place, I went downstairs and used my neighbour's grinding stone. The soup was very yummy but I can't be using this stone nau. We have left the Stone age abeg.

10. I no fit ooo
    I prefer Mortal to this Biko

11. I don't like it at all, it's too stressful abeg. Thank God for blender, both electrical and manual.

12. Have never used it before but I have seen it when I went to visit my friend. Their neighbour was using it.
    I find that stressful though.

13. I don't know how to use it and never learnt because my hands are fragile to pepper.

14. Is not in our side sef so I don't even know how to use it, instead we use morta(odo)

15. My mum had it but I hate grinding pepper on it, I don't like the wahala jare. But to be sincere , the taste of sauce made from it is dope. 🤭Thank God for technology and the invention of blender.

16. Legendary grinding stone. We used it very well while growing up. For pepper ooh, tomatoes, melon, leaves and beans etc just think of anything grindable. The funny thing is that I've a brand new one lying fallow in my kitchen 🤣🤣🤣🤣

17. I don't know how to use it...but my younger sister is a pro

18. We had it growing up,never got the hang of it.Now in my town,they still make use of it very well.They would have blenders and still insist on using this for some certain blends.They say the taste is different,and yes it's deliciously different.

19. I hate using this till today...me & my mama don fight tire because she calls me to grind for her friends back then 🤣🤣

20. I hated this grinding stone till date 😑😑 my late Dad doesn’t eat stew that is blended by blender, it has to be this stone ‼️ Kai
    My hand see shege banza those days, even moi-moi and akara was through this stone

21. We still use this grinding stone 😁

22. My mum and MIL has it
    My mum use it to blend pepper for efo riro or Egusi
    The taste is different and tastier

23. My mother inlaw have it, but I don't know how to use it.

24. Ahh we have the standing one in my house and it is still functioning, i hated using it then because my hands always ache me.

25. Hahhahhaha
    This grinding stone, chaiii
    You go grind sotey back pain go wan wunjure you
    One was stationed in our compound then for use by everyone. Technology Thank you 🙏🏻

26. I admire those our Neighbour's that used it back then but the stress no be here...

I don't know how to use it.

27. Mortar guys not mortal 😁

28. I think this our Nigerian one is more tedious compared to how other countries do theirs. In other Asian countries, they also use it,but its a different design, like mortar and pestle. The Indians or South Asians have it like big mortar and pestle, instead of lifting to pound, which is impossible due to weight, they just drag it round in circles and scoop out the food once ground to desired consistency. while the Chinese have theirs with a pulley system. Like a stone machine made with hole created, where they pour say beans, add water and start dragging the pulley which releases the ground product from the sides for you to scoop or it pour into bowl.

It is the minerals in the the stone that gives food the delicious flavours everyone talks about after using the stone. Just as people are using granite stones to cook and grill foods

29. We still have it,so stressful
    Hopefully will get a blender for my mom soon.

30. I still have it in my kitchen, prefer to use it when I want to make pepper sauce, it comes out tastier than when l use blender

1. There's always a difference when you use the grinding stone.it brings out the taste in stew

31. Lagos Mainland Girl2 December 2024 at 17:13

We were told food grinded this way is usually delicious. Don't know how true this is because people now blend peppers with a Blender and its delicious

32. I have it in my house and still use it sometimes when I crave for it

33. This grinding stone na our punishment for house that year
    My stepmum do me shege with this stone 🤣🤣🤣

34. I still have my mums own.
    I gave it to my wife as a gift.....she laughed eh...we dont use it but sometimes when i go to the village i usually bring back palm kernel and i have taught our little boy how to use it to crack the palm kernel🤣

35. Is sitting pretty well in our kitchen, and guess what... I used it this morning to grind pepper, ginger and garlic for my spaghetti jollof