Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Reportedly Allegedly Cancels Wedding After Discovery That Bride To Be Is An 'Osu'

Friday, December 13, 2024

Man Reportedly Allegedly Cancels Wedding After Discovery That Bride To Be Is An 'Osu'

An Osu in Nigeria refers to a clan that is an outcast and referred to as slaves and sacrifices for the gods ...It is mainly in the Eastern part of Nigeria that you find someone being tagged as an Osu and what this tagging means is that no one will agree to marry anyone tagged Osu and if they engage or marry you and find out, they end it quickly if there are no kids....The male Osu's are always very rich while the female Osu's always have good luck with men and finances...

39 comments:

1. I thought this segregation has been eradicated for long.

2. Them no do Findings before
    I think say Osu dey marry Osu o..
    What do I know kwanu..

3. Why didn't he find out since? Why didn't his family go for 'iju ese' before planning commenced?

Abeg!

4. Our Eastern will never stop this nonsense thing...

5. Our Eastern will never stop this nonsense thing...

1. They still do it codedly even though it has been prohibited to refer to some people as osu.

6. This is still happening in 2024🥺
    So sad

7. Nawaoooooo

Why are they still segregating the Osu's up till now?

I was thinking this practices has been abolished in the entire Igbo Land.

Osu's from my understanding are those whom their community has banished out of their land for evil practices.

DOZZYBEST.

8. Same energy used to fight for Dele Farotimi should be used to fight this supposed injustice and inhumane treatment of others

9. We're no longer under any curse of the law. We're saved by Grace.
    Why segregate because of the tradition of men... SMH

10. Hmm... In this current dispensation? Nawa oo

11. 2025 is almost here and things like dis is still going on, nawa oo SMH

12. At this age and time, people are still talking about OSU. All these backward beliefs. Didn't he know she was OSU before proposing, or did they not do an introduction before fixing the wedding date?

It's sad that such beliefs persist in an era where equality and individuality should trump discriminatory traditions.

13. This practice is still happening in Igbo Land.

14. Still very much in practice in the East.

The lady should focus on marrying from other tribe.

Igbo men take this Osu thing more serious than Biafra war itself.

It is well with her!

15. When will this end? Even amongst ourselves, there's still segregation? Na wa!

16. So some people are still doing and believing in this Osu nonsense? In this time and age? Nawa o

17. In this age, the osu caste system still exists? Nne pls wipe your tears &:focus on other tribes 🤗

18. it's sad
    My cousin too is suppose to be getting married this month, but my uncle found out last month he's osu, that is how marriage plans ended

My people take this thing so serious, l wonder if it will end anytime soon.
    It's well

19. I thought this has been abolished long ago?

1. It hasn't oo Mary they still practice it in our side ooo

20. But they said that they abolish this OSU something.😳

21. I thought they have abolish this system....it is well!

22. Osu caste system has been abolished by law , even in village in Delta, it is still practice. In Romans, we are born free, whether slaves, Jews or Gentiles. This is barbaric, they need to Sue them

23. What is all these mentality in this present age and time? Good riddance na him loose, your own man will locate you.

24. Please guys, i am from another part of the country, pls m curious, what will happen if the marriage goes on?

25. So sad, may her real man locate her

26. Human being like yourselves this is racism within your own tribe ?

27. In my village they call it "slave " it ultimately prevented my big sister from getting married to her childhood sweet heart. while my parents were fine with the guy, they were afraid of being excommunicated ,so they call off the wedding. It's too bad.