Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rapper Phyno Shares How He Feels About Putting Old Parents In Retirement Homes

Sunday, November 17, 2024

Rapper Phyno Shares How He Feels About Putting Old Parents In Retirement Homes

Rapper Phyno has given his view on putting elderly parents in retirement homes ..

During a recent episode of 'In My Opinion' podcast, he was quoted saying
"We don't put our Dads in retirement homes in Africa so I know where am coming from and I know how we treat our Dads, even if am here(in the UK), we would find a way.
I understand that as the western world, I don't know a lot about the tradition here and for me to speak on it, when you put your Dads in the facilities in the western world, you pay,in Africa, you rather put them in charge of some people and pay them to look after your Dads than to put them in a facility for him to be with other old people, it doesn't work that way".

12 comments:

1. it doesn't work like that my brother, you be typical Igbo man guy ,but na the same payment you go still do for that age people home anyways follow your mind jaree

2. I feel the same way too,some parents did so well for themselves,wt good houses,why should they be dropped in some facility,tank for my country shia

3. I would live to run a retirement home someday. It gives me joy looking after old folks.

4. This was my thought process too before I came to live in the US. But let me tell you
    1. Not many Americans can even afford those elderly care homes. Some are going for $10,000 a month, and worse if you have no insurance
    2. America has a very high life expectancy, with many living well beyond 90. My 78 year old professor had his parents alive. For where their children are aging too and can no longer care for the parents adequately, those homes become beneficial
    3. Unfortunately they don't have a great househelp and poor relatives helping- culture as Nigerians do, so they pay through the teeth for caregivers
    4. Most of those homes are managed by nurses and home health agencies. So their elderly receive good quality health althcare making them live longer
    5. The work ethic and economy is different. In Nigeria we all have a village. A place where you can run to and live rent free and tax free of the worst happens. Americans do not have village homes so if you joke with your job and get laid off, and miss your rent/mortgage, you'll become homeless. It is harsh in that manner. Most young people can't afford to miss work to care for their parents. And funny enough work is taken so seriously whether you are a bus driver or a CEO
    6. So many reasons made me empathize with them and their way of life. Cultures are just different, not bad

5. It's a new norm and very good initiative.

6. I don't like that idea too.
    How can you put your loved ones away. It doesn't make sense to me.😎😎

7. If they have that type of dementia that makes them violent or they keep running off then a good home may work. Outside of that I prefer seniors to age in their homes and if they need help they can get a live in help.

8. Sadly, with this japa syndrome, this is going to be the fate of most elderly people in a few years to come. I’ve actually started looking into the good ones around because all my children are abroad building their lives, I don’t keep friends ( even if, they too will be old by then) and some of these men would rather spend their time sleeping with the live-in carer( if the children decide to get one for their mum).
    I don’t want any carer strangulating me because of a dogband abeg.
    I wish more health care workers can open such homes so as to allay the fear of some of us.

1. Wow, never thought of how japa will affect Nigerians tomorrow. But regardless our poverty rate is still so high that elderly care will remain relatively affordable. If you ever go for home care option in your old age get cameras to avoid that strangulation.

9. That's what's up, we don't put our old parents in home for the elderly.

However, I think the essence of the home for the elderly is companionship against getting them a caretaker at home so it's not exactly a bad idea.

10. I dnt Like the ideal ooo
    May God gives us the strength to be able and capable to take care of our age ones ooo..🙏

11. He's wise. That's the way I feel too