Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Babatunde Ayeni Jailed 10 Years In The US For Large Scale Fraud

Saturday, November 16, 2024

Nigerian Man Babatunde Ayeni Jailed 10 Years In The US For Large Scale Fraud

A 33-year-old Nigerian man, Babatunde Francis Ayeni, was recently sentenced to 10 years in a U.S. federal prison after pleading guilty to his role in a large-scale cyber fraud scheme. 

This scheme, which defrauded over 400 victims across the United States, primarily targeted real estate transactions through a business email compromise (BEC) approach. By sending phishing emails with malicious links, Ayeni and his accomplices gained access to the email accounts of real estate professionals. They then manipulated these compromised accounts to redirect large financial transactions into their own accounts, resulting in nearly $20 million in losses.

Many victims of this scam, including homebuyers, were unable to recover their funds in time, leading to severe financial and emotional harm. The FBI and U.S. prosecutors emphasized the impact of cyber-enabled crimes and reiterated their commitment to pursuing such cases aggressively. Ayeni's co-conspirators, based in Nigeria and the UAE, remain at large, and U.S. authorities are continuing efforts to arrest and extradite them.

20 comments:

1. That is one unrepentant face. He really doesn't give af and will probably just do it better when he gets out.

1. Exactly, this man is too heartless, it is hard for him to change, except for God's intervention.
      See how this man is bringing shame to his family😞

LICIOUS BABE

2. They said it is because of poverty and unemployment, that’s why they do yahoo and fraud here, they still travel to ‘where the system works’ and carry their smelly fraudulent attitude there. In all it means one thing, it is not poverty that pushes people to crime, it is character.

1. 💯💯💯 Hear! Hear!! Hear!!!.

Anon, you've written. May God help us all.

2. You're 💯 correct anon
      It's not poverty that pushes people to crime, it's greed.

3. Wicked man 😠😠😠

1. Wicked with no conscience at all. Causing financial & emotional harm to people 🥺🥺

4. Wicked people living above their means, enjoy your time bro Ayenko.

5. Last year, I was tricked out of $8,000 by a Nigerian guy. He pretended to be female. I kept sending him money because I was in love, unaware that I was doing it to a man. When I realized the truth, I sobbed so hard. No more hunting for love from an African country

1. @Anon...12:47, so sorry to hear this, quite heartbreaking...some of them, African men are not like that, but most of them are, just be extra cautious next time!

6. Good for him, he should go and cool off in the prison. Wicked somebody.

7. Good for him since they won't get the hell up and hustle legitimately, lazy modafuckers..

8. Awon eeyan hush puppy, that ten years is too small, wicked human being.

9. You should see them here, living in a Million Dollar homes and spending money like nothing.
    You go de wonder if na the same country una de. You nor know say na thief dem de thief. Even all my double shifts cannot buy me a million Dollar home. I have no pity for him and his cohorts. Bunch of thieves. Young girls, be careful who you date oh. Do not follow love of money and bring shame to yourself because this one girlfriend or wife now go deny say dem know am. Them chop the money and will nor claim they did not know. It is very easy to know when someone is living above their means.

10. Fraudsters are so heartless they can even defraud their own immediate family members!