Tuesday, November 05, 2024

EX Delta State Gov Okowa Arrested For Alleged Fraudulent Diversion Of N1.3 Trillion

Operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) on Monday November 4, 2024 arrested former Governor of Delta State, Ifeanyi Okowa, for alleged diversion of N1.3 trillion 13% derivation fund from the federation account between 2015 and 2023.

Okowa was arrested on Monday, November 4, 2024, in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, when he reported at the Port Harcourt Directorate of the EFCC on the invitation of investigators handling his matter.
The former governor was alleged to have failed to render accounts of the funds as well as another N40 billion he allegedly claimed he used to acquire shares in UTM Floating Liquefied Natural Gas.

Specifically, Okowa allegedly bought shares worth N40 billion in one of the major banks in the country representing 8% equity to float the offshore LNG. The funds were alleged to be used for other purposes.
Investigators are also investigating the diversion of funds by the former governor to acquire estates in Abuja and Asaba in Delta state.
He is being held at the EFCC holding facility in Port Harcourt.

From Channels TV

31 comments:

1. As usual to most of them after their tenure ๐Ÿ˜™but las las ...

2. Lagos Mainland Girl5 November 2024 at 08:44

See how they spend our money on themselves. It's not as if you are not collecting your salaries, you get salaries yet you still steal from the poor masses you sworn to protect.
    Greediness and selfishness at its peak
    Nigeria has no business been poor but when you have leaders like this, who have no value or integrity then they steal. Leaders with poverty mindset.

3. Omg,this is too much naa.๐Ÿ˜Œ๐Ÿคจ๐Ÿคจ

4. He will still go off the hook, no be Nigeria again??

1. My brother I tire oo na im be the thing nah Nigeria my country mtcheew

5. Whooping #1.3 trillion not even billion. It is finished ๐Ÿฅน๐Ÿ˜ฑ

6. Been a while I heard his name sha. Awaiting the outcome ๐Ÿ˜™

7. Rulers without soul!

8. Aaaahhhh
    1.3trillion what ๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿ™†
    Aahhhhhhhhhhhh
    Na waooooo
    It is Finished ooooo

9. Only in a country like Nigeria.

10. So much money

No conscience at all
    Wicked soul only you and your family

11. The amount of money all these governors from Niger Delta are wasting should be a topic among the south south people. They waste their common wealth on frivolity. That is how Amaechi wasted billions on Buhari, The same goes with ibori, okowa also waste a lot of money on Atiku. And they have loads of young people who needs help and investment . It is so sad what is happening in our country, getting into power to plunder our wealth and make un born generations to suffer needlessly..

1. Most South South leaders are very stupid people! They want to stifle the intelligent youths in the region! You are very correct ๐Ÿ‘Œ with your analysis.
      Most intelligent youths in that region; whose families can't afford means for them to relocate; are languishing doing keke driver jobs! You will see masters and PhD holders doing keke transport! Whilst thugs are in position! It is all going to change! We are praying and God will remove all of them! And restore the region!!!

12. 1.3 trillion???? Not even billion, honestly these politicians are heartless!

13. Kai,! This is too much
    Na wa oo

14. This is huge ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜ฒ
    Our politicians are heartless
    God!!!!

15. The same okowa I went to meet, when I was doing mortgage products investment for low housing scheme, then he was commissioner for housing in Delta State! he never responded! Whilst Edo and other states ran with the scheme! This man is full of ๐Ÿ˜ˆ! Just imagine, all the local government areas having estates; is just providing land o! So he likes estate and housing! Oniranu!!!
    Monies, that, they will die and leave!
    Let's see how far this will go! Me I am beginning to love Tinubu sef!as he is exposing all the evil! I am not his fan though!but is jostling of Nigerians to reality is excellent!!!

16. Only one person 1•3 trillion ๐Ÿฅบ, who do Nigeria this kind thing ๐Ÿ™†๐Ÿฟ‍♀️

17. Nigerian politicians and loothing na 5&6. E kuku used part of the money to fix his teeth.

18. He did NOTHING for Delta state. The same thing applies to Uduaghan, that is why the state is very backward.