Wednesday, October 23, 2024

Jigawa Tanker Explosion Leaves 181 Dead And 80 In Critical Condition

Jigawa State Governor Umah Namadi has put the current death toll in the tanker explosion in the state at 181, with another 80 persons in critical condition in hospital.
Namadi who was at the Presidential Villa on Tuesday to brief President Bola Tinubu on the situation, revealed that a total of 210 families were affected by the inferno.

The incident occurred on Tuesday, October 15 when a truck carrying petrol, travelling from Kano to Nguru in Yobe State, exploded in Majia, located in the Taura LGA of Jigawa State.
The incident resulted in the immediate death of over 100 individuals and injuries to many others who were scooping fuel.

The governor said the state has already established a high powered committee under the chairmanship of a retired DIG to investigate the remote causes of the incident and then advise the government on what to do.
Speaking to State House correspondents, Namadi said, “The situation as at today is that we have about 181 people that died and about 80 people in the hospital and about 210 families affected by this.

“I came here to brief Mr President about what happened to us, the tragic incident that happened in Jigawa State which claimed a lot of lives.
“We felt it is important to come and brief Mr President on what we are doing as a government and also to thank him for sending a delegation immediately this incident happened.

“Of course, the state government has taken the medical bill of all the affected people. We have done a lot of intervention to the families, to ensure that they continue their livelihood, and also Mr President has promised to intervene and assist the victims.
“The state government has already established a high powered committee under the chairmanship of a retired DIG to investigate the remote causes of that incident and then advise the government on what to do.

“You should also remember that Mr President has given a directive immediately to the Corps Marshal that he should investigate this matter, and he should come up with a permanent solution to this problem in this country.”

From dailypost

26 comments:

1. 181?? 🙆‍♀️. Jesus! May their souls rest in peace. Going out and coming in is by His grace.

2. This is a great calamity to the state.
    The emergency solution, condone off areas where there is a fallen tanker, use security forces to prevent people from scooping fuel from there.
    Long term solution, give tankers and trailers their own dedicated roads to ply.
    Fix the roads.

3. This is too much omg 😭😭😭

4. May their souls rest in peace

5. May the souls of departed rest in peace... It is well.

6. May the souls of departed rest in peace... It is well.

7. Sad news, May their souls rest in peace.

8. So many people dead. please God comfort the deceased families

9. Oh! God so so sad may God rest their souls Amen!
    Is well 😭😭

10. Oluwa ooooo, too much death oooo
    God please Comfort their families 🙏🙏
    God Abeg ooo, going out and coming in is by your Grace Lord🙏🙏

11. This is the devastating effect of poverty, when people risked their lives just to get some scoops of fuel from a falling tanker. Nigerian leaders who have looted our common patrimony, and subjugate the teeming masses into perpetual poverty and squalor should be ashamed of themselves

12. OMG! Too many casualties.

I saw a video were three guys were swimming inside a big pool of petrol. The tanker containing it had an accident, tumbled and content emptied, I was terrified to see that people enter there are started scooping the fuel, I mean, a mischievously wicked person could just light a match, and BOOM!💣💥

May their souls rest in peace.

13. May their Departed Soul find Rest in the Bosom of the Lord, Amen.

I hope the Government puts in measure that will deter people from scooping Fuel from a Fallen Tanker.

The risks outweighs the Profit. Why risk your Life for Fuel that will not last you for Eternity or the proceeds from the Sale?

The Government should please subsidize Petrol, that’s the main source of Inflation for Common Man.

14. This comment has been removed by the author.

15. May God comfort the families

Mao Akuh

16. Very sad, 180 lives, this is a great loss to the state

17. This is really sad
    May their souls rest in peace