Saturday, October 26, 2024

Chronicle Of Blog Viitor Narrative - UPDATE

Hmmm.....

Ye all remember me talking about my Housemaid I gave a federal appointment to and my desire to have her leave my house since she was no longer useful to me since she started the work.

Well she finally left and moved in with a guy. And ye all still remember me saying a 16 year old girl was on standby to come over from the village as Housemaid. She was to go to school- primary 5 in Lagos. Imagine!

This arrangement has been on since May without any objection. Her people were even pressurising me if I was no longer interested in taking her. I had invested in the school process already.

She arrived on Tuesday this week and immediately she entered my house she started complaining about the quietness of the environment. I live alone in an estate. My family live abroad. She said she will not stay. She doesn't want to go to school in lagos again. I was shocked. She cannot stand A/C, she cannot eat any food i ate. She doesn't know potatoes,quaker oats etc. Who sent me??? She was helping her mother hawk Akara back home

Since she came, refused to eat. Refused to bath nor changed her clothe. I was scared before she faints in my house
I gave this girl indomie noodles and spaghetti to prepare for herself, She does not know how to prepare any. She can only cook with firewood. Cannot use toilet in her room.

What manner of a Housemaid ? I was stressed. Regretted everything. She almost refused following me to the market as I had to go shopping to stock the house. She cannot open door of car. Purpose defeated! Why did she agree to come all the way from the east if she cannot do Housemaid chores, cannot be away from her mother like she said? Gave me so much problems within 2 days. Why did her mother release her knowing how primitive and stubborn she is to live with someone?

She was crying all through. Refusing to do anything. Her mother being stack illiterate was begging me to ignore her and keep her, that she will get used to me. No! told them I am returning her, so I have returned her after only 2 days in lagos. Came on Tuesday ,went back yesterday, Thursday.

See stress! See financial wastage. See waste of fuel driving back and forth parks. See me losing other ones that were prepared to come but settled for her.
I am so annoyed with myself for even considering her in the first place seeing how naive she looked in the picture sent to me since May. I had doubts, but I was trying to avoid the mistake of taking grown up lady as my former maid. I am now back to square 1

26 comments:

1. That girl has village boyfriend. Her mother is aware. They were hoping she will stay in your house and turn around. Na man matter de worry her now no be school and her future.

2. Please go and join your family abroad ma, the girl is in culture shock, she's too blind to see her new life as an opportunity. Sorry ma'am

1. Who asked you for unsolicited advice?

3. It is really sad. But an average Nigerian is inconsiderate. They don't care about how you have spent on them. Pay 1m school fees today and tomorrow they feel any displeasure, they will go the next day even if you point out how much you have invested.
    They are not willing to learn or go out of their way. Count your losses and move.
    I pray you get a good person that will pay back your kindness and care.

4. Ma'am.. take a huge breath... let It out slowly.... ahaaaaa. You have tried abeg... no be you kill Jesus.

5. The young girl couldn't cope.....

6. Jesu! I jump & pass

7. I don’t think you have kids as I didn’t see where u mentioned that. What not totally bypass the hassle of a live in maid. Why not have a maid come in maybe once or twice a week and get the things u need done. Abi?

1. Exactly 💯 Poster I agree with this...Not everyone does well in a new environment and you can't force her if not that it is enforced labour equivalent to slavery...

All the best

8. Why do you need a maid if you said you live alone?

1. I think just for companionship.

2. Was she lying? Ehhn Cid. Is it you that will cook and clean for her ? She's used to soft life so let her be. Abi you Wan apply

9. So sorry about that Madam. I remember the chronicle.
    It's well with you.

10. Calm down madam,try to know if you can adjust with her please I believe with time she will adjust too, you know changing of environment with her naive nature too,but just watch it if both of you can't cope kukuma take her back to the village to avoid stories that touches heart 🙄

11. Eyah, why not just get a maid that comes and goes instead of a live in maid.. All this stress and responsibility is out of it.. Kpele

12. Let me come and be cleaning your house two days a week now, like part-time maid, at least I go see work dey do.

13. You sound like you have good financial resources and are quite enlightened. Why not utilize the services of a professional to housekeeper instead of all these unreliable ones? But be careful to ensure you get one from a reputable company and do all security checks.

1. Security check ✔️ very important

14. Lady T /worth more than a thousand dollars26 October 2024 at 16:26

It's amazing how comprehension is a big deal with some of us.
    Dear poster, take a deep breath, and try again. Since you want to be a blessing pray and ask God to show you the one that needs this blessing, let your paths cross. God bless you for being a blessing.

15. Almost my exact story. Still a girl from the east as well. Ask her to do anything she will start crying. Ha, God Abey ooo. NNE just relax of that for now

16. At the core I know you have a good heart and truly want to help young women and girls evolve. This 16 yr old unfortunately due to lack of social awareness, intellect and literacy was completely unaware of the opportunity that she had come into. Please forgive her and understand that she is just an unexposed person filled with the stubbornness of youth. You will not be able to save everyone in this life and that is fine. Even God cannot save everyone. Perhaps keep an open heart and mind should she have a change of heart, but ensure the desire is completely her own and not that of outside pressure.

You can always offer the education spot to another young person since you already organized it, that person doesn’t have to be a household help it could be like in the form of a scholarship for a needy girl who is eager to go to school but lack the finances. I am sure there are many such young girls in Lagos who would jump at the opportunity. Partnering with an orphanage or NGO may not be a bad idea for someone with your desire for giving.

17. You have really tried ma'am. Ask around your neighbourhood,you will see someone,that can come to clean the house,maybe twice or thrice a week.

18. Employ me please, I promise to be loyal

19. Don't give up maybe they followed her from village but soon help will come your way ,life is like That

20. I'll suggest you get 2 people that can come and go, say like 3/4 times in a week.

1st person - To cook, clean, wash and do other internal activities you'll need in the kitchen and other areas in your house.

2nd person - To do the market runs to stock up the house for who will cook, shopping for groceries and others as required by you.

These people could be mature and won't need to stay. They'll get the job done and all these extra expenses and headaches of having to train your maids in school and all won't be there since you're not sure of what you'll be getting in return. What do you think? All the best.