Friday, October 25, 2024

Actor Yul Edochie Shares His Mindset On English Versus The Mother Tongue

18 comments:

1. What is this one saying?
    Who flog their kids for speaking their mother's tongue..
    For what I know parents are even trying to teach their kids..

1. Sharon, they do at schools. They termed it vernacular. Chinese schools won't flog their pupils for not speaking English. That's the point he's trying to make.

2. Mrs Sharon we no like Yul but true true some people do. That’s why a lot of people are sending their children to British school to go learn British accent lol.. Me too oo, even though it’s bad but I can’t imagine my child having my igbotic accent

Fan Emmanuel

3. I believe that in China there are different local languages and Chinese is their official language just the way English is our official language, do you think that they allow students to speak local languages in school apart from their Chinese official language

2. Rightly said.

When a Nigerian wants to oppress, intimidate, confuse and get away with their nonsense, you see them blowing big EnglishπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Like I said yesterday, Spewing big English words doesn't equate brilliance eeeh.

1. Maybe where you come from if they wants to oppress, intimidate, confuse and get away with their nonsense, you see them blowing big English. Where I come from English is English and if it's English spoken correctly communication flows but if it's English spoken incorrectly you correct whom you can correct and ignore whom you cannot correct, receive the message and move on. You cannot use English to intimidate anyone if you are not in the right.

2. Anonymous kwupu eziokwu ka ifele mee gi na ekwensu. Even on this blog people do. They do it all over this country. I believe you don’t live under the rock so stop pretending

Fan Emmanuel

3. I agree with him....Even our educational curriculum should look at teaching students in their local languages for better understand...There are some explanations better said in Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa, Urhobo, Isoko that the English language will never do justice on.....

We have allowed Westernization & colonial mentality to elude our religious and social consciousness....Even we the people are intolerant when people speak their languages or feel a bit threatened when we should embrace our diversity....

We need to do away with such attitude....He is correct, schools still flog pupils/students for speaking their language....

We have a long way to go in this country....

4. I agree with him....Even our educational curriculum should look at teaching students in their local languages for better understand...There are some explanations better said in Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa, Urhobo, Isoko that the English language will never do justice on.....

We have allowed Westernization & colonial mentality to elude our religious and social consciousness....Even we the people are intolerant when people speak their languages or feel a bit threatened when we should embrace our diversity....

We need to do away with such attitude....He is correct, schools still flog pupils/students for speaking their language....

We have a long way to go in this country....

5. Oh well you are right Yul. I wonder why some schools even flog students for speaking their dialect and some will termed you a local field for that

6. I refuse to believe that any parent will flog their kid for speaking their dialect, oh well na naija we dey and Nigerians do the most

God abeh

7. Parents should please ensure that they speak their native language at home to their kids while they learn the English language at school.
    This is very important. They need to know how to speak it.

8. He talk well
    But me think why flogging the kids becos of speaking their mother..
    Who does that..

9. Abi Judy don flog baby dike for speaking igbo

10. He is right by the way. Most parents are now teaching their children their diallet.