Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - Salary Difference And Spending Expenses Between Spouses..

Saturday, September 21, 2024

Saturday In House Gists - Salary Difference And Spending Expenses Between Spouses..

This post is about when a woman earns more pay than her spouse and his reaction....
This post is also about if the woman who earns more puts more or the table or she expects her man to put his all...............

The first question about the woman earning more between spouses is because most men are jealous when their wives earn more money and the Nigeria man may order her to stop working and be a sit at home wife...I hear some women opt for Jobs with lower salaries to respect their men....
The second question is because some Nigerian women (If not all sef) expect their men be totally financially responsible for the running of the home while they hide whatever they have...
On which of these have you found yourelf and how did it end? Are you presently a sit at home wife because your man wants it that way or because you cant find a job? Or are you a wife that earns more than her man?What is his reaction? Who contributes more to daily upkeeo.....
Lets gist!

14 comments:

1. Currently a sit at home wife because I’m still job hunting but in a way, I’m still somehow contributing financially.

I’m basically home with the kids till they are of free school age (this way, I’m saving expenses that would have gone into childcare, a lot for that matter). I’m also looking for a remote job because of this as well. This means that even if I’m working, I’m still helping to save expenses by still looking after the kids.

Now, when I was working, I contributed what we both deemed as fair, only because my husband’s salary back then wouldn’t have conveniently carried us and still allow him to save as much as he would have liked.

1. You are right, nne. You are saving not only school fees, you are also saving daycare related illness expenses. Sit at home mums are heroes. I earn way more than my husband and i take care of over 80% of the family expenses. I don't mind doing it. I still ask him for money when I want to buy expensive things for myself. He gives me money as well in appreciation for doing the kid's hair or things like that. As long as he is not lazy, not wasteful, not spending his money in a secretive way, i don't mind footing the bills. It is our family, our expenses, our happiness when bills are paid. I love making money and i love using it to make people happy, just don't try to fool me!

2. May God come through for you regards the job search.

2. I work and also support my home as it should be, although my hubby's contribution is more.

3. I earn close to N1m per month while my husband earns 1/3rd of my salary. It has never been a problem to me. Although his ego gets in the way sometimes. When we have small quarrel he’ll start to say because I earn more and all. Money has and can never be a deal breaker for me. I take my money as ours really and I help out as often as possible. It’s just money , it could be him earning more tomorrow so not a big deal.

1. I share your sentiment too. My husband has always been the higher earner from day 1 and so has always contributed more into household running and expenses, but if tables were turned, I would not mind contributing more in the least bit, life isn't supposed to be that hard.

Also, I don't believe my husband will feel any type of way if I start earning more than he does at this level of his, or will in anyway try to stiffle my growth (he does the exact opposite even and is always pushing me to aspire for more).

Thankfully, money has never been a topic of debate/quarrel in our union from day 1, we don't even have any expenses cast in stones, we run it as the spirit and pocket leads (either of us can pay for anything ranging from rent, school fees, feeding etc and it's been working fine for us). He's been solely paying the rent the last 2 years though, I don't bother him for money if I want to pay for anything provided I can afford it, and if I can't, I tell him, and use his card, and vice-versa, no stress. If we both can't afford it, we rest.

4. If you are married to a good partner who understands accountability and reciprocates in whatever capacity they can, and doesn't take you or your efforts for granted, do all these matter?

I believe you won't even wait or need to be told to step up to the plate if you are the one who earns more. This should come naturally if you are 'one' in every sense. All this unnecessary scrutiny won't come to the surface! It is a partnership, not an avenue for keeping score.

5. I earn 750k a month while my spouse earns 500k, he thinks I earn 250k because I told him so.
    I know his kind of person and I am glad I didn't tell him the exact amount I earn. I have been using my extra cash to get gadgets I need, I have gotten everything I need except a dishwasher which I plan to get next week.
    After getting the dishwasher, I'll find something else to do with the extra money, maybe invest
    He provides for the house, pays rent and takes care of every other necessity.

1. That a girl!

2. How will u feel if he does the same to u?
      U can still tell him and still get those things except he's a spender and not accountable

6. I earn £10K per month, my spouse earns £4800K.
    No I don't tell him how much I earn. My ex-partner stole £20K from me the moment he discovered my worth and not paid back till date.
    My spouse thinks I earn £4k monthly, I am using my money to build generational wealth for our kids.

7. I think its about the couple's understanding of the situation.
    If a man is jealous of his wife earning more and taking on more other house expenses,then he should try his best to earn higher and be the highest spender😁
    That's just it for me.

8. Who did u marry?
    Depends on the person u marry,who earn higher is not important.. marriage is partnership where both parties are doing everything to make it work..