Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Nurse Jailed 3 Years For Child Cruelty

Friday, September 13, 2024

Nigerian Nurse Jailed 3 Years For Child Cruelty

Ruth Auta, a Nigerian nurse working in the United Kingdom has been sentenced to three years in prison for neglecting her 10-week-old baby, Joshua Akerele, who died while she was at work.

According to Daily mail, the 28-year-old single mother had reportedly left Joshua alone in her nurse’s accommodation for eight hours on December 20, 2022, to complete her shift..
On returning, she discovered her son lifeless in his cot and immediately called 999, reporting that he was not breathing.
The infant died an hour after the ambulance arrived despite resuscitation efforts. Tests revealed that he might have overheated due to excessive layers of clothing and bedding. Auta, was charged with cruelty to a child.

She pleaded guilty at Manchester Magistrates’ Court on May 24, 2024, while her sentencing was delayed by a month.
On June 6, while attempting to board a flight to Nigeria, she was apprehended at Gatwick Airport with a one-way ticket.

She had told the police she had collected Joshua from a childminder, fed him, and then fell asleep with him on her bed. She claimed she found him unresponsive upon waking.
However, CCTV footage and incriminating text messages contradicted her story.
The footage showed Auta leaving and returning to her accommodation without Joshua, and texts revealed she had instructed her childminder to falsely state she was caring for Joshua that day but the childminder later confirmed she had not seen the baby for several days.
Giving her judgement, District Crown Prosecutor for CPS North West Sara Davie, stated, “Ruth Auta failed to provide the care her baby needed and chose to leave him alone.
“As a nurse, she should have been aware of the dangers of leaving her child unattended. Her attempts to evade justice further demonstrate her lack of remorse.”

From Punch

33 comments:

1. Oh, Jesus! A nurse for that matter! If you don't care for your own child, how would you care for others?

I don't know why nurses lack compassion. They are always mean.

A child you should have taken to the childminder before leaving for work.

She even wanted to escape to Nigeria because of guilt. Liar!

1. You broad statement about nurses is inaccurate. Get your facts.

2. A country that works, if it were to be this country, noble would investigate the death of the poor boy.Hence,her attempt to flee to Nigeria

3. It's good to live where the law works. This can never happen in Nigeria.

1. In Nigeria she would have someone to watch the baby. This is a sad story.

4. Some people are not just fit to be parents. See what a mother did just because of money 😮. God abeg o.

5. Oh no this is really bad woman you would have at least secured the safety of your baby during your shift

6. Mother from hell. 😔😔😔. Rest in peace champ

7. Going back to work when your baby is just 10 weeks old, shocking.
    Why have a child at 28 if she cannot care / afford the baby, would a termination not have been better?
    Instead the poor thing just came into the world to suffer and die within 3 months.
    I hope she enjoyed the money she went to look for.
    Thankfully she was caught before japaing back to where she japaed from.

8. This is sad to read

9. This is really Sad..

10. What a Preventable Death!!!

Why overwork your self and still can’t afford to pay for a NANNY?

What’s the Essence?

May the Soul of the Baby find Rest in the palms of the Angel

11. Hmmm… I won’t be so quick to judge this woman sha. Where I live, childcare costs an arm and a leg, that is if you even find… daycare waitlists are a year long on average. What is one to do if they can’t afford childcare but have to work to be able to provide food and shelter? I don’t know what the situation is in the UK sha. But I feel for the woman, to lose her child and then go to prison for it, I pray God will comfort her.

Mothers in Nigeria have it lucky in that they have family or neighborly support, for good six months I couldn’t go anywhere without my baby, one urgent hospital appointment I had, I had to beg a distant acquaintance who was so kind as to help me take care of him while I went, something I would not do normally. God will help someone jare.

1. There’s absolutely no justification for this. None at all!

2. Then DO NOT GIVE BIRTH, simple!!! It's not that hard to figure out, don't bring a child to this world if you can't afford to keep them safe and provide at least the basic needs. This woman is 100% to be blamed abeg.

3. Eka you need to walk a mile in this woman's shoes. She wasn't even up to 3 months postpartum but she had to work. Why was she not on maternity leave? What the heck happened. So many questions

4. It’s easy to say ‘do not give birth simple!’ But she obviously didn’t plan to have to raise this child by herself. She most probably had plans to raise the child with its father but life happened. most Nigerian women are not single mothers when their child is only 10weeks old. Perhaps if a man was around, they would swing shifts and have two incomes while having someone at home with the baby at all times. I think you can be more empathetic.

And Eka, it’s easy to sit on a high horse and say how there is never an excuse, even when nobody is trying to give excuses but explain possible factors contributing to this. I do not blame you anyways, you have never walked in this woman’s shoes, they say ‘He whose palm kernels have been cracked by a benevolent spirit should not forget to be humble.
      Postpartum stress is enough to make someone not think properly then make wrong decisions , not to talk of when you’re the only one tending to the child morning afternoon night and you also have to work. From 4 weeks I had to be the only one tending to my baby all day everyday as my partner was away, I didn’t even have to work and I saw hell. I can’t imagine what this woman’s story is. It is unfortunate that her ‘mistake’ ended this way. As a mother you should be able to imagine the pain of losing her child, or you think she is happy?

5. Anon 20.37 - I disagree my fellow BV and I am talking from experience. My engagement ended when I was 5months pregnant as I refused to allow a second wife after me - something that was never discussed with me to begin with.
      I was working as a locum nurse, alone, no partner or family support. My sister categorically told me not to expect any help or support as everyone is busy in England - same sister I was there for when she was at rock bottom.
      I went alone to all my appointments, bought second hand goods - minus clothes and food in preparation. I was not entitled to maternity pay as I did not have a full time job so was given statutory pay which I managed.
      My friend was there with me when I had my CS and I was discharged home with baby the next day.
      And YES I suffered for it was me and my child from day 1 till month 8 when I finally found a back door nanny to allow me work in the day. I was like a robot functioning on 2-3hours sleep.
      Guess what, we survived - God provided as my circumstances was of no fault of my own.
      So yes I disagree, I feel her pain but this lady failed herself and her baby.
      Hopefully she finds healing inside and this little angel plays in the heavenly playground with other angels.

12. The most annoying thing was that some people were trying to make excuses for this monster

1. I waka pass because I cannot say ehst truly happened in all let us always pray never to be desp

2. Desperate* for anything... because it doesn't make one think right. The way Nigerians love shift abroad ehn it's a serious something and it's because of the high bills waiting times bd paid. It is well

13. CTd…If anyone is in a situation where they need to go to work after having a baby and they don’t have childcare, please make friends in a church or something, those people can help. Or you bring your baby back to Nigeria and leave them with your family. That’s a better alternative than stories like this. 10 weeks old is too young to have the mind to leave by themselves.
    Had to come back home with my baby after six months because I wan mad.

Also, Nigerians we love to over-wrap babies up even in our sweltering heat and humidity, it is wrong. This was something my mum and I frequently had issues over.
    Scientifically it is better for a baby to be too cold than to be too hot because a baby that is cold will cry, but a baby that is overheating can slip into unconsciousness without you noticing. Kindly take note.

14. May God grant the baby rest eternal rest in peace. when I had my first child,the nurse that took my delivery had her baby tied on her back

15. Leaving an infant alone is always a no-no. The same way she could have been looking for a flight to return to Nigeria is the same way she could have packed up her child and return to the country if the demands of work and child rearing were clashing. UK isn’t heaven and Nigeria isn’t hell. If a place is breaking you then leave it behind.

1. Thank you oh, how mean can anyone be to leave a 10 week old baby alone for 8 hours? My God, babies that young need to be fed every 1-3hrs because of their small tummy nau haha.

2. That's the shocking bit a 10 week old , 8 hours without food is cruel.