Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Officials Salary In 1979

Monday, September 16, 2024

Nigerian Govt Officials Salary In 1979

You will not beleive what you are about to read!!!
The Newspaper cutting is from Daily Times, dated Friday, November 16, 1979. The main headline reads:"Pay for the Public Men"
With a subheadline:
"President to receive ₦50,000"
It mentions that Late President Shehu Shagari was set to receive an annual salary of ₦50,000, plus other allowances.

Additionally, there is a list of salaries for various government officials,
Governors: ₦12,500
Deputy Governors: ₦10,500
Speaker of House of Assembly: ₦9,000
Deputy Speaker: ₦8,500
House of Assembly Members: ₦8,000
Majority Leader of the House: ₦8,250
Party Leaders: ₦10,000
Committee Chairmen: ₦7,500
Secretary to the Government: ₦14,500
Head of Service (State): ₦14,150
Governors: ₦12,500
Deputy Governors: ₦10,500
Speaker House of Assembly: ₦9,000
Deputy Speaker: ₦8,500
Commissioners: ₦11,500
Special Advisers: ₦10,000
Members of the House of Assembly: ₦8,000
Leader of the House: ₦8,250
Majority Leader: ₦8,500
Chief Personnel Staff to the President: ₦12,966 to ₦14,268
Head Personnel Staff to the Vice President: ₦11,568 to ₦12,728

This provides a glimpse into the structured remuneration for Nigerian government officials in 1979.

12 comments:

1. These salaries are still on the high side,considering the stable and vibrant economy back then.

No wonder a baba that was head of service at his time is still very rich in his old age.

2. That #50k no fit buy a bag of rice now.

1. That 50k can probably build a comfortable three bedroom house then.

3. Hmmmm,Gone are the days when ...

4. Amen sure 50k was like 50 million back then

5. If we consider the value of the Naira then with that amount, we'll realize that it's still very high.

6. 50k then is like 50million of today.

1. You say?!! It was like £50,000 of today! That’s N100m. What are you saying?

7. Ashe ma their greed no be today ee start. So even our heroes past were this greedy and selfish? Cos that money up their is very very high. A peugot 504 bck then was going for the same amount we buy bread today. So imagine the number of cars that money wud buy.

8. Those days Money get value
    Those governor of then they all got houses, cars ,their kids are in Abroad..

I no think say Olosho Allowance they that time ooo..
    Abi he dey ni?

9. That was went money has value... I remember my Dad buying a brand new peugeot pickup van for 5k