Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Australia Set To Ban Social Media For Young People To Curb Health And Social Harm

Wednesday, September 11, 2024

Australia Set To Ban Social Media For Young People To Curb Health And Social Harm

Anthony Albanese, the Australian Prime Minister has announced a plan to ban children from using social media to address the mental health issues and social harm associated with young people using social media.
The proposed legislation aims to set a minimum trial age likely between 14 and 16 years using verification technology before implementing the ban....
Can the same be done in Nigeria?

20 comments:

1. Make the trial from age 17...14 years - 16 years is way too young for social media....How effective will the verification be with bots and hackers abound....This is a good one and I hope there wont be unnecessary backlash....

2. This is a great initiative if it passes parliament. But there are lots of concerns being raised about possible privacy infringements as one of the strategies to curb underage involvement is by ensuring that only people with valid IDs are approved to have a profile. The problem with this is that many of the bad guys will potentially have a minefield for obtaining people's information through hacking. This is already being trialled in South Australia, so it will be very interesting to see if it succeeds there before being adapted by other states and territories.

2. Good idea,it does more harm than good to kids when there is no restriction.

3. This is a good move ๐Ÿ‘

4. This is a good idea ๐Ÿ‘

5. Way to go. The addiction to social media in this generation is unhealthy.

6. This is good ๐Ÿ‘

7. All of u shouting good/way to go, as soon as they bring it to naija, same u ppl will shout that they are trying to restrict ur rights. Govt shud face bandits and leave ur kids alone.

8. All of u shouting good/way to go, as soon as they bring it to naija, same u ppl will shout that they are trying to restrict ur rights. Govt shud face bandits and leave ur kids alone.

9. This is welcome development

10. This is a very good development because it is becoming unhealthy but I hope when same is applied in Nigeria we will not scream our human rights is being trampled on.