Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The History Of Oji Ukwu Eje Aba

Tuesday, August 13, 2024

The History Of Oji Ukwu Eje Aba

This is the story of an Igbo hustler.......

Joseph Chukwuka Ulasi, hailed from Nnewi in Anambra state. Born in 1890 and died 1944.
He was nicknamed "O ji ụkwụ eje Aba" because of his unflinching hustling spirit as a young Igbo boy determined to make it in life and of which he eventually did by becoming the most successful transporter from South East.

He regularly traveled on foot from Nnewi to Aba in mid-1920's in search of fortune (O ji ụkwụ eje Aba). At Aba he traded in textiles and produce, slowly and painstakingly building a solid asset base by setting up roadside stalls along the popular Aba Road. He would recruit apprentices from Nnewi at one stage, up to sixty. By 1933, he had built up a fleet of six lorries, which he deployed into a road haulage business which earned him a mail delivery contract for the Eastern Provinces. He made fortune from the Mail delivery contract which helped him to up his fleet of lorries from 6 to 14 as at 1935.

The name of his Transport Company is J.C Ulasi Motors, a household name in the 1930s. He became a Warrant Chief at Aba and died in June 1944. His kinsman Louis Odumegwu-Ojukwu was to succeed him as the King of the road haulage business by the formation of his legendary Ojukwu Transport Company in 1937. Chief. J.C Ulasi tremendous success as a transporter also inspired his cousin, Late. Chief Ejikeme Ilodibe of "Ekene Dili Chukwu" to emerge as a transport magnate. JC Ulasi died a wealthy Igbo transporter, he was the first Nigerian to venture in to Transport business and it played out well for him. 
Many others toed his path.
#Igbohistoryandculturetv

20 comments:

1. Interesting indeed.

2. Igbo Amaka!!! The undying tenacity, hard & smart work enterprising spirit of the Igbo man!! Unmatchable!! Jisike!! Look at the chain of wealth creation amongst peers and families....

3. Never say never Struggling Spirit Of an average Igbo Man .... 💪🏻

4. Wow! I have always heard the phrase 'oji ukwu eje Aba' but never knew it's origin. Thanks Stella for this.

5. TASTE BLISS CAKES AND PASTRIES13 August 2024 at 14:10

Never knew the origin of that phrase, I thought it was just a proverb, thanks SDK.

6. Resilience is the key to conquering hurdles.
    God speed to us all.

7. Oji ukwu je Aba

He take leg waka go Aba

My Igbo is on point, na Hausa remain wey I wan sabi speak

Jisike my Igbo brothers, your hustling spirit is equal to non

8. He's really a hand hustler o
    Igbo Amaka
    Igbo kwenu oooooo

9. Interesting!
    This speaks of determination, resilience..

10. Wow such an interesting read. We normally call anyone that likes trekking oji ukwu eje aba without knowing the real story behind the name.
    Thank you SDK😘

11. I didn't know someone actually did the walking "o ji ukwu eje Aba". Anything is possible with determination. Life is tough. Wondering how many days it took him to reach Aba.

12. Interesting read, Igbo Kwenu

13. He went from Nnewi to Aba on foot lord have mercy. I thought is a nickname for someone that loves trekking without knowing it actually happened

14. Wow

Stella, I love this Segment