Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu's Speech Was Not Leaked And I Am Igbo

Sunday, August 04, 2024

President Tinubu's Speech Was Not Leaked And I Am Igbo

I hope the headline caught your attention´
Who are those saying the Presidents Speech was leaked before he read it?It was not a leakage, speeches are always sent out before hand to media houses and news print to be able to circulate immediately the President is done with his speech....::I also got sent and i see all those in the press email chain..
I understand that everywhere is hot and people are angry but dont let anyone feed you with lies......

As for those threatening the igbos to leave Lagos, I am Igbo by Association and frown at this gaslighting and insult.
As for the protest ongoing, I am not in support of anything that involves looting and stealing and taking of lives...I BELIEVE IN DIALOGUE
I cannot forget ENDSARS and I remember crying non stop and cussing out the Lagos state governor on his page until i got tired.
My Igbo name is Jeweluchi and i believe in one Nigeria.
Let us believe that one love will keep us together!
Who are those in support of the riot or against it? It doesnt matter the stand you take, just reach out to those around you if you have enough to share.....
Thank you

43 comments:

1. It is really well! The situation in Nigeria needs God!

2. These protests are not genuine and that is my problem. Tinubu is barely a year in there and is not the cause of Nigerias problem so why take it out on him because your preferred candidates lost? These protests are being funded and organized by PDP and labor party politicians and it’s just sick that some Nigerians have allowed themselves to be used like this.Tinubus policies are going to be rewarding and they are long term but Nigerians want miracle now now. Its not going to happen.

3. Oga/Ma Anon you say wetin? Are u trying to imply that people are not hungry or that it's only Pdp and LP supporters that are hungry? Pls pull your head outta your ass and smell the zobo!!! We know you're Thiefnubu's supporter but pls stop trying to gaslight us here. It's incredibly ANNOYING

4. 17:05 don’t mind that anon, he/ she is sick. Are they not also suffering right now?
      Let them keep talking trash, what do you expect from air heads?

2. Alright Stella if that's the case but then, I think those in the Presidency aren't being sincere about the Nigerian problems. They're not telling the President the truth about the situation on ground.

The speech was devoid of empathy and lack proactiveness in addressing the situation. I expected the president to have return the fuel subsidy to start with. It was done without a thoughtful plan and arrangement. This isn't a time of promise but actions.

The speech didn't solve anything and may further and likely aggravate things further. There was no compromise on any of the demands by Nigerians.

So sad and I hope the unthinkable won't eventually happen.

1. Pls shush, you know absolutely nothing about what you’re tryna say. If he didn’t remove subsidy, you people will think you’re fine while the country dies a very fast and painful death. Have you seen the amount of money paid on subsidies per month?These protest is sponsored by greedy oil merchants, PDP and Labor party to take Nigeria back so they can continue to enjoy in the misfortune of Nigeria.Some people don’t want Nigeria to be better because in her misfortune lies their wealth

2. Tinubu govt is still paying subsidy. Pls tell me if landing cost of fuel is over 1000/litre according to nnpc yet we do get fuel for between 685-900/ litre at filling stations. So who is taking care of the different.

3. You studied numbers in a tertiary institution courtesy of this nation , Teejay. Come on!!

What's the price of crude before farming or transport? What are you paying now at pumps after supporting the removal of subsidy from day one? Which angel is covering the difference? More subsidy is being paid now because Nigerians have been accustomed over 3 generations to get stuff they cannot afford for free instead of prioritizing basic systems and localising government or solutions. Same people then point at fellow beneficiaries of the same largesse as evil because they get a bigger cut of the same stolen pie.

This is Nigeria's actual problem: All it's investments in empowering and educating people are a gamble that's yet to pay off. Most who are educated are going about with a sense of entitlement thinking the same government that helped their parents out for over 18 years of their education directly or otherwise, owes them a salary. They cannot initiate or apply solutions to problems in their vicinity and don't want to analyse the genesis of their challenges and their role in causing it. They prioritise emotions and refuse to organise or collaborate for a reasonable path towards results.

Dave Ramsey would say adults devise a plan, children do what feels good. Throwing a tantrum in the name of hunger would not address the mathematics or methods of the problem. Anger doesn't take away the gains of a government that has reduced the debt being serviced from 97 percent of the borrowed budget to 68 percent in a few months. This same Nigeria could not afford to continue subsidizing diesel about 20 years ago so is it not logical to see that even the financing to subsidise other petroleum products would run out because 34 of the states are economically not viable and so cannot produce anything to finance their existence?

Where are these chief importers and head nuisances streaming from their children's bedroom deceiving you, going to source funds to build the castles in the sky that you have not used your training to build? Which funds did they generate when they had the opportunity? Which magic can they work on the psyche of a private driver of 20 years who plies tarred roads for a living and has never paid a dime to government then types through government laid fibre optic cables in English taught in a government school, that the state has done nothing for him?

3. It is well oooo
    God bless Nigeria

4. Make military sha no take over

1. Those that want the country burn because their candidate didn't win should continue.
      The military took over from Shagari but Awolowo or Zik didn't smell the Presidency till they died.
      When Abacha took over some people thought he would eventually hand over to Abiola but Abiola didn't smell Presidency till he died.
      Military can never be the solution we have seen that they're not better rulers.

2. E be like e go happen cos of the grumblings for barracks.....only problem be the bike haram informants wey dey dia midst

3. God forbid! The aftermath of their regimes is part of what we're suffering now.

5. The problems of Nigeria is tribalism.

6. It's well with Nigeria and Nigerians
    I pray for a better Nigeria 🙏

7. @Teejay, I'm not in support of fuel subsidy. The cabals in the petroleum sector are milking the nation dry at the expense of the citizens, so corruption is fighting back. So bringing back the fuel subsidy regime will be to their advantage. So how they're trying to frustrate Dangote in his private refinery built to ease the pain of removing the subsidy. Are things difficult in naija? Very, very. Every nation that has gone through reforms, the beginning is always difficult and painful but with time, things will get better. Where I faulted the president was during his inaugural speech on May 29th, 2023, when he said that the era of subsidy is gone without putting the mechanism in place to cushion the effects. That was the beginning of the problem. Times are hard. Trust some of our shylock traders of taking advantage of every little opportunity. The security challenge is worsening the situation for farmers to go back to their farms. Nobody has the right to ask any other tribe to go back to their state of origin as enshrined in our constitution. Some people are just mischievous, they derive pleasure in chaos and confusion in our country but God will disgrace them. The president and his team need to fix the economy fast and better the lives of the citizens by implementing policies that are friendly to the investors. I speak positively to our nation, I believe Nigeria shall be great again. Pls, pardon my typos, if you see any👍

1. With the removal of the subsidy, has there been any benefits or improvement? Have they ever accounted for the money saved? Rather they keep on borrowing. If the removal didn't yield fruit, common sense is to bring it back if the refineries we have here can't work.

2. @ Teejay, we the citizens should also beam the searchlight on the state and local governments . State governments allocation has been increased tremendously since the removal of subsidy and nothing substantial to show for it. All attention is in the centre because of ignorant. By the time we start asking the governors questions on what the monthly allocation is been used for, I bet you, they'll realize that the citizens are becoming interested in governance and they will wake up✌️

3. Subsidy that they are still paying. Naija don enter original one chance

4. @C.A what a wonderful speeches you have up there. Wow!

5. CA, You've got it right and the truth is rather bitter.

During these demonstrations, people didn't ask themselves why the more responsible states like Borno and Lagos had the most protests but states that have not started paying 30k as minimum wage after many years, were eerily quiet.

The ruling of the supreme court financially liberating LGAs means people should face their chairman from now on, for local solutions and cushioning of hardship. Even with the highly raised allocations to states, no one should be looking to Abuja for respite unless you live there as they have a performer in their minister though he may be garrulous in character.

8. Thought citizens have right to a peaceful protest but I always feel scared whenever I see people moving in their numbers as seen in some regions on the social media because I have this fear that it can lead to violence. So to me the President should address whatever the issues at hand are & don't allow it to get to a stage of protest.

Then coming to those threatening Igbo people to leave their region, I don't see anything different from the statement made by Bayo Onanuga after Presidential election & he was rewarded with an appointment without anyone cautioning him. This's how it starts & I don't think it's by mistake. The likes of Bayo has set the stage . If anyone wants to address this issue it has to start from Bayo's statement.
    Long live Nigeria
    The Most Complex B

1. This is why it's not good for anybody to make careless statements. That Lagos is no man's land statement has never been forgotten and I don't think it will ever be forgotten.

9. I’m just tired honestly 😢 The level of hunger and joblessness on the land is alarming. It is breeding a lot of life threatening situations. For once, can things just be done right? Why are the state governments silent? Just like Buhari said so many times, hold your state government accountable. Tinubu has said the same thing. So they and the LGs and Councilors should come and explain what this statement means because it speaks volume.

What is going on??????

1. State govt enjoy more. They are the problem.
      When you said that you must rule, this is what you get.
      Thank God, Obi dodged bullets o. Hausa and Yoruba people would've started burning and destroying Igbo people's properties.

10. Thank you Stella. God bless you. I am Yoruba. One Nigeria forever.

11. I read part of the speech and really nothing was said to assuage the situation that we are in.

All promises and nothing tangible to move us off the protest grounds. May God help this nation.

I hope they do not want to put this nation on fire by their actions/inactions.

12. Twitter or X is full of people with serious mental issues. Taking threats from an unknown group or faceless is not only silly, but it makes me question the mental health of those taking the threat seriously.
    Those that are out there protesting are doing it cause the country is really hot. Those that don't feel the need to protest are not protesting because, well, they don't want to! It's a free world.
    The silly narrative politicians and our elders imbibed in us about other tribes and religions will fade away one day...
    It is funny that deep down we all pray for divine interventions( Sunday mornings, Church go full.Fridays, Jumat service for full) but we nurse hate for our neighbors/other tribes....most Nigerians are hypocrites anyways...God oh

13. Please let's not derail from the main issue. The President made a broadcast without addressing any of the reasons for the protest. There is severe hunger in the land and yet no relief in sight from the government

1. Go and start farming and stop complaining.

2. Go and start farming indeed!!!!

Of what use is farming when you don't have access to your farmland due to insecurity?

3. Go and start farming indeed!!!!

Of what use is farming when you don't have access to your farmland due to insecurity?

4. @Anon 15.52
      Go and start farming indeed!!!!

5. @Anon 15.52
      Go and start farming indeed!!!!

14. I despise tribalism and what it does to innocent ppl. Tribalism has directly delayed the advancement of Africa by centuries. After the majority of the colonists left the shores of the continent unity right across the board should have been the primary goal, seeing that all suffered. Instead, tribalism became the new obstacle and for centuries it has not been eradicated.

15. Subsidy has been removed the only problem is that Nigeria govt doesn't have money to spend at all so you can't talk of money that is not there .Assuming there is money for subsidy and govt didnt pay it then it could have been used for other things ,the govt fund their budget since 2015 from borrowing that is why there is deficit

16. I disliked violence of any kind and thats why I keep praying and believing that Nigeria remain peaceful. We can't achieve anything if we are not at peace. As some people did not vote for President Tinubu but right now he is our president and we will keep praying for him to succeed cos when he does Nigeria win. As for those always blaming igbos for everything please keep on till Jesus comes and we are all go home and still.....
    God will always make a way for His children. Hunger no go kill us
    Have a sweet night rest