Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Minister Of Solid Minerals Dele Alake Says Protesters Aimed To Change Govt

Wednesday, August 14, 2024

Nigeria's Minister Of Solid Minerals Dele Alake Says Protesters Aimed To Change Govt

The Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Mr Dele Alake, has alleged that sponsors of the #EndBadGovernance protest were gunning to change governance in the country.

He equally alleged that they were plotting to thwart the nation’s democracy but thankfully, Nigerians resisted the move.

His personal reaction came shortly after the Council of State meeting, which was attended by two immediate past presidents, Goodluck Jonathan and Muhammadu Buhari.
Alake said he would not call it a protest but a calculated attempt to effect a change in government.
His words: “I call it a movement to effect a change of regime by force, which was also resisted.
“And so, you know, the Council thanked Nigerians at large for resisting any unconstitutional move to change government. If anybody is not satisfied with the government, any current administration, there is always an election coming, so you wait for election and cast your vote.
“So the NSA briefed the Council on the security situation and allayed fears all round.

“So after the NSA’s briefing, generally, he allayed everybody’s fears and spoke on the tightness of the security around the country, and also reassured all and sundry that nobody will be allowed to truncate our hard-earned democracy.

“Any change of government has to be through the ballots and not through the barrel of the gun or insurrection or any other unconstitutional means; only through the ballot box can any government be changed. And he reassured on the security readiness of all security agencies in the country, to secure our territorial integrity and to protect Nigeria’s democracy.”

from dailypost

6 comments:

1. God deliver us from these men. Put a breakthrough for us cos the men only after themselves. U didn't address the point the protest were about na election be ur concern .

1. Nah that One be their bailing point nah
      He has Food Stuff in his house
      Nothing be him problem

It is well..

2. Wait for another election, that they will still rig, steal ballot boxes ba. Oga clap for yourself, you have spoken well. NONSENSE.

1. They have increased the salaries of the judiciary by 300%, that is their hope. They don't give a fuck about your vote

3. Dear Minister, Leave politics out of this...Minister of Solid Minerals tell us your plans and projections for Nigeria to enjoy dividends from our solid minerals...You are seating on a heavy ministry...We cannot be depending on crude oil....How can we generate revenue and what is your national plan?

How can you align with this new CNG vehicles with the solid mineral industry? Please leave politics alone...You must not comment on everything to show you are loyal to your principal and APC......

One year after, what have you achieved since heading the solid mineral industry...Gosh!! Forget these sound bites, haba!!!!!

4. You left your duty post to be chasing shadow. Minister of solid Minerals how do you plan to impact this economy with the gold mine you're sitting on???