Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex-Ogun State Govs Say Chinese Firm That Seized Nigeria's Presidential Jets Is A Scam Company

Monday, August 19, 2024

Ex-Ogun State Govs Say Chinese Firm That Seized Nigeria's Presidential Jets Is A Scam Company

The dispute between the Ogun State Government and the Chinese firm, Zhongshan Fucheng Industrial Investment Co. Limited, has escalated significantly. The conflict which is rom a 2007 agreement to develop the Ogun Free Trade Zone, later fell apart and led to arbitration and the seizure of three Nigerian presidential jets.

Ogun State Former Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, has stated that he will not allow the Chinese company to scam Nigeria and emphasized that the Chinese government has disowned the firm, and there is no legal basis for Zhongshan’s claims. 
The dispute has involved various legal battles, with the Chinese firm being awarded approximately $74.5 million by an independent arbitral tribunal, a decision the Ogun State Government has disputed.
From punch..

In all honestly, I dont understand what this dispute is about..can someone explain well?

10 comments:

1. Waiting for more explanation from our ogbonge bvs.
    My spirit is telling me that both of them did wuruwuru that scattered. A case of a thief and a thief doing business together.

2. I don't understand all these brouha. Some the company is now a scam ? A whole state govt dealing with a scammer? hmmm. Meanwhile the US Court awarded that payment and, I learnt or read somewhere that the Fed govt. had to beg for the release of one of the jets for the President's trip. Let's see how the coming days events will unfold sha.

3. Stella, the issue arose from a long legal battle between the company and the Ogun State government. However, we still don't know the exact details of their transaction.

Eventually, the tribunal awarded Zhongshan approximately $74.5 million in compensation, which Ogun State refused to pay.
    Zhongshan then obtained court orders in France to seize Nigerian assets which resulted in the impounding of three presidential planes.

As a show of goodwill, Zhongsan released one of the planes to allow Tinubu to attend a meeting with the French President.

Meanwhile the former Governor of Ogun state, Senator Amosun claimed that he was deceived into signing the contract. People in his state have however accused him of high-handedness during his tenure, as he was quick to cancel all deals done by his predecessor Gbenga Daniels.

Pat Utomi has now also come out to say that he invested over 200million in the state, but Senator Amosun revoked everything, and till now he has not been paid.

1. Thank you for explaining.
      Naija is the more you look, the less you understand.
      We fold hands and watch as more drama unfold.

2. Wow!
      Ogun state is still with poor infrastructures despite all its wealth and proximity to Lagos. The security there too is pathetic, a hub of ritualists

3. You are right. Ritualistic and black magic hub, still backward in development

4. Amosun go soon talk true. Ogun State is in bondage, collecting the highest internally generated revenue 2nd to Lagos yet has the worst roads.

5. Sir,you're so mischievous. 🙄🙄🙄

6. Shameless lots that has dragged the nation in the mud.

DOZZYBEST.

7. All the governors of Ogun state both present and past are scammers I'd you know you know. Very worthless governors