Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - The Dangers Of Using Used Phones....

Tuesday, August 27, 2024

Couch Convo - The Dangers Of Using Used Phones....

Let us talk about the dangers of using phones that are used.....You need to have a receipt that shows you purchased it or you are in a lot of trouble....
Being gifted a used phone can mess you up...You know this right? How did you get the phone you are using now`?
Read the narrative below....

This was posted by Policeman Bright Edafe on X
''Topic for discussion!!! So this taxi driver was arrested for suspected involvement in Kidnapping. Why was he arrested? A lady was kidnapped and was released after she paid ransom and they collected her phone from her. The phone was recovered from the wife of the taxi driver. Madam said her husband bought the phone for her. The husband was arrested and he claimed a passenger left the phone in his car. Now how can he prove that truly the phone was left in his car, how can he prove that he was not part of the kidnappers???? See why we all should be careful with phones that are not ours?''

20 comments:

1. Wow, I can do relate to this. My younger bro was once picked by SARS cos he bought a used fone. Thank God for intervention, it would have ended badly for him

2. There was a time I bought phone with my hard earned money then from a close friend, after I paid in full the phone started misbehaving until I sold it off for a very little amount it really pained me ehn since that time I decided not to ever buy phone from anyone again except slot.

3. Nothing like using A New Phone o
    Even doe you wanna Use Used Phone before collecting from The person Hand make sure is some one you trust ooo And You know how The person got The phone oo

In This Case Now is Like The Taxi Driver Stole The Phone or his A Kingnapper
    If Police Man tortured him Wella he go Vomit The Truth..

4. I'd rather save to buy a new phone no matter how long it will take than buy a used phone . The wahala too much Abeg

5. Depends on how and where you get the phone. My bold 5 and galaxy S5 were bought with receipts and served me well. No issue

6. Buying used phones is dangerous, one time someone was in his working place and he was picked up by law enforcement guys
    They traced the phone to him turns out the owner of the phone was murdered and he didn't know he just bought it as second hand. When he finally came out he swore with his life that he is never going to buy anything second hand again

7. I have never,I can never, and I will never buy a used phone, if I don't have money for a new phone, I will be using tannasobe(touch light phone) until I can afford a big phone.
    Even if someone dash me a phone, I must know the origin of the phone and confirm that the phone was bought and not stolen.
    I have two solid reasons that makes me vow never to buy a used phone which are (1) I don't know if the phone was stolen or not, and i have vowed in my life never to use or buy a stolen items, (2) I don't know what happens to the phone before the owner decides to sell it, I can not use my hard earned money to buy wahala for myself.
    I've heard of so many cases of using used phones, like one popular ex musician that was sprayed blackberry while on show, he was sent to prison for a crime he didn't commit before God vindicated him, till now some people are saying he committed armed robbery which is not true.

8. One bros for my former area spent six years in detention cause of a used phone he bought. He came out with one eye gone

9. When I was still living in Lagos..I bought a blackberry bold 5 from one guy for mushin not knowing it was a stolen phone...

One number pinged me on BBN and I accepted...we started chatting and all..Then one day he invited me to his office at Ilupeju..I visited him and we talked normal normal..

The next invitation, he told me he wanted to tell me something, when I asked him ..he said do I know dat d phone I am using is his own...I asked how come..he showed me all d details..

I felt like make ground open make I enter...he said he was in a bus to Oshodi when the phone was stolen...dat my only saving grace d first day i came to his office was he noticed he didn't see my face in d bus he boarded dat day..and again he liked me..He said he had already ordered boys dat will be at me dat very day I came to his office

I apologized to him and he advised I should stop buying phone from all those guys at Idioro dat most of them sells stolen phone..We kept communicating till he travelled out of d country..

Since then I wash hand comot for used phone... Except it's used by someone I know

1. Get Nigerian Foodstuffs Abroad27 August 2024 at 17:09

Hmmm, this is both frightening and funny at the same time.
      Thank goodness it turned out well eventually.

2. Una dey take risks sha. Person wey you no know invite you go him office and you go alone?

10. Buying second hand phone is very dangerous, my formal Neighbor bought second hand phone from a guy that sells used phone..we were all at home that day cause it was on a sunday they tracked him to the Compound and picked him up.it took the grace of God for him to survive after spending close to one year in detention...they sold almost everything land, properties and the rest because it was a murder case..

11. I can never buy a used phone. .after my innocent cousin spent 6mths in detention ,it took God's intervention to bring him out.

12. I have never bought used phone. But my undergraduate kids got iPhones bought for them,from accredited dealers.

13. Wow. We learn everyday.
    Chinazaekpere.

14. I have bought used phones in face to face sales, never had a problem. I do a chain of text messages through the buy site so there is a record of communication, then we setup a meet up point in public and complete the purchase. Buying from a resale shop and ensuring you get your receipt is also good. There are ways to do it safely. I wouldn’t buy out of a newspaper and without a communication trail.

15. I don comot my hand for used phone, whether tokunbo or naija used...
    I would rather stay phone less or buy a New one on easy buy
    My last itel phone that I got for 12k in Portharcourt showed me shege
    The amount I spent for weekly repair and charger is enough to get a new one
    It is also risky, especially if it is stolen
    May we not be unfortunate

16. We learn everyday,I will never go close to second hand phone again ooo

17. That Taxi driver should be locked up. He is complicit. The passenger that forgot it in his car had a SIM card attached to the phone, the person would have called the phone several times before giving up. He stole the phone and gave it to his wife. They should jail him.