Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN - EVERY FRIDAY

Friday, August 16, 2024

CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN - EVERY FRIDAY

In this my life, I have lived in many rented apartments and I have seen and unseen.I have been fortunate to have mostly good landlords except for two...

After the experience my friend's family had with their landlord who lived in the same building with them, I made up my mind from a young age that I would not rent any apartment that has either the landlord or landlady living in the same compound.
My friend's landlord was sleeping with his teenage sister, then told them he gave them six months rent for free, telling them he was considering that they struggled to pay the full rent. They kept paying for six months every year, wondering what came over Baba, not knowing that Baba was enjoying the remaining money in kind.
This Baba had previously been threatening them with a quit notice at any slight misunderstanding as he was very troublesome. Always fighting his tenants and giving them quit notice.
When he made passes at ths innocent girl, she obliged so that he would let her struggling parents to breathe.
The bubble bursted when he got the girl pregnant again after several abortions and she was told she may die if she tried abortion again. Pregnancy became wahala and Baba ran to one of his other houses in town where one of his wives lived. He didn't show his face till the girl gave birth and even after that.
He kept sending his wife to collect rent and refused to show. She was 19yrs old by then.
Her parents did one thing. They lived in that house for free for ten more years till the Baba died and his family sold it. Before they moved out, they dragged Baba's family to court and collected a share for their child, in millions of naira.
My first incident was with the landlord of one of the houses where I lived as a bachelor.
You see, there was no landlord/landlady in the compound when I moved in and I was happy. Then one tenant moved out and this Baba moved in with his brand new wife, he later left the wife in the flat after some months and moved back in with his first wife (some women are nice sha. I can't try that with my wife, babe is strong-hearted for life. She will show me shege banza kawai!)
After Baba left, this young landlady transfered all her frustrations on we the innocent tenants.
My eyes saw shege banza. At a point, she started making passes at me, omoh, I ran for my dear life.
The second incident was when I newly married.
The house was put up for sale and a fellow tenant bought it. He didn't evict us but he and his wife showed us pepper. This former nice neigbour-turned landlord changed to something else after buying the house.
He banned generator in the house but he was using his own.
10:pm was when the gate was locked, if you come back after that time, you sleep out.
If you have more than one visitor at a time spending some days with you, he will tell you to pay extra money for the extra utilities and the person must not stay for more than three months. So in his house, you can't help a stranded person with accommodation for more than three months.
No loud music was allowed, when a tenant gives birth and wants to celebrate naming ceremony, he has to go outside the compound despite the fact that there was enough space in the compound..
He would not fix any faulty part of the house.
Prepaid meters were not rampant then. He was in charge of collecting the NEPA bill but would not pay it, our light would be disconnected, he would still collect money from us to buy fuel in his generator for pumping water. We would be in darkness for weeks before he would go and pay. 
The above were just some of the wahalas.
I didn't spend up to one extra year there after he became the landlord.
After I had left, I heard that one of the tenants beat him till he fainted before leaving the house.

23 comments:

1. Hmmm. Landlord wahala. My house has been sold and the new landlord has increase the rent by 100%. We objected and she gave everyone quit notice. I can't wait to build my own house

1. The fastest quit notice is to increase the house rent

2. Our first land lord in Oremeta Street Ojodu berger then showed us pepper,after three years we had to leave,he lived in the same compound with us.
    Second landlord at aguda ogba was a jolly good fella,just pay am his rent.He would never fix any fault in the house though.We lived there for 10 solid years.
    We moved to Abuja and it has been beautiful. Alhamdu lLillah Raubil Alamin.

1. You are now your own landlord, God is good.

2. I tell you my love.Yaya kike?
      Which day we go hadu?

3. Landlord and tenant wahala is an unending vicious cycle that will continue, until we all decide to stop the payback mentality

1. Thank God say you no kpai yourself. E sure say you don mail Stella

4. Slept with my own landlord, never paid rent for 6 years till I moved out. He almost stopped me from leaving.

5. 😂🤣😹kpele..
    Thank God for grace to own our own house.. Will never take it for granted..

6. My landlord here in ayobo is very nice oo. Just pay ur rent. He lives in the compound with us.

7. Nothing like having your own house ooo
    That is My Prayer For Myself o

I remember when I still dey with My Mother for Face me I slap you
    Omo no Toilet ooo
    I have to wake up early Morning to go to the next street where my friend stay to use toilet and bath
    Landlady then no dey let person hear word
    ThankGod for Grace
    Still Praying for More GRACE oooo🙏🙏

8. Our landlord died and wifey took over,we are paying 90k for selfcon, after burial this woman turn the rent to 190k. I mean who does that? Double the payment.
    We have begged her,sent people and all that, this woman insist on, say if you can't pay park out.
    In this harsh economy this woman don't have human feelings.
    Is well ooo.

9. Hmmmmmm
    The Most Complex B

10. My sister lives in a compound where you see snakes like rats, guess what? The caretaker that lives in the compound doesn’t allow them kill the snakes. One tenant even saw a big one in her toilet, yet she had to hand it over to the caretaker. There is a strict instruction never to kill the snakes in the compound, just to hand them over when caught. The day my sister’s laundry guy killed one after he saw him while trying to dry clothes, the caretaker almost beat that guy. My sister’s rent is expiring this sept, she says they r moving out.

1. Lord have mercy 😮

Thank God for grace o🙏

11. Owning your own house is the best ooo. Our landlord just increased our rent from 900k to N1.8m. We dey find house like dis like dis...

12. Owning your own house is the best ooo. Our landlord just increased our rent from 900k to N1.8m. We dey find house like dis like dis...

13. Land Lord and Tenant issues.
    Pray for a Good Landlord or Landlady

14. Landlords ehn. Very terrible situation