Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Women Affairs Minister Kennedy-Ohanenye Says She Is Being Victimised Over Dubious $500m Loan

Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Nigeria's Women Affairs Minister Kennedy-Ohanenye Says She Is Being Victimised Over Dubious $500m Loan

Embattled Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy-Ohanenye, has revealed that she was allegedly being victimised by some cabals in government because she refused to sign a $500 million World Bank loan request.

On July 10, 2024, a near physical confrontation between Kennedy-Ohanenye, and the House of Representatives Committee on Women Affairs and Social Development was averted at the National Assembly Complex, Abuja, where the minister had appeared to clarify the controversy surrounding her alleged diversion of N1.5 billion meant for the payment of contractors by officials of the ministry.

Speaking with The Newspoint during a phone interview, the minister revealed that, “There is a $500 million loan that was meant to be signed by me, but I refused to sign. There was also a case of $100 million earlier as well. Find out what it was meant for.

“All the loans they collect, including World Bank loans, etc, are you aware that the same World Bank staff in Nigeria takes back 40 per cent and calls it consultation fees?
“These are things you people should look into. You people should focus on where the problem is and let them leave me alone.”
 “Now my life is at stake because I refused to sign the $500 million loan. Let me tell you, if I sign that loan today, I am entitled to five per cent of the money, but I refused to sign it. It is part of why the National Assembly and all of them are after me.
“And that 40 per cent they take is a secret, I found it out. Why should anybody give us a loan and you still direct us how to use the loan, and you take 40 per cent and provide us with a consultant that will take it, and they will take it?
“I told them $100 million is too much to use to teach our women how to save money, we can teach them, let them bring the $100 million and give it to those women and use it to know what to do with their lives.
“Let me do things that would impact the lives of the people. I made sure of the action plan.”
from AriseTV

29 comments:

1. Lol. Did y'all see the amount of money they are calling? Yet the masses should exercise patience while they stuff their pockets. Make them just restart this country 😭😭

1. Don't mind the greedy politicians

2. Evil entitled old rogues

2. Ahhh these people are wicked.
    Mehn Nigeria is a failed nation.
    Only a few in power are honest, the remaining 99percent needs to be finished off
    Enough is enough.
    If you people are afraid, then give us their family details let mandem handle it with a very small fee.

1. Any of them get pickin for youkay?
      Mandem wants to send some youngerz on a little errand still.
      It gotta start from somewhere.

3. $500m

Okay nahhhhh

Hello iya boys

4. Politics is for the strong hearted. If you are clean and want to enter politics, carry God along ooo and be very serious with Him.

As for Nigeria, I know God will step in.

1. That's the truth if not they will kpai the person. That's how they killed that GG of immigration woman married to Nnewi man because she refused to accept their corruption.

2. Clean people don't do politics in Nigeria!

3. May GOD drain the swamp

5. It's well oooo πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

6. Nothing surprises me with this current government, the worst in the history of government.
    Most (if not all) of them out for their personal interest

7. Dear Honourable Minister, let’s start with the first accusation first, did you divert $1.5 billion or not? I see you didn’t address that at all…😏

1. She addressed it at the panel. Go and read it

2. You can help her to address it nau , ike nsi.

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ Anonymous 17:36 you got me in stitches with that ike nsi comment up there🀷‍♂️

8. I don't understand the part where she said she is entitled to 5% of the loan. Is there a law supporting that?πŸ™„

1. She is telling you what ministers do and you are here asking about law.

It was ridiculous how they were asking her about 1.5m for fueling cars for a trip to Anambra when others hire private jets. If you know what other ministers and govt officials do, that 5% is even small. The 40% that will go back to the lender will be shared with those dragging her.

9. This administration is engaging in subtle witch hunting. From Dangote, to the arrest of the tik tok guy, to this woman and many others unmentioned.

But the real question is, did you or did you not divert the money?

1. The incompetence and naked entitled destructive greed

10. But a whole 40% though? that is why no long term effective change can be achieved. If a whole 40% is out under administrative reasons then only bandaid solutions that gives the appearance of something being done but no real material change ever happens and the cycle goes on and one. Then you see politicians showcasing their mansions and supercars on social media and other foolishness.

11. Replies
    1. Almost half of the money that has been borrowed in the name of Nigeria goes to their personal pockets.
      So for those that do not understand.
      If Nigeria borrow N1billion from Work Bank, 400Million will go to their pockets - the ministers before remitting the rest of the money.
      While the 400Million will be shared amongst themselves and the remaining 100Million used for on God's know what.
      How long will sit and allow this to continue for?

12. The amount these people call always can give person palpation walahi πŸ™„πŸ˜―