Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Legendary Singer Onyeka Onwenu Reportedly Dies Aged 72 After Performing At Event

Wednesday, July 31, 2024

Nigeria's Legendary Singer Onyeka Onwenu Reportedly Dies Aged 72 After Performing At Event

Legendary Nigerian singer, songwriter and actress, Ms Onyeka Onwenu is dead.
She reportedly slumped on Tuesday evening July 30, 2024 after performing at the Birthday party of Mrs Stella Okoli...
She was taken to the Reddington Hospital, Lagos where she reportedly died.
May her soul rest in Peace!

89 comments:

1. OMG
    This is so sad
    Rest well legend

1. 😢💔 not again....
      What is happening

2. A legend is gone chaaiiii...
      God rest ur soul
      RIP ma.

2. This is so sad 😞
    Rest in peace Legend

May God keep protecting us,this rampant sudden slumping and dying is a thing of concern.

1. Protrcting us from death? isnt it inevitable whether slumped or not...May her soul rest in peace, she died doing what she loved!

2. Thank you o Anon 09:47. If you had not made your comment, she would have attributed the death to the harsh economic situation in the country.
      The elegant stallion, rest in peace.

3. Why not check your health or your BP before performing.
    Avoidable death.
    Rest in peace ma

1. You think they don't take care of their health ehn?! My mum was leaving the hospital when she slumped and died!! She was certified fine before she left! Make anybody nor annoy me this morning

2. Nne na wa for you o Misheal.

3. Why are you talking in the nonsense, for God's sake!!

4. What are u typing bayii..Are you in any way in control of your own life?

Please, get a good rest abeg

5. Sorry Darling🫂🫂🫂

6. When is time to leave this world no amount of check can stop it

7. Avoidable death you say? When it is ones time, it is time...death is inevitable. The way Africans view life and death is appalling, yet they claim to know God! Onyeka died doing what she loved. Now to me that is a fulfilled life! Go figure!

8. You think that people don't die taking BP drugs, Don't joke with this life. it is deeper than you think, Only God knows

9. You don't get to choose and no amount of checks and medical care can stop the completion of life. The good thing is that she signed out at her best!

4. Chai! RIP momma

5. God will comfort the family left behind 🙏

6. This is just so sad. I can't even get myself to type RIP. I pray its not true

7. May her soul rest in peace. Amen

8. Legend😢
    God will comfort the family

9. GOD rest your soul Ma'am 🕊️

10. Omg!! Just like that..
    May she rest in peace..

11. This July be taking people anyhow. That's how I lost a friend. Rip legend and to all those who have died, eternal rest be upon you all and comfort to the families left behind
    Mor

1. My dear, it's not only this July, people die every minute, every second. It's just the ones that you hear and know that's why you are talking like that.
      May the souls of the departed rest in peace!

12. This is sad. May her soul rest in peace.

13. Oh Ms Onyeka. She is dead. So many death ooooo. God abeg.
    May her soul rest in peace amen.

14. Oh Nooooo 😭😭😭😭
    Rest in peace ma
    May God comfort the families

15. Omg,this is so painful,rest in peace elegant stalion. 😌😌😌

16. OMG! OMG! This is so sad! I just woke up and checked my phone and this news hit me. Rest in peace legend!

17. What??? 😮😮😮

May God grant her family the strength to bear the loss. And may her soul rest in peace. This is sad 😔. What a legendary woman!!!

18. She will be missed. RIP legend. Her duet with KSA is my fave, as well as "Hallelujah chimle."

19. Oh dear! She was still performing at 72? At that age she needed to do medical checks before every performance.
    May her soul rest in perfect peace

1. What's wrong with her performing at that age

2. No. She was doing what she loved to do. I have no desire to retire, I pray God gives me the mental and physical capacity to carry out my industry to the last day in co-creation with Him here on earth.

It is a blessing to do what you love to do at an advanced age, especially if you are working just for the joy of it and not the money.

3. Who told you she did not do medical check up before performing? Who told you that people that doctors certified ok don't die the next minute? Rest in peace mama

4. 09:20, your comment is soothing

20. She died doing what she loved to do up to the last moment of her life. Thank you for sharing your talent with us, ma. Rest in peace💕

21. This is sad.. Rest in peace legend.

Obianuju Augustina

22. Nigeria has lost a legend💔
    My love for this woman eeh, my dad made me love her more.
    Rest in peace great woman

23. 😲😲😲 Rest in peace legend. Maybe she stood up all through the performance. KSA seats while performing even EBENEZER OBEY because their age

1. Ebenezer obey is sick. He had stroke one time like that. Meanwhile, when it's time for death, it comes, no matter the precaution

24. Huh!. May her soul rest in peace.🕊

25. First news I heard today 😪 this is so sad.
    May God rest her beautiful soul.

26. Onwu!!
    Chaii!
    Rest in peace, nwanne mmadu.💔💔💔😭

27. This is so sad.
    Lord rest her soul and comfort her family. It's well.

28. Hain!! So it's true.
    Rest in peace ma

29. OMG 😳😟
    Rest on legend! God comfort her family

30. Rest in peace legend
    Comfort to your family

31. Oh dear
    So painful
    Rest well ma
    Ahhhhhhhh
    This One my mother still goes to the farm at 77years old
    I have told her to stop ooo
    She's not feeding anybody
    May God Protect Our Loved Ones 🙏🙏

32. OMG😞
    May God console and comfort her family

33. A legend gone. Her song 'Ekwe' will always be on my lips. R

34. Ewo!this is sad! Rest in peace. May God comfort her family

35. One of Nigeria legendary female musician. May God forgive all her short comings. Amin

36. Huge loss. Rip beautiful woman.

37. Rest in peace beautiful and talented woman 🙏

38. Rest in Peace Elegant Stallion 💔💔

39. Tomorrow is not guaranteed. This world is cold.😭😭😭😭😭

1. Zaram ehhh
      This world 🌎 is truly not our own!
      RIP ma'am

40. Haa may her soul rest in peace, she was a legend

41. May God rest her soul. An hero has fallen, this is sad.

42. Awww this is so heart breaking, so so sad, she passed on doing what she loved, deepest condolences to the fam, rest peacefully beautiful legend.. 🪽❤️

43. Rest in peace the beautiful stallion....

44. Rest in power Mama! Beautiful performance you gave there for a 72yr old. You would be sore missed...

45. 😭😭
    Chai!
    May your soul rest in peace

46. This is so sad. May her soul rest in peace

47. I think she died well , she wasn't sick, she reached a ripe age and she didn't become a vegetable, she died doing what she loves doing. May her soul rest in peace.

48. May her soul rest in peace! What a shocking way to go

49. Death of someone is a reminder to the rest of the living that our life here is temporary. While it is good to be ambitious, always have eternity in sharp focus. Live everyday as if it is the last. Fear God and keep his commandments for that’s the whole duty of man.

50. Rest on Adamazi

She died doing what she loves and does best!! The perfect way to leave this earth.May her beautiful soul rest In peace.

51. Oh my God, what a sad news😰😢💔
    May her soul rest in peace Amen.

Licious babe

52. OMG!!, Rest in peace Mama, such a talented legend

53. Kiaaaaaa. Rest in peace great woman

54. Chai! Mama Stallion is dead, a legend had gone to rest. May God rest her soul.