Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Customs Sends Out Red Alert On Chicken Smuggled Into Nigeria

Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Nigeria's Customs Sends Out Red Alert On Chicken Smuggled Into Nigeria

The Nigeria Customs Service, Ogun Area 1 Command, has warned the public against the consumption of smuggled frozen poultry products due to its health implications.

The command’s Comptroller, Mr James Ojo, gave the warning in an interview on Monday in Ota.
According to him, the World Health Organization; Centre for Disease Control and Prevention; Food and the Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations, described the consumption of smuggled frozen poultry products as having adverse effects on the health of the people.
Ojo said, “The frozen poultry products smuggled into Nigeria from the Republic of Benin were preserved with chemicals and often lacked proper regulatory oversight, increasing the risk of harmful chemicals being used for preservation.

from dailzposr

27 comments:

1. Hmm 🤔 who buys frozen chicken 🍗 again, for the longest time I don't buy frozen chicken, I buy live chicken from the market where I sell or from my neighbors that train chicken 🐓🐓.

1. Daddy nah odogwu you be ooo. I still but frozen chicken per kilo ooo. Cut soap for me ooo.

2. Chicken that has already been sold? Mtchwww if you want to know that there is God for real, go to Nigeria. A country that the life of the people are held by the grace of God... God will judge every wickedness

3. Na waoooo
    God will help us oooo
    Nah Frozen Chiken I dey chop oooo
    Chineke Biko oooo

Hello iya boys

4. I cannot remember the last time I bought that frozen chicken, I prefers live chicken but now that chicken has turned to gold is to face front. God will help us all.

1. In one market close to my house, they slaughter birds and share the parts into 4 or 5 for sale every Sunday. Better option.

5. The reason why I love the herdsmen no chemical just pure raw meat.

6. And they snuggled them in, what is the job of the customs service again? Tinubu should just remove them for incompetency.

1. Although I don't want to disprove this news, I feel they made this announcement cos the owners of this product outsmarted them, and the only way to ensure they don't thrive in the business is to say the chicken is contaminated.

What was their job in the first place?

2. 9.18, you are very smart! This has been happening for ages, when they outsmart them, they say all sort to spoil their business. My people, make una dey use vinegar soak and wash una meats. No problem

3. You too get sense @9:18

7. Na God hand we dey like this.

It's been a while I ate chicken though.

8. Why allow it into the country in the first place? That's why we have customs regulations. It's only God that is keeping us. Pls we can do better.

9. TASTE BLISS CAKES AND PASTRIES16 July 2024 at 09:23

That one na for people wey dey buy and eat frozen chicken.

10. Guess they come in cheaper than normal .Then this announcement is like medicine after death. Na God dey save us

11. The Nigerians I know are always deaf to this kind of warnings, they don't care. Some will even tell you to your face that "na today"

1. It's the truth, you will hear olorun ma lon sowa.

12. God have mercy on us oo risks too much for this country.

13. Lagos Mainland Girl16 July 2024 at 09:53

What do you people in power want us to do in this country?
    Always looking for ways to stress and make things difficult for the masses

14. Na wa ooooo

15. Same custom responsible for vetting everything before it enters the country saying this? Lol.
    For your info, nothing can enter the country without the knowledge of custom personnels