Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Experiences Severe Inflation Of Food Items

Thursday, June 20, 2024

Nigeria Experiences Severe Inflation Of Food Items

How much is foodstuff in your are? Where can one get it for less than they are paying now? what of the things in sachet like tomatoes, milk et al?

90 comments:

1. Food stuffs generally are very expensive..yam, tomatoes, pepper, bean, garri and the rest all very expensive.. to eat now is not like before again..in lagos places like Mile 12 and oyinbo are a bit cheaper they still have other places where you can still get it cheap..Only God will help the common man in Nigeria now..

1. Adding to places;Ojuwoye,Idi Oro in mushin.
      Ile epo market
      Iddo market
      Daleko market
      Ijora (sea foods)

2. Fresh pepper here is hot cake, everything is expensive.maybe it's only onions that is still affordable.

3. That yam own dey pain me pass. Very pricey
      No more yam in our house till further notice.
      May God help Us

4. Amen 🙏
      Make person no get panic attack the way things are going.

5. Foodstuff*
      No letter 'S' in front

6. Is Only Onions that is Affordable ooo
      You can can buy Onions for 200, 100 naira
      The Rest are Hot pepper ooo.

Hello iya boys

2. Derica tomatoes a carton is #6800 but we sometimes sell for #6750

Hot pepper satch.. carton from from #3500 to# 4500( scarcity)

Goldenpenny spag... pack (20 pieces)#15000

Gino max maggie big cart#12k small 5k

Power oil 4litrs# 7500

The list long..... no fixed price

1. Goldenpenny spag. 15000 is cheap oh, for Aba nah 17k.

2. I bought this cartoon of golden penny at #16200 around march, seems they cheat me

Fan Emmanuel

3. Golden penny spaghetti that we were buying for 4500. The day I was told 9k, I shouted. Now it's between 15k&17k! Hey God 😔

4. I bought 15,800 last Saturday 💔

5. I bought 16,800 for Aba , very heart breaking

6. Jerry which area is that?
      Drop ur contact info
      I sell wholesales I could patronize you.

7. Berrycious, Jerry is not into foodstuff. He is into media stuff and farming (according to him). Maybe someone forwarded the price list to him and he copied and pasted it here

3. Food stuff are just too expensive. I am supposed to be on particular diet, especially fruits but no the cost of food stuff and worse still fruits is like buying gold! 3-4 small pieces of Tomatoes#500 and pepper na no go area. One egg #200, ish nko na die! kilode! I can't even remember the month I took milk last.Then you start wondering how those with large family survive in this economy. God help us o.

1. My dear, it is not easy at all. Hmmmm, what of poor people? Some teachers with low pay, how do they manage to eat? I keep thinking. Yam now is going to 5k here in Port Harcourt, not as if it's even big oh. I'm also supposed to be on diet, more of vegetables but where the money? Things has never been this bad. Even garri sef is now expensive

2. That milk ehn. I must buy it every month cos of health challenges, even though it's annoyingly expensive. I buy the smallest hollandia in rolls. That way, I'm able to still manage it to an extent.

3. I better eliminate this fear of chicken from my body, so that i can start raising chickens at my back yard, even if its for eggs alone.

4. Abionah, you will be ok. Once they get used to you they will not peck you.

5. If you have enough space, please start o, you will gain alot..do you know how much they are selling the smallest chicken in the market? Start now and enjoy later

6. Beautiful Soul20 June 2024 at 15:16

Starr, that's what I'm planning to do now. Rear chicken for eggs and consumption plus the things I planted in my compound. Na sense person dey use survive for this economy.

4. Everything is now very expensive
    Sachet tomatoes -250
    Spaghetti -850
    7 pieces of pepper -500
    5 pieces of tomatoes- 1000
    1 egg-150
    Sachet milk -150
    Pure water-20
    The list too much.
    May God Almighty help us and make Nigeria great again.

1. Pure water I piece is 50 in my area
      Satchet tomato entered 200,I shock

2. Pure water #20? Ah....buy many bags keep o

3. Egg is 200 here
      Pure water is #30, 2 for 50 naira

4. Egg is 200 naira here
      Satchet Water is 3 for 100 naria and 1 for 50 naira
      Satchet milk peak 200 naira here
      Cow bell and the twins are 150 naira.
      The list longggg..

Na God!!

5. Purewater is #50 here
      Three for 100

5. Everything is now very expensive
    Sachet tomatoes -250
    Spaghetti -850
    7 pieces of pepper -500
    5 pieces of tomatoes- 1000
    1 egg-150
    Sachet milk -150
    Pure water-20
    The list too much.
    May God Almighty help us and make Nigeria great again.

6. Food Stuffs are expensive every where due to the greediness of most middlemen.
    If you're not close to those big markets and you're not buying in bulk,it's still not adviceable because by the time you calculate your transport,it might be higher than the price you will buy in your area.
    For me,I make use of credible wholesalers,expensive but I don't feel cheated.
    God will help us.

7. food stuff price is not something one can tell the actual price cos every seconds the price is changing. You buy something this minute and the next minute the price is twice. Is only God that has been helping us to feed cos i don't know he does it but he does it perfectly well.

Tomatoes one buy for 300 naira is now 1500 small plate oh, not like this one can make stew, beans is now 2800 for the white one. Beans that people hardly buy is now more expensive than rice.

8. Stella it is bad like very very bad...Even markets like Oyingbo, Iddo you get cheap food items everywhere don red...Even blended dry red pepper of 2,500 is nothing to write home about....

I bought 1k worth of fresh pepper on Monday, I was having palpitations...It fit into my pocket like howwww!!

There is a place in Ajegunle my mom bought these very fair price of dry fish and Ishi Okporoko...Na that one I know...

Stella red eye dey everywhere for street oh...Haaa!!!

1. Phoenix I bought dry red pepper derica for 2500 on Tuesday I was shocked..because it used to be 1500naira before..

2. I love going to oyingbo cos of mangala fish and I get to buy other items like ogbono, egusi,stock fish and other things cheaper. Now, the transport fare lasan no be beans. I tire

3. Last Saturday I bought 1 congo of dry pepper 4,500, fresh pepper half bucket 10,000.
      IT IS WELL

9. Food stuffs are expensive.Beans,rice,egusi,garri,meat,ogbono,pepper and tomato etc

I prays things should come back to normal🙏
    May God help us in najia

10. Even if you buy them a little bit cheaper, after all the transportations and all, e go still be the same thing.

Fuel price is the problem for all these things.

We're in the slave regime.🥴

1. My dear, it is not funny.
      I’m even surprised the way I’m people are quiet o. Where are the wayo activists? Them don collect money clean mouth. Lmao.

Sluttychic.

2. That transportation is the real problem due to cost of fuel

11. Ending of march this year I bought the biggest basket of tomatoes at 15k, boiled some and partitioned them in the freezer. I heard last week that the size of that basket is currently sold at 140k. I came home, opened my freezer looked at my remaining tomatoes and laughed. I dey suffer for other things sha

Fan Emmanuel

1. Welcome back oh.
      Nah this post drag you out.

2. Thank you my darling

Fan Emmanuel

12. We are surviving my God's grace,I live in the food basket of the nation and for me to say food is expensive says alot.yes it might be a bit better here than other places but we have never experienced such hike in prices before,everyday things keep going up.Almost everyone here has gone into farming but the rains are not even stable and the price of fertilizer is something else.It is well

1. MomB, you're so correct, prize of fertiliser is now 40K. Compare to last year. Was sold for 25k last year aside the fuel, manuer and fertiliser are also the reasons why this things are very expensive. God please intervene, famine is real.

2. Fertilizer. No wonder my neighbor goes round the street packing cow dungs. Everyday, you will see this woman with shovel and bucket. Na wa.

3. I planted ugu, okra, pepper, anara and groundnuts in my small farm then I used sacks to plant yams. Thank God for my chicken dung, I don't buy fertilizer. The place is very fertile sef.

4. Osundi, are you in the village?

If anyone wants to plant small for your household you can plant without using any fertilizer if you have good soil, even if you are planting in pots, cans or sacks. So go ahead and plant if you want to. Planting big for sale to the public will require some fertilizer use.

13. The price of goods are generally expensive now, egg is 200 naira per 1 today, beans is 2000 per derikas (Ewa oloyin) only God can help us 🙏

1. Really,beans is now 2k,the last time I bought,it was 1600.....it is well ooooo

2. 1 mudu of beans is #2,800 in Abuja as at today.
      ~La creme

14. Food stuffs are expensive. The price you buy in the morning is not the same price you will buy in the evening.

15. Food stuff is too expensive
    Where do I start from...
    We are feeding now by the grace of God
    Most especially perishables like pepper, tomatoes etc

16. The inflation is crazy
    And no fixed prices, whatever you buy today by tomorrow it has gone up again.

For pepper, yam and the rest Ilepo is my go to.
    For provisions and toiletries,I go to provision store where they sell wholesales. They are cheaper than supermarkets like jendol.

1. Some things are actually cheaper there and justrite than some stores, depends on what you are buying

17. Foodstuff,I don't even have mouth to talk.
    A crate of egg is 6,000.I bought 5,800 with abeg😓
    A kilo of chicken is 5,000
    Fresh tomato is a no go area.
    It's never been this bad.

1. I bought a crate of egg,4k last week Monday with shakara only to ask on Wednesday in mine neighborhood and the woman said 5k last price.....na to manage this one that I bought.
      Its only palmoil that has stable price since this regime.

18. What can one even afford these days?
    Tiny rubber of pepper is 8k. Let’s not even go to tomatoes zone....the country is sinking.
    And some people are still supporting this govt, smh.

Sluttychic.

1. Slutty my Neighbor bought 3pieces of yam for 18k yesterday.. I just opened my mouth very wide while looking at the yam

19. Good morning all, the food stuff matter no be here oooh. Presently I don't know the meaning of balanced diet na make food dey Belle level we dey now. I cannot explain what we are going through now and I wonder how people with large family are coping.
    At the moment all I know is that the Lord is my Shepherd and my help will come from Him.God will make a way for us in Naija in Jesus name.
    Chi loving

1. My dear no more balanced diet o. A friend was telling yesterday that she can't remember the last time she ate good food.

20. Everything is so expensive
    We survive by the grace of God. It's not easy.
    The last time I went to Cotonou for business I bought rice even as the exchange rate is high it's still better than buying it over here.

21. The inflation is too much!! !,Most times , l go to the market and come back angry, it's not funny anymore things are just too expensive, every minute the price of items keeps increaseing.
    Some bush market here l go to buy food stuff cheap, things are no longer cheap there anymore on like before.
    In all we're surviveing by God's grace.
    I wonder if it will ever get better again.

1. I always pity maids/helps sent to the market, I hope they don't get accused of stealing by the time they show what they could get from the market with the money given to their bosses

22. Honestly,it has never been this bad as in baaad.
    Beans that used to be poor man food is now more expensive than rice sef, a mudu of brown beans is 3k while white one is 2700.
    Tomatoes painter is 10k like how!
    Atarodo 5pcs is 200
    Tatashe 5pcs 500
    A mudu of Nigerian stone free rice is 2500. I bought sachet tomatoes for 150 as at on Tuesday.
    I don't buy fresh pepper again, I use grinded Cameron pepper,at least that one is cheaper now.
    We are at God's Mercy because we don't even know how we are feeding but God is always coming through.

1. Nwanne madu the thing don pass man power..every day new prices are coming up..chikki indomie carton is 7500 today's price..

2. See me, i tied Cameron pepper for nylon make e dey waste. Let me go and bring it out to start pampering it ooo. E must not spoil.

23. Were I wan start from? This rivers state wey them think say every body the work for oil company.cost of feeding na wa,abeg is well.

24. it is not easy for us the single mothers. You sometime just have to do 101 or 100 sometimes. Rice here is 500 per small rice cup same with garri. you get a small tuner of yam for 3k. Eggs is 6k per crate. How did we get here.

1. We're talking about food crises, you start mentioning single mothers! You think it is easy for double mothers. Everybody is going through this hardship together.

2. Anon you sef see ba.

25. Everything's so expensive that, I wish I just close my eyes and by the time I open it, I should find myself in another better country, I just look people that have large family with side eyes, like how are they coping?
    Before, they would say if you're in the village, you might not have money, but food is very 100% sure, as you will eat to your satisfaction, not any more, even village people are very hungry and lean now, God help us, na your hand we dey.

26. Things are very expensive. One cup of beans 450, one cup of rice 400, spaghetti 900 fresh pepper is gold so I use dry pepper that one is cheaper. My boy baby milk is now 6500, na cowbell my baby dey take now and he eat other food. Na God hand we dey like this.

1. You see that rice part ehnn all thanks to angel koof,I close eye bought half bag from Sabo at 33500 then, bought onions and dry pepper. Only knows how much it is now.

27. Not just food stuff. EVERYTHING is expensive. Drugs, transportation, hair products. Everything.

1. My dear, that drug matter tire me. The way I am managing my inhaler eh. There's one I'm to use daily, the price i heard when i bought another eh

28. Hmm where do one start from , prices of foodstuffs are ridiculously expensive, since I was born and now I am old it has never been like this.

29. Popsy was going on an emergency travel home. I say make i do small shopping get Baby geh, some things yesterday evening 20k no reach anything presentable 🥲
    had to buy them here cos it's worse down in East.
    May God help Us🙏🏻

30. Someone said if you're hypertensive, don't go to the mkt because you'll get triggered. It might sound funny but this matter is very serious. It doesn't boil down to foodstuff alone but the focus is more on it because it's a necessity that must be met.
    Omoh ehnnn I'm seriously praying and hoping we get pass this stage

31. Everything Is expensive, not only food stuff but Transportation drug etc. But the Major causes of this high of things .
    UNIONS: let me take yenegoa as example, as common as pepper 🌶 have Union, the chairman will being the one to decide how many truck or bags of pepper that will enter the state, then they will decide on the price to sell out as a union member you have to abide by the law. The same goes to tomato 🍅 icefish .
    2 this period is planting season so most foodstuffs are old one that have being preserve for months. So the price can never be the same .

32. hmmnn food stuff no be here...about a year ago I used to stock my house with 25k(basic things) now 75k no even reach...

33. My neighbour is financially comfortable and his wife has planted a beautiful vegetable garden in their backyard. A few ppl that I know are planting what they can even in empty paint cans, you don't need a lot of land or space to plant. Plant if you are able to, especially if you have lots of free time.

34. The person who bought the big basket of tomatoes and freeze, you are the real og, I need to borrow your brain. You remind me of my mother. She freezes everything, so when the season is over she will always have.

We abroadians are dealing with high prices too.

35. Hnmmm all I can say now is that it is well. God have mercy on us.

36. The prices of food stuff is so depressing. I'm so worried. I bought a small Dustbin basket of tomato for 22k. Something that was never up to 4k. I was very tired. If not for the fact that my kids are selective, I would have just left it. May GOD have mercy

37. Not only food

Drugs is no go area but man pikin must to drink medicine
    Transportation nko?
    House rent,some landlords has increased their house rents.

In God we trust.