Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: First Bank Staff Reportedly On The Run After Diverting N40Billion To Private Accounts

Friday, June 21, 2024

First Bank Staff Reportedly On The Run After Diverting N40Billion To Private Accounts

A First Bank employee identified as Tijani Muiz Adeyinka is now on the run after diverting N40 billion at the bank’s head office team in Iganmu, Lagos. 

He allegedly diverted those funds to 98 bank accounts classified as first beneficiaries, including his wife’s. 
 The bank, with a market capitalization of ₦829 billion, reported the incident to the Nigerian Police Force on March 25, 2024, and obtained multiple court orders to freeze accounts connected to the stolen funds. 

As reported by Tech Cabal, Tijani Muiz Adeyinka, the employee implicated in the scandal, held a managerial position in the electronic products team at First Bank’s headquarters in Iganmu, Lagos. Adeyinka, now a fugitive, allegedly diverted approximately ₦40 billion (around $29 million) over two years. 

He purportedly exploited his role to misappropriate funds by directing customer reversal requests to a merchant account under his control. His ability to finalize transactions without additional approvals allowed the scheme to go unnoticed. The fraud came to light following a customer complaint, prompting an internal review by the bank’s control unit, which uncovered numerous suspicious transactions.

In response, First Bank alerted the police and pursued legal measures to mitigate the financial loss. First Bank took proactive steps by obtaining three court orders between April 4 and April 8, 2024, to freeze hundreds of accounts suspected of receiving the diverted funds. Among the affected accounts were 98 classified as first beneficiaries, including one belonging to Adeyinka’s wife, as well as numerous second-tier accounts. 
 Court documents revealed that Adeyinka routed funds to his wife’s account at Zenith Bank, which then dispersed the money across 34 additional accounts. These accounts subsequently channeled the funds to 1,190 other accounts, creating a complex network of transactions to obscure the origin of the stolen funds. 
 In a statement to the Lagos State Commissioner of Police dated May 10, 2024, the bank affirmed its collaboration with law enforcement agencies to uncover the circumstances surrounding the fraud and apprehend all individuals involved. “We hereby bring to your notice the discovery of fraudulent transactions into various transactions within and outside the bank and request your good offices to set up the machinery of investigation in place with a view to unravel the circumstances surrounding the said fraud and get the culprits apprehending to face the wrath of the law,” read a letter dated May 10, 2024, from First bank to the Lagos State Commissioner of Police.

46 comments:

1. some innocent people will suffer in this case.

1. No innocent person will suffer in this case, anybody that gives their account for smthn shady, knows it, cos they bargain and get their cut. Any innocent person that receives huge funds they know nth of, would have gone to the bank to report, and find out the source. Or is it the wife? Would you honestly say that she didn’t kno those funds were illicit? Abeg abeg

2. How can first bank be this careless. They should have chain of commands, one person is not supposed to initiate transfer and approve. hmnn, the person get mind sha!!

1. Lyndy,

And you think they don't?! Every system(everywhere in the world) drop the ball from time to time.

They'll be caught. And they'll serve time.

2. Read it again, it said because he was the final approving authority, that is why the transactions scaled thru. It didn’t say he was the only one that cud initiate and finalise the transaction

3. How do people perform this kind of fraudulent transactions and feel they will never be caught someday. "Indeed the love of money is the root of evil" "the heart of man is desperately wicked, who can know it"

4. The worst scammers work in banks! Bl**day thieves

5. Customers missing funds gathered by one person.

6. Replies
    1. Iya Nimi,

What does that have to do with this? Please explain.

Thank you.

7. Imagine 40billion naira chai!!! People like them the wife go dey slay for Instagram with different designer dresses, bags, shoes, expensive wigs, pictures of she and her thief husband on vacation, pictures of their mansions and fleet of expensive cars .while claiming God did it for them.
    Or they might not even do all of these things in other not for the world people to suspect them or put eyes for their body. They might just be living a silent billionaire lives.
    Indi palm wine tappers be careful what you tap into.

1. This is what came to my mind @your first paragraph

8. The young man was moving 2 billion naira every month. Customers with failed transactions were being frustrated because reversals wasn't being done. For 2 years this went on under the past CEO and nothing was being done absolutely nothing.

29 million dollars is a hell of a lot of money. I find it rather curious that it took the emergence of a new CEO in April this year before this fraud was discovered. This matter has the potential of implicating a lot of people.

1. DOGgedity,

Nothing baffling about it and it has nothing to do with the emergence of a new CEO( your text implies you think there is connivance between them).

Every organisation has its security checks and approvals.

Sorry to disappoint you, but reversals do not fall in the list of responsibilities of a CEO.

We have the HOPs, Internal audit , risk and/or compliance, CFO etc etc.

Unfortunately, a lot of heads are rolling because of the criminal act of one man and his family!

However, the overall wellness of an Organisation will fall on the top person. In this case, an MD.

Let us learn to hold people accountable for their personal decisions rather than excusing it!

2. Pointing to one thing, he didn’t do it alone, like u rightly said, many ppl wud be implicated. The good thing, since it’s not a govt agency, they would dfntly get to the root of the matter.

3. Read up Mr Doggy
      They discovered it in March and reported to the police, before the emergence of a new CEO

9. So much greed.😒😒😒

1. If GREED was a person it would be Tijani Muiz Adeyinka.

10. They will catch him sooner than he thought.
    It baffles me how some people will see trouble and peace but they will choose trouble instead, now how is he going to enjoy the money?

11. if this is not greed I don't know what we should calm this

12. GREED!
    He can't run forever, not with people's sweat and blood

13. Good for the yoruba Cabal that employ only themselves!!! As tech consultants! All my jobs now from abroad ! The last interview I did for two of the top banks for Head of Innovation! Once it's yoruba 8diots turn to interview you! After their stage; you don't hear from the banks! As I be Niger Deltan wey don study across continents! I have warned people to not use Firstbank because their Internet banking is questionable! I hardly use their pos or merchants! The 2nd bank go soon misbehave! I have peace of mind sef doing my private consulting.

1. Congratulations for gushing out rubbish, so fraud has never happened in UBA, Zenith, Fidelity banks that are owned or dominated by non-Yoruba.
      Make una dey think before rushing to talk.
      You didn't get the jobs because they got employed people better than you

2. @ 14:08 God bless you real good!, did you not hear me say I will keep quiet for the other banks until they misbehave! I will not come low to your level, because if I check , you might not even up to my security man or one low life; who is a definitely a human being but not on my interaction scale. They can employ whoever they want! Now Nigerians funds go continue to suffer in the hands of thieves and criminal as bank staff. All know is tribal sentiments fro. The yoruba and fulani have finished Nigeria!!! Let everyone go back to their region; because more banks will fail! Mostly for political reasons;not because they are unhealthy! My advise is take your lump deposits from Nigerian banks ! Either buy assets or put them in the foreign backed banks!!!My two cents for those that are wise.

14. They will catch him sooner than he thought.

15. Most of those bank staff are criminals, my brother did one transaction with an online bank recently, it read successful, but the recipient said he didn't see it, he went to their office and they were insisting that the money wasn't with them, they even gave him a series of number that, that was the proof of the successful transaction, he should give the person to trace the money, we were even insulting the seller thinking he was lying, until he went to the recipient's bank and they said the money wasn't with them, he now went back again to his bank before they reversed the money, more than two weeks, i guess this is how they always do with customers that don't see their reversed money.

1. Grateful soul,

And this your narration qualifies you to write that "most bankers" are criminals?.

16. Can you imagine!!
    So all those monies that get missing via transfers and reversal that never happens is going to someone's account 🤦

17. You see am, I'm sure My 3k wey enter voice mail na this guy handiwork 🙄

1. @ Teacher NK! The guy was even entering people's account to carry out indiscriminate debits! Someone complained of a 100k debit ; that until today Firstbank has not resolved! I don't use them for anything.

18. Omo!!!
    40billion 😲
    People get mind sha
    They will catch him sooner than he ever thought

19. One person did all this!!!
    He will be caught.
    Greedy man

20. This is Greed at its Peak

Some Bankers are just Criminals in Suit. He must have a Syndicate to be able to perpetrate such grand Theft

I hope he’s caught and incarcerated

21. This is too much
    The love of money is the root of all evil

22. Most bankers are thieves in suits.
    Just imagine the amount of money he stole, no fear!
    Certainly he'll be caught soon then he'll start blaming the devil.

23. 🥱another day another thief on the run.

24. The man get mind oh, big criminal.

25. Thank God his atrocities was uncovered, just causing people pain because of greed.

26. If this Criminal is caught ehen
    Let me not just talk ooooo
    Ahhhhhh kaiii chaiii yepaaaass
    Okay nahhhhh except is not in Niger again....but ehen 🤸🤸🤸

Hello iya boys