Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebonyi Varsity VC Statement On Student Who 'Unlifed' Herself Over Alleged Lecturer Intimidation

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Ebonyi Varsity VC Statement On Student Who 'Unlifed' Herself Over Alleged Lecturer Intimidation

WOW...This is a detailed response!!The management of Ebonyi State University, Abakiliki, has broken its silence over the death of Miss Favour Ugwuka, a final year student of the institution in the Department of English Language and Literature, who unlifed herself on Wednesday, May 23, 2024 in her hostel....

Addressing journalists on Monday at the institution’s conference room, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Chigozie Ogbu, dismissed claims by the deceased that the accused lecturer was behind her failure.

Ogbu’s briefing read in part: “When a student is confident that a lecturer has deliberately marked them down, and they are sure that they passed the exam, what the student does is to complain to the HOD or Dean and request re-marking, which will be sent to the Vice Chancellor’s office.

“It is usually sent to another university to re-mark and let us know. Some of them, on very rare occasions, have returned positive, and whatever the student gets here is usually what they get from the other university after re-marking, and that is the process.
“If at the last exam, the late student felt that she was marked down by the lecturer, she would have complained to the Dean and asked for re-marking, and the paper would have been sent to another place for re-marking.

‘But from what is seen, it’s not that the student deserves to pass, and she didn’t pass. And from the record, you will find out that this is not the only course that she didn’t pass.”
Professor Ogbu further stated that, according to the certified true copy of Ugwuka Favour Chinonye’s results, with the registration number EBSU/2018/89726 for the Department of English Language and Literature, who registered in the year 2018/2019, and that is her 1st year.

In her 1st year, she offered 9 courses out of which she failed 3 courses and had a CGP of 1.78. In the 2nd semester of her 1st year, she took 8 courses, out of which she failed 2 and had a CGP of 1.75, thereby having a sessional CGP of 1.76.
Professor Ogbu continued, “In 2019/2020, which is her 2nd year, she registered a total of 10 courses. Out of the courses, she was absent in 2 courses: Intermediate English Composition (ENG 215) and Philosophy and Logic (GST 102). She was absent in the 2 courses out of the 8 she wrote, she failed 2. She had a GP of 1.41 in that 1st semester. In her 2nd semester, she registered 10 courses. Out of the 10 courses, she failed 4 and had a CGP of 1.82. Total CGP in her 2nd year is 1.62.”

The Vice Chancellor went on to detail Ugwuka’s academic performance in subsequent years, concluding that she had outstanding courses, including ENG 416, which she failed twice.
from dailypost

44 comments:

1. Before u commit that suicide, pls pause and think about those u will leave behind and how they will feel!

2. Only Favour knows exactly what made her take her own life. Quite unfortunate though. May her soul rest in peace.

3. All I will say is that it is well. May her soul rest in peace

4. Eyaa, it is well, I wished she didn't commit suicide

1. Wish so too,what a pity 😪

2. Me too. If the department was too challenging for her, she could have moved to a less hectic one rather than this suicide.
      Too sad.

3. @ Dainty, same thought I had, if she wasn't meeting up, she should have moved since 200 level to a less demanding department. Start learning a skill by the side, seeing that education isn't really flowing well.There's always a way, if you're willing to try other options.

5. It is well. I wish she didn't commit suicide.

6. Okay Sir so she kept failing from Year 1 and Year 2, and you guys kept allowing her to move to the next stage abi? At least I saw the 4 walls of a University, there are courses that are prequisites to write other courses for exams. If she failed 3 courses out of 9, why is the GPA still 1.76 meanings the remaining 6 courses she got on an average of D or E.

Same thing repeated itself in 2nd Year. Sometime is truly not adding up...I agree she could have requested for a re-mark but every student knows that the school will usually use it against the student and would even give the student a lower grade because lecturers derive joy in victimizing the students.

There are some prequisite courses that if you do not pass and might increase your total course loads for the year. Such students are advised to move to other course of study within the same facility. In this case FACULTY OF ARTS, she would have been moved to Philosophy, Sociology, Religious studies e.t.c

Please this story does not add up at all. It is unfortunately she had to unalive herself. May her soul rest in peace and as normal Nigerian style, this too will pass and everyone will just move on....

Arrrghhhh!!!

1. Wether she failed or the school is covering up for the lecturer, her mom Should have been the ONE reason to stay alive. Watching that woman broke my spirit. She lost. Very sad.

2. *Sighs* I really wish she didn't unalive herself. They have already moved on. I typing, I am alive today by God's grace. They thought they could drive me to this but God has better plans for me. Those who haven't experienced this won't understand.........

3. Phoenix, you did a long writeup but with little substance. Did you attend EBSU and have full details of the GPA and academic system? Each university has its peculiar academic system. Let us condemn wrong attitude and action by people. She was a below average student and was wrong in committing suicide. Let's call a spade, a spade and not a spoon. It is this certificate mentality in Nigeria that makes people insist on higher education instead of skills acquisition.

4. Phoenix it's very possible for her to have had that result. I have a relative who graduated with a pass and that's how the person's result was all through school (5 year course plus an extra year), strings of D's and Es in the so called courses he passed. He was not withdrawn from the department he started at.

5. Spot on Phoenix. It’s known factor that you can’t below a CGPA and one is allowed to move on to the next class. Failing the same course from 100L leads to the prompt intervention of her HOD before the Panel involved. HOD advises one to probably start considering change of course while presenting options. Since the news has been made public, there has complaints from various individuals regarding the school and that lecturer. It is well.

Young lady, so sad you choose that route. It is well. Rest in.

7. Before nko, you will support your lecturer and defend your school. She failed other courses but why was she so particular about the man's course? Why didn't she complained about others?

Only God knows what transpired between her and the so called Enyi man, Man can try to do their own but God rewards everyone accordingly. She can't defend herself anymore. I only pity the mother that she left behind.

8. The Lecturer and the school authority obviously knows how to clean their mess! quiet unfortunate.

1. Tor,she is not alive to defend herself again,it's well

9. Suicide is not an option! If formal education is not for you just seek for other options. Those without a degree are still successful. May God console her family

10. Her course load seemed quite heavy. We will never know so much about what was going on in her world. May her soul find peace.

1. Which heavy? Have you seen engineering or medical sciences course load?
      I feel bad for her. I hope the uni isn't lying because I know of people who wrote exams and saw their results in the school system only to be told in their final year that they are not students of the school.

2. Engineering course load is 11-12 courses per semester during the 1st and 2nd years. It gets better and falls to 6/semester by the 5th/final year.

11. Chai, it's a pity that she's not here to defend her self.
    May her soul rest in peace Amen

12. May her soul rest in peace..only God knows what happened

13. Suicide is not the way. She couldn't even defend herself now. I really feel for her mother, watching that video broke me. That was a woman in severe pain.

May her soul rest in peace.

14. This story of her failing aside, schools need to start decentalizing their courses. Multiple lecturers should teach each course and set questions for exams, that way, no lecturer can have a stronghold on any student in the name of witch-hunting for whatsoever reason.
    This helped so much in my department, if you like, witch-hunt me, na your loss because there will be like 3 to 4 other lecturers taking that same course, and all I need do is study hard for the other parts so I can make up with good grades from theirs should that 1 lecturer decide to move mad.

1. That is how it is where I went to school, and how it should be.

15. Graduates from EBSU knows that the School and it’s Lecturers and workers are so Wicked…

They think they are gods

They fail girls for not sleeping with them
    I no wan talk sha

All of them from Head to Toe are the Same

Evil set of Lecturers and School Administrators.

I reported to my HOD A.N, he demanded Sex on Top missing Script wey no concern Molecular Genetics.

No be today Student begin commit Suicide for EBSU, some even retook JAMB and gained Admission in other Schools.

God go punish am wella

1. I watched a few YouTube videos about the school and honestly, it just looked like an agricultural college. I am shocked that a school that is only 25 years old wasn’t more modern. Those remote schools are the ones where bad behaviour will go unchecked. Maybe it is a great school for something and for students who cannot afford to go out of state, but the place just looks somehow.

16. A smiley face in a story about suicide is not quite okay

That said, the school should nver release a students result without her consent
    There are ways to answer the public without breaking confidentiality
    We as a country should always do things the right way
    Also, her failing the course is not in dispute
    What’s in dispute is whether she was graded properly so I’d expect the school to say they have pulled her exam papers and independently reviewed them and they agree the professor graded her correctly

1. Everything you said!

2. My thoughts too, I still dey wonder wetin that smiley dey do for this kind story?

17. Her CGPA shows she was not a dullard as being presented. Most schools in Nigeria do not provide proper counselling and advisory services. That was where the story went awry.

1. Totally correct
      From year one they should have reduced her course load

18. just to kindly correct Stella it is "UNALIVE" thanks ...

19. Some lacturals are evil, they don't care about your feelings , even when you sumond courage to talk to them about an error on results u will be mark down for failure. A lactural failed me just because I didn't buy his text book on time on my ND final I try all my best to report him to the school magt
    But it didn't work out because the man is a senior staff ,some other lactural I related the matter to withdraw because of the man position. I have to come back for extra year for the course, but I prayed a very bad prayer for him. When I came back for my HND the man took us on a course sefty his text book was the first I bought, after we wrote his exam and went for break . They post it on our Whatsapp page that the man is dead