Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN

Friday, May 31, 2024

CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN

I see how they hammer on exclusive breastfeeding in the hospitals, radio, television, etc. They fail to tell women that if their strength cannot carry it, they should not do it. They make it look as if mothers that don't do it are failed mothers.

I have seen kids who lost their mothers at birth turn out well - smart, intelligent, loving and brilliant. I have also seen some who sucked breasts for extra 2yrs after 6months exclusive breastfeeding turn out the opposite way.
Women, exclusive breastfeeding is good, do it if you can do it, however if you cannot do it because of one reason or the other, give your baby Baby's formula and other foods too. Nothing will happen. Some children, breastmilk will never be enough for them before they clock 6months. Each child is different.

Some women, their strength will not carry it, breastfeeding drains. You see some nursing mothers looking lean and malnourished, it is not an easy task but some men underrate it. They say "is it not just to bring out breasts and give baby?'
Some women, their breasts do not produce milk at all while some produce minimal quantity which is not enough for baby.

A neighbor's wife slumped out of exhaustion recently. Baby boy will suck breasts for 24 hours and not still "belleful", always crying. The mother kept giving him while doing other chores in the house. According to her husband, she eats late most times too as she doesn't have an help, her mum left after two months of delivery and hubby has to work.
Thank God that her hubby was at home when it happened, he would have met her corpse on the floor if he was at work.

Eat well while breastfeeding, buy pap and other cereals, milk and beverages in the house so you can quickly make them and relieve hunger before proper food is ready.
This is why you should not have a baby if you are not okay financially. I know how my pockets looked when we newly had all our kids.

51 comments:

1. I totally agree with this.

Breastfeeding a baby without fully loaded wirh food is a suicide mission.

That is why back in the days they will load you with pounded yam as a new mum so you can feed your child well and have strength.

1. Poster you ain't never lied. I've been eating like a hoodlum!!! I still sent my mum a picture of the plate of food I was eating (beans and plantain), even me myself dey shock with the amount of food entering my stomach😂😂.
      My mum set was surprised because 1, I hated beans while growing up, and 2, the quantity I ate. For context, I was a very very light eater, I ate the size of food for an average 7-8 year old before pregnancy and breastfeeding hold me.
      Its made me have so much compassion for nursing mothers in homes that can barely afford to feed because heaven knows it's no small energy that shii consumes.

2. True @Dainty
      You will see a woman that is struggling to feed saying she is doing exclusive breastfeeding. She will now be looking like a prisoner and be saying "this boy, you suck too much".

2. This message is solid. Only a well nourished, healthy woman can think to do exclusive. It’s cheaper than formula and probably more hygienic, but you can’t breastfeed on bread and coke diet.

3. Exclusive breast feeding is not a childs play. Not just tiring and exhausting but it's draining financially, emotionally and otherwise.

1. It's cheaper than formula if you can afford to eat well sha.

4. This poster, you are very on point 👍
    I love you for this 😍

You see some women looking very emaciated while breastfeeding. Stress of taking care of other kids, cooking, house chores and breastfeeding all join to affect some mothers. Let's take care of ourselves pls.

5. I agree 💯 with you
    Exclusive breast feeding is not for everyone
    I plan to start formula at 3 months
    My supply is more than my babies demand
    If you can do it, go for it

6. Well,you are right, personally I did mine for 3months and I couldn't cope again,it's wasn't funny,I was always hungry.

7. WINNER, YES I AM!31 May 2024 at 13:41

so true. Eat amala with ewedu and beans soup. Eat pounded yam with egusi. Take bread with milk and milo. Drink pap and water very well. This isn't the time for dieting or watching your tummy. After weaning your baby, your shakara starts form dieting to exercising

8. I did exclusive for my first son...but didn't have d strength for d 2nd..

It's not easy doing exclusive especially for boys...u need to eat very well

9. So true poster. Breastfeeding is not easy, some children can suck, leaving the mother weak and tired. Everyone mother should do what is best for her and not what people say.

10. Story of my life. Still breastfeeding my two year old second born because I don't have the strength to stop. I tried it several times to no avail. When I was to stop breastfeeding my first (at 2 years, 3 months by the way), I went to my step mum's place. She helped me through it. Now I can't go because of financial implications. No money for that journey yet. I always look stressed. My first has autism and is really hyperactive. I'm always tired. I've been telling my husband I can't wear my child alone but it's like he doesn't really understand. I don't have that kind of strength. To make matters worse, I was diagnosed with arthritis. I always have chest pain. I'm just too tired.

1. I feel for you. Tell your hubby what to do in order to wean the child. If you have more than one room, then start withdrawing the breast, let the baby sleep with him in a separate room with tea close by.

2. Hugs mama. The LORD is your strength.

3. Once u are ready to stop, u will. I don’t even think about it. The baby will cry and I will hurt but it ends there! My first took two days for her to forget breast exists, my second took only a day. If u keep thinking about it, u stop. I stopped at 11 and 12 months respectively.

4. May the Lord come through for you,is well🙏

5. Two years old baby?
      *Lips sealed*
      You are not ready yet
      When you are ready, nobody will tell you to stop

6. This is a lot, just stop ok

Hugs

God is your strength

7. Please,stop the child is old enough.you need to focus on your health and find time to rest.

8. If your mom is till alive drop the baby with her for two to three days.
      Also go with more provisions.

9. Ahh, so story. Start a stepped weaning right away.
      Don't just withdraw in a day, it will be stressful for both of you.
      Drop the number of feed every few days until it gets to 0.
      For instance if you still feed 3 times daily, drop it to twice, do that for like 3 days and then drop to once, and then stop.
      You need to rest.

10. Please try to stop breastfeeding him..
      It's well

11. Breast feeding a 2years old baby
      Ahhhh mummy don't kill ya self ooooo
      Buy corn,millet ogi baba groundnut, soya beans cleans and mix all together soak and blend ..
      Cook ogbolo soap nah
      Or
      Okro soup do semo give bobo chop
      Chimo oooo I feel your pain o
      Pele

I wean my daughter at 11month if I born I dey give water immediately so I do water and breast
      Even with my son..
      Pele dear..
      Hello iya boys

11. Seriously, that well worn trope needs to die. The scientific evidence for it is shaky at best. My wife doesn't know it but I have been feeding our baby formula at 4 months already. My wife wants to do exclusive but it is telling on her. The girl sucks too much. My wife eats well and all and produces milk in excess I must say. But she deserves to rest.
    Those extra moments when the baby refuses to suck because I've already fed her and my wife has that time off, is a delight to me.

1. If you have breast pump, your wife can pump, store in the fridge or freezer (depending on how much she produces) so you can feed your baby while she is resting.

12. Is it not just to bring out breast and give baby 😁

1. I tell you.
      You will hear, give him breast, what is in breastfeeding?

13. I keept saying that nothing will stop me from doing exclusive breastfeeding but this post has given me a second thought. I can't kill myself abeg. I have seen some kids who took baby formula and still turned out very brilliant.

1. Don't let it discourage you. When you get to that bridge, you will decide which is best for you.

14. I know of someone that still breast feeds her two years old child, says she doesn't know how to stop, she look so emaciated.
    We did did exclusive for our first child(daughter) up till now she hardly eat very well, but our second child(son) was just for three months, if you see the ways he eats food ehn!

1. Same problem my friend had, breastfed for 7 months, the baby's system is accustomed to liquid, he struggled with solid food back then. Exclusive is good but if it's not working out for you and your baby, better go for the alternatives.

15. Good points up there. Out of my 4 kids, it was only one I tried to do exclusive breastfeeding but omo, my liver no Carry me reach 6 months, na 3 months I stopped. The boy want to suck my kidney out then. Talesbof motherhood

16. To think that it's a Man who raised a core sensitive issue affecting women is so laudable. Thank you Sir

1. If you see where some women are arguing this exclusive matter ehn...just like delivery and CS, everybody doesn't have the same experience, do what works for you as advised by your doctors.

17. My son is 5 months today, our breastfeeding journey started on a shaky ground, I initially did like 70% formula the first month, but was eventually able to establish a good enough quantity to switch to exclusive breast milk.
    It has been a journey and hard work I must say, but I won't have it any other way.
    For one, it's overall much easier for me than formula feeding because it cuts out that constant need to wash bottles, feed, and repeat. Feed sessions too are kind of easier since I don't need to boil water, mix, and all the works that comes with formula feeding. Plus it has saved me money, even though I wouldn't have minded spending if I had to, because tell me why a 16 bottle pack of ready to feed similac costs 65$ nitori olorun (something he would have been consuming like every 5 days).
    I agree that if you can't, don't beat yourself up, it's not the end of the world and the child will be absolutely fine!

18. For me i don’t even think about it. That’s the part of motherhood i HATE… breastfeeding. Stopped my first at 4mnths and my second at 6 months. Both are strong and healthy, doing well academically. So me i can’t relate to all this sufferness that comes with breast feeding. That said, i applaud any woman that does it. The Lord would replenish you.

1. I weaned myself at four months, my mom tried to get me back on breast but I rejected it. I honestly think my claustrophobia was showing up from then. I was fine academically, it didn’t affect my cognitive or physical development.

2. Yh, i can relate, even my son that i weaned at 4mnths, he honestly was the one that started showing signs of weaning himself. But i dnt tell ppl this story becos they make me feel like a bad mother. Like how could i have done that to my son. To each his own abeg.

19. I am waiting for the day my baby will suck my breast. From my mouth to your ears o Jehovah

20. It is not easy to do exclusive for baby ... God strengthen all mother's.

21. May God answer your prayers @Berricious.
    Breastfeeding is not an easy task. Thank you for this topic Sir

22. Words of wisdom..people don't understand how tasking breastfeeding is..I usually do mixed feeding. GOD bless your kind heart sir

23. Very informative post.