Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Sunday, May 05, 2024

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Hmmmm....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
THE PHONE 
My mum passed last year and my son started using the phone. He recently changed her dp to children's anime. My sister sent a message that he should put her dp back. Mind you no one has chatted her since she passed, all her contacts know she passed. What should I do ? 

Why is your son using your mums number?Did you forcefully takethe phone? it is as if she doesnt want your son using the phone.... I dont understand what is going on but please if the card is still in the phone remove it,delete the whatsapp and downlad again and use a different number so that there will be no new contacts..... Do this to avoid the wahala brewing.....If you can just switch off the phone and get your son another one!

37 comments:

1. Thanks Stella for posting. I’m the one using the phone but he plays games on it with school friends that’s why he changed the dp. I kept the phone for her memory .No else asked to keep the phone. She’s the one that bought the phone . Thanks for the advice.

2. Why is your son using same WhatsApp and number your mum used? Just like Stella said, your sis doesn't sound like she's happy he's still using the phone! Get a new SIM card and new WhatsApp for your son!

1. Don't blame your sister, she may still be grieving. I still have the numbers of some loved ones who died years ago. Sometimes I come across them when I am looking for a number or something, then stop to look at their pictures. Didn't delete the numbers. No real reason sha........ Just do what Stella said.

3. Somethings are basic common sense. Why is your son even using your moms phone in the first place even using her number? That's so poorly thought out and shows total absence of decorum.

1. Well said. The poster is quite insensitive.

4. Perhaps your sister still likes to see your mum's dp when she opens her WhatsApp to read their old chats.
    Please do as Stella said... Change the DP back and your son should stop using that WhatsApp number. It can be very jarring to receive a text from a dead person's phone number (that is if your son starts using the number to message people)

5. In the first place, you messed up by allowing your son to use your mum's phone and the SIM card..🤷🤷🤷🤷

Don't forget, you are not the only daughter of your mother and your sister also has right to that phone and sim card. She wants the memory and that's just it.

Take that phone from him and give it to your sister, get a new phone for your son to curb some unforseen wahala

6. Yea;put it back.

That's her mother;don't tell her how to grieve;let her grow from it at her own pace with time.

If your son needs a WhatsApp where he can change DPs as he needs;give him yours;or alternatively get him a small phone.

She is her mother;but a grandmother to your son(both are not same).

Don't start a war because you are trying to put your son first just to prove what is nothing.

Mekwa ma owúrúkwa ginwa ka anaeme ife a..

@MARTINS

1. Lady T /worth more than a thousand dollars5 May 2024 at 18:04

@Martins, I enjoy reading your post. 95%, of the time you are apt and on point. Thank you.

2. Hi @Lady T;Thanks and do have a blessed time always🤝🤝

@MARTINS

7. Why is your son using her SIM and WhatsApp? It's not about the Phone, get your son another SIM and do not let him use her WhatsApp. I can see how it can be offensive as your son is a grandson and not her direct child.

8. Yeah change the #
    I liked seeing my cousin’s dp after she passed
    I’d just look there sometimes till the number was deleted
    It’s like y’all have kept the number and the phone
    It messes with other peoples minds
    Pls Just change the # and keep the phone if you must

9. Let him use a different number with the WhatsApp. Why’s ur son using ur late mum’s sim? Don’t u think any activity from the number could be triggering for some of the people she left behind that are trying their best to move on?

1. I had a similar experience. We had just buried my grandpa and returned back to Lagos, only to receive a call from Grandpa the next day. I was very shocked and scared to pick up, so I allowed it ring all the way. I immediately called my mum that Grandpa called me. She thereafter called to let me know that it was Grandma who was calling to check on me. That her aunty and uncle also called her explaining same thing. That’s how Grandma was advised to discard the sim, as it was traumatic to Grandpa’s loved ones. Poor Grandma wanted to exhaust Grandpa’s airtime. Almost 9 years later, Grandma has gone to join Grandpa. I miss them both so much!!! Rest one my favorites. Continue to watch over baby cousin too ❤️

10. I’m thinking, If you are the one that bought the phone and sim for your mum, then, I don’t think anyone has the right to tel you how or what to do with the phone. If you are the one that bought the phone, you have the right to give the phone to your mum but you could get him another sim.

1. Clearly, the problem is the sim, not the phone.

2. Lady T /worth more than a thousand dollars5 May 2024 at 18:01

@ The White Enchantress,
      This is wrong advise. It doesn't matter who bought the phone. They are still grieving. And like someone said it's funny receiving a text or message from someone's number who just passed and grieving is still on going.
      You haven't been there maybe that's why you don't see why it's off.

Poster, pls don't let your son ise the number. Give him a different one if you must. And let sleeping dogs lie.

3. Still boils down to what I posted, replace the sim which enables him create a new WhatsApp. In hindsight, what will your sister do when the network provider gives the number to someone else(that’s if a family member doesn’t continue the use of it) . I think we should be factual and realistic here Bikonu.

We have lost dear ones close to us and some of their numbers have been reassigned to someone else, are we gonna attack the new user or the network provider. Let’s also reason beyond emotions.

My question, If another family member was given the sim, will she react this way?

4. help me ask them...numbers that can be reassigned sef...

11. Lagos Mainland Girl5 May 2024 at 15:48

Wow... Your son using your late mum's phone. Why please? Because it's not right, your sister has every right to be angry.
    And which phone was your son using before your mum passed? Get your son his own phone Madam

1. You do realise that people inherit the properties of dead family members right? The problem is not the phone, it’s the sim that should be changed

12. Let your son get a new SIM and use with the phone .
    Excess3code?

13. Carry phone and Sim give sis

1. I’m thinking that’s what the sister wants.

2. ChIka (hello iya boys)5 May 2024 at 21:33

Am telling you ooo
      Get another phone and sim for your son
      Carry your mother's phone give your sister o
      I dnt stress jareee..

14. This is cringeworthy! Why does your son feel comfortable using his late Granny's SIM? Get him another SIM, please.

15. Why is your son using your late mother's phone number to chat? Your son should use the phone but get another sim card. Sim card is not expensive for one yo say cos of the price. We lost our dad last year and since then his line has been off any phone, so why is your mum's sim still available not like there is any business you guys are saving it for.

Please remove that sim, your sister is angry that your son is using the sim.

1. As in ehh I'm even surprised that she is asking this type of question ,there is something someone will do you ll ask yourself are you sure this person is my siblings like are we re related by blood and suckled the same breast, poster we all can't be wrong.
      That's so insensitive of you

16. It can be unsettling to see a dead person’s number active in a space where you used to be in contact with them, especially if they are still grieving. Put your mother’s dp back and give your son something else to play with.

17. I understand your sister, she is grieving. You need to see how my mum kept her sister's picture frame up in our sitting room for years, she wants to walk in and see her. She even brought some plates and Ankara wrappers which we used.
    I don't think the picture is still up but we honoured her wish

18. It feels really creepy for your son to be using the same phone your mum used. Get him another phone. Get him another phone test.avoof wahala

19. Poster I understand your sister perfectly well,my dad's picture is all over my phone, wallpaper, WhatsApp etc, finding it very hard to remove it.pls don't take hard on your sister, she's grieving

20. Please change the sim card to avoid unnecessary family wahala.

21. It's very wrong like why the phone and the sim, when my brother passed all his belongings my mum kept it ,we removed his sim card to avoid people calling him ,we just kept the phone one side you that is even asking this question it's even somehow .
    Like how can your son use your Late mums phone and sim ,there is a kind of respect and that feeling that comes with a late persons belongings, memories pls respect that , your sisters reactions is valid

22. Poster your son no suppose use the phone number. Get him a new phone number.
    Download another whatsapp on the same phone to avoid trouble and leave the whaysapp and your moms picture. Androids can have two to three whatsapp on same phone.
    My phone does