Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senator Ndume Reacts To Colleagues Claims That Some Senators Got N500m For Constituency Projects

Thursday, March 14, 2024

Senator Ndume Reacts To Colleagues Claims That Some Senators Got N500m For Constituency Projects

When you read through this story, you will understand why all the Politicians are running to the Senate as if something is chasing them....

Senate Chief Whip, Ali Ndume has said that as a principal officer in the 10th National Assembly, he received more than the N200m allocation, which is the amount given to some of his colleagues and floor members for constituency projects in the 2024 Appropriation Act.

Senator Ndume, who represents Borno South Senatorial District, said this on Channels Television’s Politics Today programme on Wednesday.
The lawmaker was responding to allegations by Senator Jarigbe Agom-Jarigbe from Cross River North, who yesterday revealed that some senators got a total of N500 million each from the 2024 Budget for constituency projects.

He said, “My colleagues know that I got more than them [floor members].

“All the senators have N200m (each) as their constituency projects but I am a leader. That is the difference. 10 of us are leaders including those in the opposition. We get more than the floor members. It’s normal…My colleagues know that I go more than them.”

DAILY POST reports that Agom-Jarigbe had on Tuesday, during a story session in Abuja, made the startling disclosure while the lawmakers debated budget padding claims by Senator Abdul Ningi from Bauchi Central Senatorial District.

Ningi had said N3.7trn was not tied to any project in the 2024 N28.7trn budget.

Agom-Jarigbe had alleged that some Senators are guilty of such practice, adding that some senior senators got N500 million each from the 2024 Appropriation Act.

Asked whether the claim by Agom-Jarigbe was true, Ndume said, “It’s disparity now, we are not the same; all animals are equal but some are more equal than the other. That’s what the case is. They have agreed to that.

“All the senators have N200m (each) as their constituency projects but I am a leader. That is the difference. 10 of us are leaders including those in the opposition. We get more than the floor members. It’s normal.
“That decision is taken by the senators. We have the senate budget committee before but now the floor members entrusted that to the presiding officers. That’s the difference. So, most of the senators don’t know what I get and I will not tell you.”

from dailypost

21 comments:

1. Liability parasitic wicked and conscienceless unpatriotic very useless old men
    That have no value to Nigerians whatsoever

With the grinding poverty in Nigeria he said "it is normal ", oni ikan, awon ole
    Olorun tunwoka, yo gbogbo ota Nigeria kuro lesekese
    Inu bi mi
    Pardon any typographical errors

2. Liability parasitic wicked and conscienceless unpatriotic very useless old men
    That have no value to Nigerians whatsoever

With the grinding poverty in Nigeria he said "it is normal ", oni ikan, awon ole
    Olorun tunwoka, yo gbogbo ota Nigeria kuro lesekese
    Inu bi mi
    Pardon any typographical errors

3. These are the people that don't just want the growth of this nation. They keep making policies that will favour them and their allies alone, never will they make good policies that other sane countries have. God knows us all, He will judge!

4. With all these happening in the upper chamber, do Nigeria need a bicameral legislature? Why not scrap off one of the chambers and operate on unicameral system to cut down cost of governance.

I read somewhere that the Senate president got 2billion for constituency project and it was channeled to procure ovum for the women in his constituency.

In the midst of plenty, Nigerians are suffering in abject poverty

1. Only house of rep is needed and 2 tenure limit of 8 hrs in total

2. I hope we also read that ALL of them receive it for those of you that still think good governance is party related.

3. Procure ovum? I don't understand.

4. *Oven, don't mind autocorrect.

5. See as Dem dey call millions like say na kobo ah dis life ehn

6. This man is not ready to retire.

7. Too many greedy and wicked old men in this country

8. With people like this in the government no future for our youths in this country. With free money they marry many young girls as many as they like and those one will now be oppressing our young girls ion social media. God will punish anyone that is an hindrance to the growth of this country.

9. God have Mercy. Calling millions like it's thousands . Few men enjoying 90% of Nigeria resources later they'll say we're broke and go borrowing funds to loot

10. This is gluttony,so much money,to what extent???😔😔😔

11. So what are they doing with the money? Is there no person or body that is reviewing the impact on the constituencies?

Some of them paint up a school or fix one sign and say they have done work. Better auditing and oversight cause some of their constituencies are dumps and they are happy to keep the ppl living in vile conditions while they siphon those funds to places near and far.

12. Na wa ooooooo
    All this politicians are greedy, they are there for their selfish interest 😔

13. I don’t have a problem with them collecting that money, I am more concerned about our laws that allow how they spend it to go unchecked. The current Nigerian constitution was made to encourage corruption by the elite with little consequences.Only the poor bear the brunt of our laws.

1. What is the role of a governor, local government chairmen etc? They have no business giving them funds for constituency projects. If you claim to be a philanthropist/want to buy your people's love, use your funds for the projects, not tax payers money/public fund.