Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Shares Traditional Wedding List He Was Given By Prospective Bride's Family...

Saturday, March 23, 2024

Nigerian Man Shares Traditional Wedding List He Was Given By Prospective Bride's Family...

In this present day Nigeria, how much is this list?

47 comments:

1. On top one babe with "extraordinary" body count oh..

Then time to divorce go come and dem go return 1k say dem don return bride price, ABI na the one wey go still claim say dem no dey collect bride price because them return one envelope back but hold all these rest.

The idea behind the payment of bride price is that the lady is a virgin,. Na the price be that..

But things don spoil and men still dey pay for 'damage' goods..

The best you can do for yourself as a man is to make sure you're paying this for a lady who has also built herself to a certain level and standard.. a lady with value for your kids to emulate..

Stay woke kings✌️

1. All these write on top traditional marriage list that the girl wasn't there when elders sat down and made the list? Why are you talking about the girl he want to marry instead of her tradition?

Don't make it look like the girl has a hand on this, she also wish that her tradition can be reviewed. Stop fighting against the female child but fight your gender who sat down to bring our such greedy list.

2. The guy who posted this list should have speak up to elders (his genders) the list was brought out after those greedy elders has sat down to make their decisions. The bride if innocent on this cos in my place women don't make decisions abi set laws.

You people should face your genders squarely and leave my genders alone. We are not the kings makers in any tradition, we all woke up to realise our fathers has set some dangerous rules.

3. If it's to protest and insult men that talk about women dignity and decent dressing, power go dey, but e reach the one were den dey comodify Una, Una no fit fight for am..
      I.e.. you people have strength to fight good but would turn a blind eye to 'bad'..

Like we haven't seen babes bragging about what was provided to marry them..

Yimu

4. You are absolutely correct women don't make decision I wonder then you ladies make it a problem when in marriage you are told not to decide.e don reach bride price women don't make decision.
      The man should pay and call his shots jhareee.after all women should be seen I guess and nit heard when it comes to marriage and relationship.

5. You’re low key disgusting
      You’re just covering it up with this king talk

6. Hey oga, why you dey cry? No be your fellow men write that list up there? Abi na women write am?

7. Are you downlow dante?

8. I support u for this one

2. Bride price is for decent hard working genuine cultural it ladies that still upholds moral virtue and all those virtuous attribute of a lady
    That's the category guys should pay for.i you pay for any other thing na you sabi don't come and disturb us .
    Ask about her past.ask her body count and number of people dated.do DNA confirm no abortion oh.confirm sh3 is not everywhere on social media oh.

3. But this list na just drink full there na! If him come see the list weh digging of borehole and okada deh nkor

1. Lo.borehole and okada for real ? Lol

2. Same thing I was saying. Not one bag of rice, not one bag of yam. They sure love their drink.

3. No mind am
      The list is not complete sef. This should be one of three pages

4. These ones want to use kaikai to finish themselves, shiorrr.
    Nothing of importance in the whole list, dem use alcohol swear for them?

5. The Elders drawing up this outrageous list are insensitive to the current economic state of the country.

i miss my Dad so much. i trust him not to collect such list lol. May God help me when the time comes because this my paternal uncles eh are only available for taking only. But we will be more than able because we know OUR SOURCE.

let the guy negotiate with his soon to be Father-in-Law. Give him a budget of what he has.

6. Wow, na so una dey drink alcohol for una side? I find it strange that people would actually consume this much alcohol. In total, it would be about 50 cartons of alcohol fa.

7. The list is not complete. This list is just a page from three pages in my place
    Where are the yams and gallons of palmoil?
    Where are the boxes of clothes and shoes and jewelry?
    Where are the bags of rice?
    Where is okada and big pots?
    Where are the basins of pepper, bag of salt, etc.

Yeye dey smell

8. This list is cheap
    My village umuada list alone overrides all these,then inner cacus umuada is different from general umuada.
    You will buy bagg of rice mai dia
    You will buy Stella pomade
    You will aka ncha green
    You will buy snuff in it's original state,that's the leaf...
    Have you bought hollandaise
    What is all these #2000 I'm seeing everywhere,is it an urgent #2k family you entered,Nwanne our least money is #150000.
    Don't shout oh
    Go back and pay
    This list no cost

9. No echolac box, no motorcycle or tricycle, no set of plates, no yam, no wrappers. No spirits. This list is light now🤷😆!!!

The problem of this family is not just poverty but lack of vision.

What they need is empowerment, especially for their men, telling from the way the list is even lettered. This is not the purview of the in-law to be but those in the family who have seen the light and are not hungrily waiting to devour cartons of beer. Poverty is a thriving mentality in the family and they need to talk to themselves.

People of every social class get married but if a family has contentment and are doing well enough themselves, they can still prioritise the economic stability of the couple instead of seeing the list as Mugu payment.

It is however important for the couple, especially the man, to know the honour of earning his respect. You should be prepared to meet this once in a lifetime responsibility. He knows the requirements from the area which he wants to marry. Casting your in-laws by proxy says a lot about the man's character. You are not the first man to be cash strapped in this season. Approach elders on your side to bargain for you.

1. A sassy man with no decorum, he was so disrespectful, he didn’t blot out the family name. Wife to be , this husband to be and the drunkards in her family are all red flags

10. This list is sure from Anambra, no rice, yam, and wrappers??

11. Don't really get all these social media shenanigans,since I was young and now,I am getting old,the igbo people traditional lists,have been outrageous. You have to negotiate.🙄🙄🙄

1. Don't mind the boy. He should go and ask his father whether he did not give more than this for his mother's hand in marriage.
      God help any guy who collects my trad marriage list and runs to Twitter to post it. Immature lot. Now that he has posted it, what does it change. If he no do again he should tell the girl so everyone can rest.
      Anyway, I know he did not collect any list from anybody, all this is just for Twitter engagement

12. This list is not complete.. where is the bags of rice, wrappers, groundnut oil, palm oil and co?
    If you feel the list is too much look for that gives their daughters for pennies.
    You dont know resources were spent to train the lady.
    You want someone tgat will bear your name and bear you children, then be ready to do the traditional rites

1. If the list is real, instead of negotiating, he ran as a little boy to post. They want wife for free or next to free, inferior males everywhere

13. He should take several seats biko, even poor men dey marry, they will just rush to social media to post everything for clout.

Yes oga that list is cheap, thats why when you are going to collect list, you go with people, the list can be negotiated.

Gifty

14. This list is not complete,where are the (he and she)goats for the women of the family,the football,packets of cigars and Kaikai ( illicit gin) for the youths of the brides village,oga see only drinks e dey cap everywhere, I don't see any basin of crayfish and bags of salt or is it bags of stock fish for the mother of the bride,the list is cheap,brother go and look for money and buy your in-laws drinks

15. When my husband was given the list (my dad is late ) he bought all the drinks and the umunna were shocked. They told him that he was supposed to negotiate. Just buy a few and drop some little money, plead and the ceremony goes on. The error was that my husband didn’t have a someone from my end to advise. I didn’t know that, neither did my Mum.

16. After using all money for bride prize which money will they use for marriage ceremony.

17. The woman and her family should consider this man's and his friend's shenanigans as a bleeding red flag. The woman should also ask herself what she's doing with a man with neither maturity nor money. Marriage is a big deal for serious people.

Even this list insults the family more than it offends the man. It's all about consumables and not to honour the sacrifices and efforts of raising the child. How respectful is it giving an aunt or uncle you are fond of a bottle of trophy. Why not go for fruits or yam instead?

The couple should sit apart and really think about if they are ready. Even if the list gets beat down, what about the lack of respect of running to social media once there's a difficulty? What would the head of their home do should a big bill arise? Did they not sit down since getting serious to start preparing for such a list and researching about how much the list in her family usually goes for?

Everything on that list won't be above 250-300k so is this man really ready for a family?

1. Don't mind the hungry boy. But if they bring bride price for his sister, he will eat from inside

2. Nice one 17:36.

That aside, I have noticed something with marriages of ladies whose parents didn't callect bride price all in the name of they are not selling their daughter . He didn't train you in school, he didn't pay bride price and you think he will value you? Lol

18. Any man who cannot afford this, considering the list system is no surprise, should please stay single and face growth in his career and spiritual life for now. You cannot even afford a girlfriend.

Work on establishing yourself and walking with your God. There are men and women earning much more than the sum listed through legitimate jobs and businesses and the same sum would also be less than what you would spend on a pregnant wife or the first few months of parenting.

Purposeful profitable work has a way of maturing people especially men. The man and his friend's approach suggests that he lacks both.

1. Broke and broken men will be feeling entitled to relationship and marriage. Ladies stop entertaining insecure, broke, broken and immature men

2. Broke and broken men will be feeling entitled to relationship and marriage. Ladies stop entertaining insecure, broke, broken and immature men

19. I wish this can be abolished

1. It is only Igbo women that open their mouth and wish for their tradition to be abolished. Hausa and fulani people that collect much more than this, have you ever seen their women open mouth to wish for it tọ be abolished?
      Have you ever seen Indian men wish that the tradition of paying dowry to the groom family is abolished?
      But it is only Igbo women that allow themselves to be bullied by hungry men into wishing for their tradition to be abolished.

I don't wish for anything to be abolished. My son will pay when his time reaches, his father paid my own without complaint and others are still paying.

2. My father didn't tax any of his son in-laws when he gave us out. Just standard N50k bride price and ceremony as your power reach. When we went to village, he bought drink for all the people he was introduced to as he married their sister. It really depends on the family, I don't intend to stress any future in-law as well.

3. * in-laws

20. Not a big deal. He will faint if he sees XP and Triple C village list. Obowo and mbaise list. Mbano will add small jara

21. That’s not a lot honestly
    Just calculate the money equivalent and give them
    It’s only a lot if they know you can’t afford it

22. This list is cheap now. Oga poster , are you broke?

23. I am sure the list was made according to the pocket of the husband to be. They can't give an okada man who wants to marry their daughter this. And this can be bargained on

24. Hookup girl everyman dey bang for N20k, e reach my turn they carry list come because I want to inherit a liability

25. If this is true, then some culture need to be restructure in order to be flexible and their daughters will not feel as if they are sold out for money.