Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Group Urges Nigerian Govt To Increase Tax On Sugar-Sweetened Beverages To Reduce Obesity

Sunday, March 10, 2024

Group Urges Nigerian Govt To Increase Tax On Sugar-Sweetened Beverages To Reduce Obesity

The National Action on Sugar Reduction (NASR), on Saturday organised a rally to call for an increase in tax on sugar-sweetened beverages, to reduce the prevalence of obesity in Nigeria.

Omei Bongis-Ikwue, a representative of the Coalition made the call to acknowledge the 2024 World Obesity Day which is celebrated on 4th March :
He urged the government to place higher taxes on sugary drinks so as to shield more Nigerians from the risks of obesity, and alleviate the burden on the healthcare system.
He further revealed that 30 percent of Nigerians were overweight and 15% of that figure were classified as obese.He also attributed Obesity to excessive intake of sugar-sweetened beverages and therefore, a major factor in curbing the disease.

23 comments:

1. APC APC has it gotten to this extent..
    How low can you go..

Very soon, "A Group" will urge the federal government to increase fuel to fight people from doing unnecessary waka, and to increase light tariff so that people would not be switching on light when they don't need it..

Awon werey!

1. No be small thing 🤣🤣🤣 bunch of confuse people

2. This is different. Let's wage war against these fat people till they get it right. It's a good cause

3. Lol..

Shu Shu..
      If we allow such nonsense to fly, other nonsense will come and for the sake of fairness and justice, we have to support it too, as we don't have any moral ground to challenge it, being that we supported or kept silent against one because it doesn't hurt us or maybe we don't like those people, maybe..

Also, if anyone want to kill themselves with sugar and obesity, let them go ahead, they are adults, it's their prerogative, plus, it's good for you too, attest, if they kee themselves, you won't have to see them anymore 😂

4. Hahahaha let them not die biko

5. Dante...many depressed people suck on coca cola and Pepsi with reckless abandon.
      Consider the reason they gulp it.
      Actually, addiction to carbonated drink is an ailment to some.
      That's my point.

Like crack,no matter the price, they'll rather sell their mum's good trinket than not have it.i

6. What some people forget is that there is sugar in almost every processed stuff you consume. There is sugar in your baby's medicine. There is sugar in your bread, pastries, chocolate powder, sweets, energy bars, cereal, etc, not just drinks.

I am 100% in support of people cutting off sugar wherever they can but just be sure you understand the effect it will have on the price of your favorite goods and the possibility of manufacturers using lab manufactured sweeteners that are more dangerous than sugar, just to avoid the sugar label and tax.

Like Dante pointed out, if you let certain things fly because they don't concern you, sooner or later, it will. Same thing I kept telling people when militants were only kidnapping expatriate oil workers; today, the concept of kidnapping as a get rich quick scheme has spread and affecting those that never believed they would ever be affected or have to speak against it.

2. In the UK the government generate around £300million from Sugar tax which is given to NHS to help alleviate the cost of looking after obese people. Government needs to be proactive in all these areas Most Nigerians are just good in sitting down in the corner of their rooms to criticised government. There are a lot the citizens needs to do in other to make a great country. Mostly all our civil services are corrupt and we want a good country, but we don't want to pay taxes. In most of this western countries you pay road taxes for each of your cars. In Nigeria people keeps countless cars without paying road taxes and they want good roads. Anyway we are not ready yet.

1. Yes, sugar, tobacco and alcohol are not needs but wants

2. The UK you just mentioned, the taxes are put to productive use and not shared/stolen by greedy politicians.

Taxes in Nigeria ends in the pocket of few while that abroad is used for the common good of the larger society.

3. Thank you, poster. The Average Nigerian is dangerously entitled and ungrateful yet, they wonder why they are where they are. Most of these people attended government schools, ply public roads and received services from public hospitals yet complain as if the taxes paid by less than 2 out of 10 of the entire working population isn't used to sustain these services.

They spend every hour confessing negativity unto themselves and get what they believe. They have no positive contribution towards nation building or even personal improvement but want to continue to get everything for free, forgetting that this is the sure way to poverty. Instead of paying the real price of power and having it 24/7, they would rather insist on an unreasonable rate that will ensure the deterioration of their devices and the additional cost of generating themselves at a higher rate. Rather than pay to shore up the struggling health sector, they believe their terrible lifestyle choices should be someone else's problem. This is why they keep getting robbed by people painting castles in the sky instead of putting their heads down and paying the price of prosperity.

4. I find it very interesting when we quote UK, US, etc. when it comes to taking from the people but never seem to spend the same energy on what infrastructure those governments offer to their people.

3. I’m on the fence with this. Why not just demand the manufacturers to lower the sugar content in their products. Sugar as bad a rep as it gets is still a quick source of glucose for ppl living in hot climates. For ppl who do not have a lot of disposable income to eat at optimal nutrition the sugary drinks gives them the boost in energy they need to be able to walk, learn and work in the heat. Other alternatives should first be pursued, perhaps a national nutrition plan for poor families or a school breakfast/lunch plan for students who are under or underfed.

4. Na wa o, this one follow for initiatives too.

5. Clear case of misplaced priority