Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu Says He Will Not Approve Importation Of Food

Friday, February 16, 2024

President Tinubu Says He Will Not Approve Importation Of Food

President Bola Tinubu has declared that he would not approve the importation of food or establish a price control board.

Tinubu said this on Thursday, following a meeting with the 36 state governors, Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, National Security Adviser, NSA, and Director General of the Department of State Services, DSS, in Abuja.

Also, following reports from Kano State and other areas about large-scale hoarding of food in some warehouses, the President said during the meeting that he had instructed the NSA, Inspector-General of Police, and Director-General of DSS, to coordinate closely to ensure that security agencies in the states inspect such warehouses and take follow-up action.

“We cannot allow speculators, hoarders, and rent seekers to undermine our efforts in ensuring that food is widely available to all Nigerians,” Tinubu vowed on X.

The President posted: “I will not establish a price control board, nor will I approve the importation of food. We must extricate ourselves from this predicament because importation only enables rent seekers to perpetrate fraud and mismanagement at our collective expense.

“Instead, we will support our farmers with schemes that encourage them to cultivate more food for the nation. We must also rapidly but thoughtfully implement our livestock development and management plans, including dairy farming and others.”

16 comments:

1. God no matter how much is thr cost if food please always give us the money to afford it in multiple fold.

2. I dont support Tinubu but I believe that for Nigerians to enjoy Nigeria,we have to pay properly for it.nigeria doesn’t have as much oil as a lot of other countries in OPEC but fuel is cheapest in Nigeria.food nko,electricity, rent etc.things will first get bad before they get better and we need to endure..insult all you want but it’s the truth. Responsible govt makes tough long term decisions that will yield good results and that’s what Tinubu is doing

1. Tell them. I heard neighbouring countries enter Nigeria to buy fuel if not for the border closure. As expensive as it is here, it is the cheapest u can get.
      My cousin that lived in Malaysia for more than a decade, once told me that we complain about no electricity in naija, but if the tariffs are raised to the point that our electricity would be fixed and we would get constant power, Nigerians cannot pay for it, only the elites can afford it. He said light even in malaysia is one of the few things that eats up ur pay check, so we are seeing the quality of wat we can afford in terms of power supply.

2. Ndi eriri eri

3. 07:52, you, like many others, are growing up and realising that good things cost a lot.

3. God's grace ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

4. But he can approve the importation of cars for him and his goons?๐Ÿฅด

5. Terrible govt suffering its people

6. Hoarding food??? Now I know ,it can't just be the cost of production.
    Nigerians always take every opportunity to punish others.

7. You can't allow food to be imported when you are not producing. Farmers can go the fame because of insecurity, the few that muster courage to farm cows graze on their crops. Yet you can't allow importation of food. Even if you want to stop insecurity today and farmers start farming today will they harvest today??
    All this because it does not touch you. Yet the same you can import cars, sir pls why are we still importing fuel?

Pls stop the importation too so we can produce locally..
    Wicked leaders that are only after punishing the Masses.