Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Employer Queries His Worker For Not Acknowledging Salary Increase

Tuesday, February 13, 2024

Employer Queries His Worker For Not Acknowledging Salary Increase

An Employer has queried his employee whom he referred to as being entitled after failing to acknowledge a salary increment for months but instead, complained after he immediately he didnt receive the increased money...

The employer narrated on Facebook how he increased his workers salary by 100 oercent because of the fuel subsidy removal.
He noted that after he increased the salary, the employee did not get back to him to acknowledge until months later when he decided to revert to the original salary to see what he would do

He wrote:
"I have an employee whose monthly salary was N100,000.when the fuel pump price increased to N630 per liter, I quietly increased all my employee's salaries and this particular guy's salary was increased to N200,000.
He received this 200k for months without saying anything. Last month I decided to revert back to his old salary to know what he would do. Today he mustered the courage to send me the message below, feeling entitled to what's not his own. Now his job jangs in the balance".

24 comments:

1. The day we stop being desparate and a slave to man or money that's the begining of better things for humans.this one is feeling like a boss because most people in nigeria have become a slave to man and money.on a normal norms he should be begging for his workers to stay.i no blame am.

1. Even God hates ingratitude, ingrates.

2. Pls stop
      It’s a private business
      He did a good thing. The guy should have acknowledged and thanked him for the increase
      This is not a big corporation where you don’t know whom to thank for the increase

2. We should try to be grateful for even the little things we received. Not everyone is fortunate enough to even have people to render them help or assistance.
    When people buy my goods, I thank them for their patronage .
    Even God demand it from us.we should all do better.In my house after eating,we thank the Lord and I thank my husband, he does the same and the kids likewise. If it's my daughter that did the cooking we thank her also.
    I

3. This is what happens in a disorganized system. I am blessed to be working for a Fortune 500 (top 5). My manager gave me an impromptu Teams call in Dec.2022(I work from home), & gave me a pay raise. Already approved by management. I got the written agreement right after the meeting. Still got my Annual raise in March 2023 & my manager already scheduled my annual raise meeting for March 5 on my calendar. Management cannot play god with my salary or EEOC, will be taking on my employment suit ASAP. But this employer here knows he can do as he pleases & gets away with it.

1. Not disorganized per say, maybe private or different. Even in that abroad not everyone works in corporate organizations. I send my siblings pocket money and once there's an increase they acknowledge and show gratitude. Me I work in fortune 500 as well oh, and I say thanks to God for every pay check (well, I try to but you get the drift). Our annual increase is almost 5% and bonus multiplier this year was 1.5 and I danced in gratitude to God. It's emotional intelligence to be aware of your own situation and how to navigate it.

2. Lol still say thank you
      You don’t know if your manager pushed for the raise behind the scenes unless it’s just a regular raise that most people get each year
      If you get a good raise, someone was asked about you and someone signed off on it

3. Every organisation doesn't work same way,you were notified, its a different case,he wasn't notified, the least he would have done was to bring it to the notice of his employer when he noticed the raise but instead,he choose to be silent, this kind of person can embezzle company funds.If he didn't say anything when there was a raise,why is he saying something now,there is a decrease, after all wasn't 100k their agreement?

4. ingratitude is bad..
      i was working for an international company while in Lagos...whenever i get things i thanked my boss!.
      in canada here when my boss acknowledges my work or does things for me , i thank him.
      it a good thing to cultivate a grateful heart...

5. I am anonymous 13:12. To clarify my disorganized comment. The employer should have notified the employee’s of the salary increase. They would have thanked him. Salary is part of the contract between an employer & employee. A 100% raise would be appreciated by anyone. Wondering why the employee’s could not approach their employer? Did the employer create a hostile workplace? Making it difficult for his employees to reach out & ask questions.

6. I agree that employer should have notified but again, this may not be a corporate arrangement. Probably a small business with no chain of command. Let's even assume it was hostile environment, why then did employee reach out when the money reduced? Hostile enough for him not to talk when paid 100% extra, but not hostile enough to ask/demand when extra payments stopped? Haba naa

4. He did good
    A simple Oga thank you

5. Ingratitude is a disease, even if it is little increase you should be grateful, how many employers would give a raise of 100%? All these,I worked for it should stop,If you don't want to work for it,you might as well sit in your house.Even when I buy something and the seller puts a little jara,I know how grateful I'm always am,not to talk of a whole 💯 % increase? It's in our workplace that we always want to show wisdom, if you can be grateful to the market women out there,when they add a little something to your goods, why can't you show same appreciation to your boss through whom you are surviving,when he does something good to you?Cos they might as well give the job to another person.

1. I even made my comment without seeing it was 100% increase. Ah, that is substantial, employer deserves thanks biko

2. Exactly! This is obviously a small company and so that employee has direct access to his employer, a simple oga thank you, I saw your 'hand' would have done it, such an ingrate. Someone doubles your salary at once without your asking or hustling endlessly for it and you don't see it a big deal? Not nice.

6. Apreciation is the application for more

7. You saw an usual amount and kept quiet, that's a fraudulent act. Once I see an usual amount from my employer, I always notify accordingly.

8. My kind of employer.
    THANK YOU is one of the five 'magic' words we should embed in our every day vocabulary.

9. Nigerians sha.................

10. Yeye dey smell.............

11. From the sound of this....na one man kinda business .no serious business organizational does such and wait for employee or employer to come and tell them thank you and if they don't you threaten to sack them.na one man business be this that's why he is doing this nonsense and niaj they support.

1. It’s not the lack of thank you triggering the boss
      It’s the text the man sent him after but that is not included here