Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Story Of June 12 And How Kudirat Abiola Was Killed

Wednesday, January 24, 2024

The Story Of June 12 And How Kudirat Abiola Was Killed

This is the Story of June 12 and How Kudirat Abiola The Wife Of MKO Abiola Was Brutally killed in broad daylight on the streets of Lagos in 1996

Alhaja Kudirat Abiola, a politically and socially active woman during her days, was the beautiful wife of late business mogul and respected politician, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola.
Her struggles, efforts and the tireless support she gave her husband, M.K.O Abiola, when he was incarcerated led to her untimely death.

On the 4th of June, 1996, Kudirat Abiola was assassinated by some gunmen in Lagos who allegedly acted on the orders of the Sani Abacha’s military junta.

Background:

After President Ibrahim Babangida annulled the June 12, 1993 election which had M.K.O Abiola as the winner, several riots ensued across the country, especially in the southwest.

This led to the demise of President Babangida’s military regime and the birth of the Shonekan-led Interim National Government on the 26th of August, 1993.

Before Babangida stepped down from power, he set up an Interim Government which was to oversee the transition of power to a democratically elected government. M.K.O Abiola did not support the Interim Government as it had no plan of restoring him as the president of Nigeria. The Interim National Government was later sacked by Gen. Sani Abacha in November 1993.

At first, M.K.O Abiola supported Sani Abacha’s military regime hoping Abacha would return the mandate to him, but when the Abacha refused to do so, M.K.O Abiola went ahead to declare himself as the President on the 11th of June, 1994.

Twelve days later, he was arrested and charged with treasonable felony.
Kudirat Abiola spearheaded oil workers’ strike against the government which lasted 12 months.

She also gathered market women, students and civil servants to fight for their electoral right which was denied on June 12, 1993. Her efforts to get her husband out of jail and restore his mandate brought her across the line of Abacha’s military government.

Unknowing to Kudirat Abiola, she had been marked for assassination by an unknown cabal.

On the 4th of June, 1996, Alhaja Kudirat Abiola was in a white Mercedes Benz driven by her driver, Dauda Atanda, and accompanied by her special assistant, Lateef Shofolahan.

It was around 9.30 am on the streets of Lagos, she was going for an appointment at the Canadian High Commission.
As her car slowed down on the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway past the 7-Up bus stop on Oregun Road in Ikeja, two cars double-crossed them and six heavily armed men opened fire on Kudirat Abiola’s car.

The gunmen shot at close range and Kudirat’s driver got his mouth and shoulder pierced by a bullet while Kudirat, their main target, was hit in the forehead and instantly lost consciousness.

She was rushed to the Eko Hospital on Mobolaji Bank Anthony Way in Ikeja, Lagos where she eventually died between 12.15 and 12.30 pm. 
However, Kudirat’s personal assistant, Lateef Shofolahan, escaped the attack unhurt.

He was later accused of being involved in the murder plot of Kudirat Abiola.

Prior to Alhaja Kudirat Abiola’s murder, there were two attempts to take her life before the plotters allegedly penetrated her network through Lateef Shofolahan.
After the assassination, The Abacha military government offered the sum of $45,000 to anyone who could give information leading to the arrest of the assassins.

Later, Hamza Al-Mustapha, the chief security officer of General Sani Abacha, was accused and convicted. Investigations into the killing traced the killers’ bullets to his (Hamza Al-Mustapha) personal armoury.

In October 1988, Hamza Al-Mustapha and Mohammed Abacha, Gen. Abacha’s son, appeared before the court, both charged with the death of Kudirat Abiola.

In the court, Mohammed Abdul, one of the assassins, narrated how the Abiola’s network was penetrated through Lateef Shofolahan, and how Mohammed Abacha gave him and other gunmen $10,000 to flee the country when Obasanjo’s government began an investigation on Kudirat Abiola’s assassination.

The head of the mobile police force at the presidential villa also said that they were provided weapons for the operation in the presence of Mohammed Abacha.

May 2001, a Federal High Court in Abuja freed Mohammed Abacha on the ground that he was simply roped in on circumstantial evidence.
Also, Hamza Al-Mustapha and Lateef Shofolahan who were sentenced to death by hanging on January 30 2012 were later freed on Friday, July 12, 2013, on the ground that there was not enough evidence to prove them guilty.

Alhaja Kudirat Abiola’s assassination remains one of the top assassinations in Nigeria.

Credit: OldNaija

27 comments:

1. Beautiful Woman,continue to rest on.

2. Mohammed Abacha is living his best life, enjoying the inherited ill-gotten wealth. He is an elder statesman in Kano state politics.

Al-Mustapha was given a hero's welcome when he was released. A man who openly confessed to have masterminded the senseless deaths we witnessed during Abacha's regime.

There have been no consequences for their actions. They hold serious stakes in the oil sector and continue to dine with the people in power.

Sometimes, i wonder if karma is real.

1. I ask my self that question every time. Wicked people continue thriving without any repercussions. Look at all our past leaders that stole this country silly. Despite their atrocities, they have all lived to old age, enjoying themselves with their children and grand children.

2. @Nocturnal the question is: Why didn't the Lagos State Government appeal that judgement that set Al-Mustapha free?

3. Without any doubt, Karma exists.
      Whatever you sow, you will reap whenever it matures for harvest - it may mature here on Earth or in the beyond after the person has departed this Earth.
      But surely, everybody MUST reap what they sow when it matures.

4. These are Northerners. They get away with anything especially the Fulanis.

3. WINNER, YES I AM!24 January 2024 at 13:40

Infact, I will never forget the day she was assassinated. May her soul continue to RIP.

4. And yorubas will still follow the hausas like .....
    Know that u will remain an outsider to them.. This country is even too big for one president.. I know division will happen one day..
    U can't get justice now.. Not anymore

1. Which Yoruba is following Hausa like what?

2. Most of the people you call Hausas are not Hausas. They are Fulani and also Kanuri.

5. I remembered that day vividly, it was indeed a sad day. Kudirat Abiola went all the way with her connections both home and abroad to work for the release of MKO, but unfortunately she was betrayed by Lateef Shofolayan, a trusted fellow of the family.

6. We also need to know who killed Bola Ige

1. Chika(hello iya boys)24 January 2024 at 14:55

Yes ooo

Chaii what a painful way to die

Rest well Madam kuddy

7. Yes, Yoruba will still follow Hausa but this time with sense . That is politics for you, in Nigeria is do or die affair

8. Always rest in peace ma

9. Beautiful woman...continue to rest in peace

Waiting for the history of candido joao da roacha.

10. May her soul cont to rest in peace. Nigeria does not deserve to give your life for.

11. Omo is well with nigeria policy
    E don dey happen for long no be now

12. Go and watch oputa panel again, mustapha did not openly confessed to any crime brought against him at the commission it was sergernt Rogers that said it was mustapha that gave them the order to assassinate kudirat even uptil now mustafa his still defending the abacha regime.

13. Nigeria my country where crimes are accommodated.

14. Rest on beautiful woman..... May your killers never experience the mercy of God on the day of judgement.

15. I reminder reading times when I was small. This Al mustaphas name always popped up on most pages. Do we have any credible media anymore?

16. Very sad it had to end like that. I know I was very young when this thing happened. We had to run to the village from Lagos and was there for a while. Thank you for these history lessons Stella. I really look forward to them