Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu Suspends Minister Betta Edu Over N585.189 Billion Scandal

Monday, January 08, 2024

President Tinubu Suspends Minister Betta Edu Over N585.189 Billion Scandal

In line with his avowed commitment to uphold the highest standards of integrity, transparency, and accountability in the management of the commonwealth of Nigerians, President Bola Tinubu has suspended the Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Dr. Betta Edu, from office with immediate effect.

The President further directs the Executive Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to conduct a thorough investigation into all aspects of the financial transactions involving the Federal Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, as well as one or more agencies thereunder.

The suspended Minister is hereby directed to hand over to the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, and she is further directed by the President to fully cooperate with the investigating authorities as they conduct their investigation.

Furthermore, the President has tasked a panel that is headed by the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance to, among other functions, conduct a comprehensive diagnostic on the financial architecture and framework of the social investment programmes with a view to conclusively reforming the relevant institutions and programmes in a determined bid to eliminate all institutional frailties for the exclusive benefit of disadvantaged households and win back lost public confidence in the initiative.

These directives of the President take immediate effect.

57 comments:

1. Hmmm
    I hope she's able to scale through sha,she needs to come out clean.

2. Pretty and youthful thief.

3. Good!!!

Shooter Gyal

4. I hope Npowe beneficiaries get there stipend from the formal minister to this one

1. *their*... not..."there"
      *former*...not... "formal"

5. It's not even up to one year in office and she moved this amount ,they always come prepared

6. I don’t think she did it

7. What a mess if this is true. What is she going to do with all that money?

1. Buy house in Banana 🏃‍♀️

8. Diezani's Apprentice,just 6months oo
    Good job President for being proactive 👏

9. And I just love this lady o

10. I'm sad to hear this. Listening to her, she sounds so passionate about lifting the poor. I'm not a fan of the APC, but since we have to live with them, she was one of the few that looked focused

11. Ha,After giving testimony about her appointment at Shiloh. I will be disappointed if after God answered her prayers of becoming a minister she decided to go into embezzling or mismanaging public funds. Anyway,we await the outcome of the investigation since she has said she didn't do anything wrong by paying said amount of money into a private account.

1. i knew it!!!
      she was the one that gave testimony at shiloh!!!
      she fall hand no be small oh

12. Has she issued any statement yet ?

1. If you stammering a statement then yes she has.

13. Ahh!!! Hungry woman, she came prepared. Kai...I'm so disappointed. I like her so much.

14. Nice one. We were rooting for you thinking that you’ll make a difference and make a way for more youths to climb that ladder.
    Barely one year, you messed up.
    Anyway, let’s see how this investigation goes.

Sluttychic.

15. are they sure she is guilty? cos i dont get?

16. Good one from the Jagaban.

17. It's too early for this embezzlement. Let the investigation be properly done

18. This is a welcome development. I hope she comes out clean after the investigation by EFFC if she wasn't actually set up by some people

19. Una go just believe anything wey una read, chai!

1. I believe this was a setup as well, to push the narrative that younger or Christian appointees aren't any better or maybe they aren't sure she'll play ball with them so they decided to discredit her early.

20. He was suspended while the investigation is going on. What if after the investigation he proves innocent will they compesate him?? Just asking

21. Wasn’t this woman getting praised last year for her appointment and looks. And look here now. Did she even achieve one mandate before getting benched? What a major fck up and tarnish to a name.

22. This story hurts my eyes... Was really rooting for her

23. I believe she's the fall guy, someone must have played on her naivety in the Ministry. But what do I know? the heart of man is verrry verrry deep....

1. I think so too.

2. The greatest thieves are servants civil

24. She will pull through by God's grace, amen.

25. The youngest minister in the cabinet, Papa's daughter, hmmmmmmmn.

26. Sad, I hope she is innocent.
    See money and people cannot even afford three decent meals a day.

27. them go carry another Yoruba person replace am. na setup!

28. Fuck up of the Highest Order

Mamacita.

You fuck up, Big Time

29. Betta if you are innocent , God will give you your victory dance. Your story inspired me last year. Only God knows the heart of man. I pray you pull through.

30. She might have been set up by corrupt people in that ministry especially if she wanted to ensure the funds got to the masses.

What of the Oga at the top?

1. Greedy and evil people are the problem of Nigeria

2. Greedy and evil people are the problem of Nigeria